Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2013, 08:18 AM   #21
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
You say your gennie is 4000/3500 .
Is that 4000 surge and 3500 running?

If so at max you have 30 watts available and that's right at the gennie limits.

This will come in handy.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...aws-17300.html
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130819_081513.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	38122
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:22 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
I have a 4000 with 3500 continuous
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:25 AM   #23
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by david155 View Post
I have a 4000 with 3500 continuous
Lol that's what I said.... ok I changed it after I seen I messed up lol.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:31 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Itl think I know what the problem is. ME I'm to dumb to own an rv. Lol I bet its cause iv just started the genny then plugged her in. Is it ok to switch the inverter off also at start up?
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:56 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
dmf564's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by david155 View Post
Itl think I know what the problem is. ME I'm to dumb to own an rv. Lol I bet its cause iv just started the genny then plugged her in. Is it ok to switch the inverter off also at start up?
You should not need to turn off the inverter at start up. The important need for caring for your generator is NO load at startup and NO load at shut down. Both are hard on the inverter. Once the generator is running even just after start up its producing power. You just need to mind how much power you are demanding from it.
__________________
[SIGPIC]TV-2012 Ford F250 XLT Supercrew 4X4
TT- 2010 Jayco Jay Flight 17Z (traded)
TT- 2012 Coachman Catalina 30BHS (current)
Me and my wife with 3 kids love camping!!
dmf564 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 10:09 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
The way I was doing it I was starting the generator and allowing it to run for about 5 minutes I then plugged the cable in to the generator outlet with all iems turned off at their switches but not at the breakers. I then turned the air conditioner on at the thermostat. The air conditioner came on after it's built in delay the air conditioner would run for about 1-2 minutes then it kicked out. During this time I did not attempt to turn in any other items on
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 10:26 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
All of the breakers are there in one place so it's easy to turn things off there instead of wandering around the RV finding switches. It's also way easier when it comes to restoring all those switches to their "normal" condition. Lastly, the breaker is the onIy place you can turn the converter off.

Let's talk about the converter a bit. Besides the AC, that's really the one "appliance" you'll probably want to run off of the generator (to charge the batteries). It will draw a lot of amps when it's first started (since the battery is low), but after a fairly short time, as the battery comes up to voltage, the converter draw will fall off dramatically. (In my RV if falls from about 18 amps to 2 amps.)

If you have a surge protector or other current meter, or your generator has a meter, you could start out by turning on the converter breaker first. Run the generator with just that until you see the current drop way down and THEN turn on the AC. That way you can run the two appliances you really need. (You might have to turn the converter off briefly when you start the AC, but maybe not.)
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:15 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Okay thank you very much guys this is starting to make a lot more sense to me now. my battery has a main killswitch also like on a boat should that be on or off itself
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 04:10 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Okay I tried turning everything off and doing it that way when I tried to turn just the aC breaker on it tripped the generator again I contacted the dealer and they told me to bring it back that the compressor must be sticking
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:07 PM   #30
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Lou, a 30->50 adapter powers both legs of the 50 from the one leg of the 30.
Thanks, Tired - bad day.
I will post after I get some rest.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2760.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	53.6 KB
ID:	38189  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 06:29 AM   #31
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post

Thanks, Tired - bad day.
I will post after I get some rest.
What the ?

This isn't right!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:44 AM   #32
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,017
Sorry for the hijack David; it was after 9 before I got into a spot at the KOA and was beat. http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...tml#post448595

Did you isolate the circuit that is pulling more amps than the generator can deliver?
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:51 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
No worries. No I ended up st the dealer as they feel I have a sticky compressor. Being that the rv is only a week old they are going to do the dirty work. I was trying to make sure I wasn't doing something stupid as a rookie. Thanks to all who helped I've never been part of a forum where everyone was this helpful
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:50 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Update. So I'm more being told that my ac unit if a 15k btu unit. Then they told me my 3500 continuous watt 4000 surge is not enough. Never mind the tried to sell me two 2k and a parallel kit. So I asked why whey I plugged into my friends 5500 continuous watt genny it still topped the breaker. The tech tried telling me he tested it on a larger genny for 4 hours. Then finally admitted he had it hooked to shore power. So he lied. One week it's been there and no answer so another weekend without using it. I can say my first taste of ownership is not a pleasant one
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:12 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
They need to install a "soft-start" kit into the AC. Perhaps that will allow it to work.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:20 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Not sure on your AC model or genny type but my Champion 3500/4000 runs my 15k ac with no issues.

Does it trip when you just run the fan and not turn it to cool (when the AC compressor kicks in)?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:31 PM   #37
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Fan delay mod would help to.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:35 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
Not sure on your AC model or genny type but my Champion 3500/4000 runs my 15k ac with no issues.

Does it trip when you just run the fan and not turn it to cool (when the AC compressor kicks in)?
I have the same genny as you. When I set it to cool the fan runs for a few seconds or so then it trips the breaker . I'm guessing when the compressor kicks in
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:41 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by david155 View Post

I have the same genny as you. When I set it to cool the fan runs for a few seconds or so then it trips the breaker . I'm guessing when the compressor kicks in
What happens when you run the fan only?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:51 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post

What happens when you run the fan only?
It just runs and runs.
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.