Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2013, 02:39 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
Interior Lights and fridge quit working on 12v

Hi again everyone,about to take a trip and when I unhooked from shore power everything on the 12 volt side quit working,the slide works and landing gear work though! Any help,i checked all of the fuses at the battery area and fuse panel....06 flagstaff 5th wheel,thank,s.
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 02:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Collinsville, IL
Posts: 830
Do you have a battery disconnect switch? Is it "on"? Slide and landing gear are often wired direct and will work with switch off, but everything else would be without power.
__________________
2012 Forest River Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
RvBill3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 03:03 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
Look for a resettable circuit breaker on the power feed from the battery.

Dave
Attached Images
 
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 04:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
No 12volt.

Thank,s Dave and Bill,so far I have pulled out the circuit panel(converter) I found the black feed wire came out of the wire connector(marret).Thought for sure my problem is solved,soldered it together this time with new connector and still not solved,been following the feed wire forward to the source and the black and white feed wires go up the wall.Seems like behind the idiot panel to the right of the door opening,the only peek hole I can find is behind the tank andbattery meter,sort of stuck for an answer where to find a reset switch or breaker!
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:56 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
The resettable circuit breaker should be very close to the battery...the reset is the small black button on the side as shown in the picture.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 08:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
Hi Dave,the junction block,circuit breaker was not tripped,in the process of following the wires,behind a panel in the chest of drawers is a 30 amp bosch relay,no power going to it, the black feed wire from that junction box(circuit breaker)goes up the wall behind switches and display,don,t know where it goes from there,been trying to find a schematic without any luck there!
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
The black feed wire goes to the slide switch,now trying to find out where the green and yellow wires go to,routed under the trailer by the looks of it.
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:32 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
The green and yellow wires that you're now tracing, is either one off the resettable circuit breaker near the battery...that will be the feed to the power center/converter.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:50 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
I went out and checked mine. One wire from the battery to one side of the resettable breaker...3 wires off the other side. Two of the three wires have in-line fuses...1 feeds the langing gear, the other feeds the main slide motor. The 3rd wire, a heavy gauge red wire feeds the power center/converter.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 10:36 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
They seem fine,now I am trying to find the routing of that red wire that feeds the center converter....no power,maybe thats where I should have started!
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 12:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
I am having trouble tracing the red feed wire back from the battery to the center converter,however when I feed the converter directly from the battery everything works off of 12v.There must be another in line fuse or junction box that I don,t see!
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 12:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
Don,t see my last update,I fed the converter directly from the battery,everything works,there must be a junction box or inline fuse I can't find?
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 04:57 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
The feed wire (red) from the inverter goes through the floor,any idea where it goes,hope I don't,t have to start pulling the under belly down,the feed wire in front goes up into the framework,have no idea where that one routes to?
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 08:06 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
Running new wire and abandoning the existing power feed may be the easiest at least for now.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:30 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
I am just about done pulling my hair out on this one,usually the biggest headaches are the easiest fixs,but this one has proved me wrong...Thanks Dave.
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:27 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
Today I pulled down the front two belly pans,ran a new 8 gauge wire ,was not impressed with the wiring loom on the left side of the chassis just hanging there rubbing on the slide rails,clamped it all up to the underneath of the floor,clean out hose for the black tank never hooked up and left open at the top of the tank,if I happen to go to the frog rally next year I will be asking some questions.If anyone knows where that red feed wire goes please let me know,up from the battery into a frame rail.
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:30 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
Thank,s again Dave and Bill for your suggestions.
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 08:09 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,451
I have done this. Use a analog volt ohm meter, that is what I have, get some automotive wire and make a long lead. The idea is to check continuity on the wire. The long lead will be just an extension of one of the leads on meter. Set the meter to ohms and test. If wire is the same, the meter will jump to the right, if the wire is known to be the same and does not read, there is a break in the wire, ergo, switch is open.
When looking for the same wire, you can test each wire and find it. If the wire tested has two or more continuity readings, just means there is another panel between the source and you..
Hope this helps,
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3170 DSF
Dorothy, Garrette and Miss Bella.
Retired and having fun.
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 08:13 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,451
You are checking for continuity so voltage does not matter, so no need to disconnect the wires. You could check voltage with the meter, but you are just trying to trace wires. Make a sketch as you go, at least it will be the start of a schematic of sorts.
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3170 DSF
Dorothy, Garrette and Miss Bella.
Retired and having fun.
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 05:08 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 117
Hi Garrette, I checked the continuity of the feed wire,there is none! I can not follow the wire because it goes up through the frame.That is why I ran a new circuit....
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge, light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.