Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2016, 08:24 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 183
Question House adapter to 50 amp plug?

Is it OK to use adapters to hook up my 50 amp 5th wheel to an extension cord to a house outlet? I realize I cannot use the air conditioner , etc. Only want it for lights and slide out and refrigerator.
rogerkathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 08:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 7,085
So you want to go 50AMP -> 110V? If so, yes, just buy an adapter (to cover all your bases, I would get a 50->30AMP & a 30AMP->110V dog bone, that way you will be prepared for all contingencies.)
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 2014 - 42 2015 - 56 Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 08:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 183
Yep, that's al I want to do. Just want to check things out to make sure. We are picking up a new Wildcat 323mk 5th wheel today. It'll be our first 50 amp RV. Thanks for your help!
rogerkathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 12:09 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,853
I have both 50A to 30A and a 30A to 15A dogbones. That covers about any situation I get into. Just be sure you get the male/female parts correct for what you need to do.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 12:14 PM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 14,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerkathy View Post
Yep, that's al I want to do. Just want to check things out to make sure. We are picking up a new Wildcat 323mk 5th wheel today. It'll be our first 50 amp RV. Thanks for your help!
A good dealer will throw those items in with the purchase.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=94
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 12:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Boso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,198
50 amp to house 110

Simple answer is yes you can
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 12:44 PM   #7
Blog: RVroadtripper.com
 
hbillsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Near Dallas Texas
Posts: 994
I carry the 50 to 30 and the 30 to 110v. When parked at home I plug the RV cord into the 50 to 30, and the 30 leg into the 30 to 110, and the 110v into an extension cord that reaches up to the house. One thing to note is that you should use a heavy-duty 110 extension cord because that cord gets hot.

Lastly, its not unusual to turn on too much stuff and have your home GFI pop and need a reset. Make sure you have the hotwater electric switch OFF. You new 5er should have all LED lights so lights aren't really an issue anymore (they were when incandescent was the norm).
__________________
2016 Wildcat 295RSX - 2015 GMC 2500HD DblCab Duramax/Allison 4x4 Z71 6.6' Bed
Maxxis 235/80/16E; AirBags w/AirLift1; mor/Ryde Rubber Pinbox; Andersen UltimateII Alum. 5erhitch on Reese Flipball w/Curt 4" offset; LCI Ground Control3; King Dishtailgater; Traveling with 10' Portabote;
hbillsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 12:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
MilCop4523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In a big child free home - except for me
Posts: 1,648
I wired in a 50 amp breaker into my garage electrical panel then ran correct wiring to a 50 amp weatherproof RV head unit outside.
then i run my 50 to 30 amp plug to operate the trailer if need be.
__________________
TV 2018 Ford F250, hauling a 2018 KZ 331 TH 12 Sportster 5th wheel, packing a 2015 CF MOTO 800 U-Force SXS
MilCop4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 01:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,353
Mixing wrong electrical terms. Just to be clearr, all voltage for trailers is 110 volts. The variable is the amperage. A 50 amp service has 2 legs of up to 50 amps each at 110 volts. A 30 amp service has one leg of up to 30 amps at 110 volts. A home outlet typically has up to 15 amps ar 110 volts. Plugging into power at your house in a typical home outlet should be called 15 amps.
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 01:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New Lenox, Ill. (Home of Proud Americans)
Posts: 298
Conntek makes a 50A to 15A adapter. I use this at home all the time when I am getting ready to go camping. I can run the residential fridge and all the interior lights with it. You don't need to get out the bulky 50A cord at home. It works great for me. I also have the 50A to 30A and the 30A to 15A adapters as well.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...L._SL1280_.jpg
__________________
2015 GMC Denali 3500 4X4 Duramax
2019 Cedar Creek 36CK2
grumpyoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 01:55 PM   #11
2021 Forest River 26FKBS
 
jeffdawgfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 36
Our local Walmart carries both the 50a and 30a to 110v adapters. Surprisingly they carry quite a bit of RV supplies like waste hoses and electrical items. All name brands...but of course even name brands are usually made in China.
__________________
Official caretakers of Sasha, Blakely, Cooper, Abby the King Charles Cavalier Spaniels. (We just drive their camper around for them)

