Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2015, 11:14 AM   #1

help help help toy hauler garage lights not working

new to the site so looking for help. 2005 All American Sport 28' toy hauler travel trailer. Yesterday my flourescent garage lights just stopped working. checked all breakers, checked the switch, GFCI seems to be working as advertised.

whole garage runs off 20 amp fuse in the converter box that is fine. rear flood lights, vent fan, and yellow light (three other switches from the four) are all working fine. I have 12 volts at the switch, I checked continuity at the switch and the switch is fine. Removed light fixture and only have 1 volt at the wires. I'm a Navy Aviation Electrician by trade so I at least have a knowledge of how to check components with a multimeter but I have a feeling I'm probably missing something simple but I need help on this. Any and all information is greatly appreciated.
gsxrider80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 02:07 PM   #2

Try checking voltage between the hot wire to the light(s) and a known good ground. Anything 110vAC circuit in any trailer (IMO) does not get a good ground by using screws into the framework of the trailer. I had problems with the factory installed 110vAC LED lighting in my cargo trailer until I took the time to run a dedicated ground all the way from the 110vAC circuit terminal strip which was supplied straight from the battery.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 03:51 PM   #3

Thurman,
For the most part it just seems like a ground isn't there.