Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2016, 03:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Knowlton, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 42
I have drilled into a wire going to the TV outlet...HELP!

While I was installing a shelf in a closet in our 2006 FR Surveyor model SV210 Travel Trailer, I drilled into the wire for the TV outlet (I rolled the dice and lost!!) All the power was on to the outlet so for sure the wire was shorted out. I checked the breaker to the outlet and, to my surprise, the breaker was not tripped. I repaired my stupidity (with all power off). I flipped the breaker back on and still had no power to the outlet. I double checked every breaker and fuse...still no power to the outlet. I resolved that I also had no power to the other outlets on the TV's circuit. I have verified with a multimeter, that there is no power to the TV outlet, or any other outlet on that circuit. I was aware of two reset buttons outside behind the hot water tank door, so I checked them, but they did not seem to have tripped. I am not sure if these buttons are for just the hot water tank, but I checked them anyway.
Where do I go from here?
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
grumpy0374's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,452
Check your GFI outlets. You have to have at least one inside, possible two. One is usually in the bathroom area and another may be in the kitchen area. May also have one outside if you have an outside outlet.
Chances are the GFI tripped which is why the breaker didn't.
Grumpy
__________________
Steve & Cheryl + Zoey, and Ziggy, our furry kids.

2012 Forrest River Lexington 283ts
Toad, 2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek
grumpy0374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:51 PM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 9,535
What he said!!

Good luck!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 10:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Knowlton, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 42
Thanks grumpy0374, it is now 10:40 PM and 28 degrees F so first thing tomorrow morning, I will check the GFCI outlet in the bathroom to see if it has a reset button. The GFCI that went to the wire that I drilled through, does not have a reset button. Your suggestion sounds very logical and I am hoping that this simple fix solves my problem.
I will certainly let you know in the morning.
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 10:53 PM   #5
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry1 View Post
The GFCI that went to the wire that I drilled through, does not have a reset button.
A true GFCI in the RV should have a test and reset button.

Sometimes you might see a label on an outlet that states 'GFCI protected outlet' which can mean there is a true GFCI outlet wired upstream of this one.

http://www.fehnelectric.net/plugs-no...r-gfci-outlet/
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 01:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
... exactly like wmtire said. If the outlet doesn't have a test and/or reset its only protected... just like the label said. It is possible to drill into and break the hot or neutral wire without tripping a breaker... normally it does but not always
WW
__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western AZ
Posts: 2,404
x3 on the GFI
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Knowlton, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 42
I have drilled into a wire going to the TV outlet...HELP!

Thanks to all who took the time to give me advice on how to solve my mess, especially Grumpy0374. I reset the bathroom GFCI and BINGO!...life is good again. All joking aside, my last day of 2016 left me anticipating a $100 house call from an electrician plus labor and maybe a new converter. Now it is a good start to 2017. THANK YOU.
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:46 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
grumpy0374's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,452
Glad it worked out and was something simple.
100 bucks + labor!!!
Wow!!!
My charge will only be $50 bucks, total.
Just make the check out to "Grumpy"!!!
Have many safe trips and travels this year.
Grumpy
__________________
Steve & Cheryl + Zoey, and Ziggy, our furry kids.

2012 Forrest River Lexington 283ts
Toad, 2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek
grumpy0374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 04:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 133
Just don't forget, if you really did nick the wire, it could still be a fire hazard. Keep an eye on it.
D-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 07:01 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
DouglasReid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Maurice, LA
Posts: 3,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpy0374 View Post
Check your GFI outlets. You have to have at least one inside, possible two. One is usually in the bathroom area and another may be in the kitchen area. May also have one outside if you have an outside outlet.
Chances are the GFI tripped which is why the breaker didn't.
Grumpy
x2 And be VERY glad it was there. People get killed doing the mistake you did if the circuit doesn't have a GFCI on it!

ou were LUCKY!
__________________
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL, Gladiator Qr35 ST235/85R16 Load rating G, TST 507 TPMS w/ Flow-thru Sensors & Repeater, Reese Sidewinder 16K Pin Box, PI EMS HW50C
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD CCSB LTZ Diesel, Fumoto Oil Drain Valve, Turbo Brake activated, 39 gal Aux Tank W/ Fuel Pump transfer, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags.
DouglasReid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 07:08 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
DouglasReid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Maurice, LA
Posts: 3,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Man View Post
Just don't forget, if you really did nick the wire, it could still be a fire hazard. Keep an eye on it.
He said he repaired it so I hope he used wire nuts to splice the cut ends, or even if it were just nicked. It would be best if a shallow box and cover were over the splice to eliminate the possibility of sparks causing an electrical fire too.

Nobody wants to burn their RV to the ground, particularly if they are inside at the time!
__________________
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL, Gladiator Qr35 ST235/85R16 Load rating G, TST 507 TPMS w/ Flow-thru Sensors & Repeater, Reese Sidewinder 16K Pin Box, PI EMS HW50C
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD CCSB LTZ Diesel, Fumoto Oil Drain Valve, Turbo Brake activated, 39 gal Aux Tank W/ Fuel Pump transfer, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags.
DouglasReid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 11:49 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by DouglasReid View Post
He said he repaired it so I hope he used wire nuts to splice the cut ends, or even if it were just nicked.
Nobody wants to burn their RV to the ground, particularly if they are inside at the time!
X2....you are at risk. Do not leave this to chance. Fish out the damaged section of wire...cut out the bad part...re-splice with nuts or crimps and tape over thoroughly.
__________________
________
Cam
2015 Georgetown 280DS
2019 Vespa Primavera 150's (pair)
camaraderie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 07:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Knowlton, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 42
I certainly did short the wire out.
But I got lucky because it happened about 6 inches from the outlet box and there was about 12 inches of extra wire, so I was able to cut the wire at the short and reattach it directly into the box.

Thanks,
Barry1
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 08:15 PM   #15
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 16,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry1 View Post
I certainly did short the wire out.
But I got lucky because it happened about 6 inches from the outlet box and there was about 12 inches of extra wire, so I was able to cut the wire at the short and reattach it directly into the box.

Thanks,
Barry1
Thanks for returning and telling us about your solution. That helps us all in the long run.
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 28; Booked = 50
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.