2021 Flagstaff Ultra Lite 26FKBS. 2019 RAM 1500 Laramie 4x4 for Tow Vehicle.
jeffdawgfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 03:44 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 824
All of the above suggestions are valid provided there is no need to use the fifth-wheel A/C when parked at home. We often use our new fifth-wheel as a "guesthouse" when family members (mostly my wife's) visit, and so we have installed a standard RV-Park style 50 Amp Utility Outlet at the corner of our backyard driveway where we park. This gives us all the flexibility we need to run one or both AC's. We also carry a variety of adapters when camping so we can hook up to 30 amp or 20 amp outlets.
Jakie-Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 03:48 PM   #13
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 20,687
Rightly or wrongly, with my 50amp cord and a fifty-foot 10 or 12 gauge cord, I've ran my 15k A/C off of a 15amp garage outlet.

I wanted my EMS display and continually checked the cord ends for warmth/heat. And it ran quite well.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 03:50 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
ferguson65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpyoldman View Post
Conntek makes a 50A to 15A adapter. I use this at home all the time when I am getting ready to go camping. I can run the residential fridge and all the interior lights with it. You don't need to get out the bulky 50A cord at home. It works great for me. I also have the 50A to 30A and the 30A to 15A adapters as well.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...L._SL1280_.jpg

I also have this. Expensive, but not having to drag the 50A cord out to start the fridge the night before we leave and roll it up in the morning is worth it!

I have a 30A outlet on the house to plug in if needed to run the AC. Can't run both units, but given the roughly 80 feet of wire needed and the hassle of running 6ga I just went with 30A.
__________________
2013 F350 dually
2015 Palomino Puma 351THSS Premier Edition
2015 Nights camped 15
2016 Nights camped 5
ferguson65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 06:45 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 591
I would use a 12 gauge extension cord to prevent voltage drop
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:51 PM   #16
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,066
BamaBob has a good point - cover your bases. And actually, you should be able to run one of the AC units with the adapter. On our old 30A RV, I kept it plugged in like that year round and ran the AC. The microwave is what what will typically kick the breaker, though. With the new RV, I went ahead and got a 50A service installed just for it.
__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 03:24 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 183
Good info from al. Thanks! Bought the 50 amp to 30 amp cord and will use the adapter to 15 amp.
rogerkathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 04:40 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
CWODave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by conceptumator View Post
BamaBob has a good point - cover your bases. And actually, you should be able to run one of the AC units with the adapter. On our old 30A RV, I kept it plugged in like that year round and ran the AC. The microwave is what what will typically kick the breaker, though. With the new RV, I went ahead and got a 50A service installed just for it.
Just curious, I'm looking to install a dedicated 50 amp circuit, how much did you pay to have it installed?
CWODave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 04:58 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
MT Biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Warwick, RI
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWODave View Post
Just curious, I'm looking to install a dedicated 50 amp circuit, how much did you pay to have it installed?
I can tell you what the material cost as I did the install.
Home Depot & Lowes sell the 50a RV outlet box for $30
The 6/3 Rxwg (40') a Siemens 2P50a breaker and misc fittings and staples cost me $80.

My guess would be a licensed electrician would probably charge around $300 maybe more if they needed to pull a permit.
If it's a easy install (as mine was) it took less than a hour.
__________________
https://www.facebook.com/westshorerailway/

2019 Ford F-250 Super Cab 6.2L Lariat
2016 ML23FB
MT Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 05:55 PM   #20
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,066
Sorry - can't tell you what it would cost. I had one of my large subcontractors send a fellow out to do it and they wouldn't let me pay them when they were done. Guess the $100,000,000 of subcontracts they did for me helped. I would guess about $350 or so but strictly a guess.
__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.