Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2016, 03:53 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 8,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
They said it is wired for 30amps. There have been times when I was showing between 15 and 30 amps. So I'm guessing if it was only 15amps, and I was using more than that, the fuse would have blown?

If I recall when I was a kid........do fuses blow = circuit breaker trips?
I've never had to do anything with that 30amp fuse shown on the box.
The plug in the picture appears to be a 15 amp residential with that said the RV campground owners my very well have it wired into a 30 amp circuit. That sort of thing happens all the time on some of the ranches I frequent here in Idaho. It won't be long before the plug if running max amps will fry. Adding this edit I bet the wiring behind the plug is not up to size either.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab) 10/04 - 05/20
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 04:00 PM   #22
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,652
I would make a deal with the campground owner. Tell him you will have an electrician upgrade the pedestal to 30 A ( 50 A if infrastructure supports it) with 21st century breakers at your expense and maybe request you be assigned that site next year. Yous should be able to have the work done for about $100-$150. Far less than the damage the existing pedestal could cause.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 04:06 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
dea49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
(Although they wired the 3 waste tanks wrong with the panel. I took off the inside panel to see if the wires were hooked up wrong, but with the battery and fresh tank wires, I couldn't tell what was what (it had 6 wires).
Post a pic of the wiring. It is usually a simple setup with a positive, GND, and one lead for each tank.

It is fairly easy to pull a wire from the connector and using a flat blad screwdriver, reinsert it in the proper one.

The plug they say is 30A doesn't look as though it would be UL listed for that type of amps and will eventually heat up and fail. What is the blade configuration of your power cord?
dea49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 04:06 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 353
Its a 14-30 125/250 volt 4 wire receptacle like an earlier person said

The inverted "L" is the neutral/white wire
The two vertical blades are "L1" and "'L2"
The sideways "D" on top is the ground.

It has a fused pullout disconnect, a neutral, and a ground so in its day, it was an perfectly good setup. In reality, you are much safer with fuses than you are with breakers. The reason the world went to breakers, is fuses are a "one time' use item.

What configuration is your RV?

A 120/250 volt- 50 amp or a 120 volt - 30 amp

The power pole has a 125/250 volt - 30amp receptacle

If you are a 125/250 volt 50 amp RV, you need a 125/250 - 30 amp 4 wire male to a 125/250 volt 50 amp 4 wire female with a short piece of 4 wire #10 SO cord and make your own.

If you have a 120 volt 30 amp Rv you will need 125/250 - 30 amp 4 wire male to a 120 volt 30 amp 3 wire female and a short piece of 3 wire #10 SO cord and make your own adapter using only either L1 or L2 on the male end.

I rather doubt that the rv park is going to upgrade their wiring to handle a 125/250-50 amp service for you. You might be able to get them to pay for the materials to make an adapter though.
ShermanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 04:32 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: 152 SCENIC CIRCLE
Posts: 143
I would get out of Dodge on this set up???
Gee Whiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 04:38 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,212
The small household looking receptacle is an 30 amp outlet. It as a horizontal blade slot. Which you can use the standard 15/20 amp plugs or the specialized 30 amp plug. I would monitor the cable that is plugged into to it, as mentioned if warm or hot stop using it. It is most likely a light gauge wire feeding the receptacle it could become over taxed quickly. I would not use the round receptacle until you know exactly how it is wired, also as mentioned. That could cause a lot very bad things to happen. With admitting the lack of electrical knowledge I wonder why someone you try to encourage you to make a pigtail adapter. Best advise was giving at the beginning, get an electrician.
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 04:47 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 353
Got a solution for you. Go to your local HD, Lowes, True Value, etc and get yourself a 30 amp 4 wire dryer cord and a female cord cap configured to whatever your RV needs are. If you need 125/250 volts use both hot wires. If you only need 120 volts use only one hot wire and tape the other one off.
Next year find a annual with a newer service
ShermanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:00 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 80
Has the fuse ever blown? Do you have a spare?
Steve29rlx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:49 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
gectisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhduh camping View Post
The small household looking receptacle is an 30 amp outlet. It as a horizontal blade slot. Which you can use the standard 15/20 amp plugs or the specialized 30 amp plug. I would monitor the cable that is plugged into to it, as mentioned if warm or hot stop using it. It is most likely a light gauge wire feeding the receptacle it could become over taxed quickly. I would not use the round receptacle until you know exactly how it is wired, also as mentioned. That could cause a lot very bad things to happen. With admitting the lack of electrical knowledge I wonder why someone you try to encourage you to make a pigtail adapter. Best advise was giving at the beginning, get an electrician.

I believe the outlet with the horizontal blade is rated at 20amps, (the one the OP is plugged into). I would do as other said, if you don't have the know how and tools, pay an electrician to change it out to a 30amp outlet, shouldn't cost too much and get peace of mind...
__________________
2016 Windjammer 3006WK - Sold July 2018
2002 Lance Lite 835EC TC - Sold July 2015
2010 Dodge Ram 2500, 4x4, Diesel, Front Hitch, Air Lift 5000 Rear Air Bags, Sold Mar 2019.

MISSION COMPLETED!
gectisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:54 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Major Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 219
Somebody said an a/c needs a MINIMUM of 30 amps.

????

Ya mean the lights, TV, etc won't work with the a/c on if hooked to a 30A post ?

I find that HTB.
__________________
2014 King Ranch Ecoboost Screw, 3.73.....2019 Palamino 27RLSS (customized)
Retired AF Mustang.....Picker always looking to jam.
Major Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:56 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
dannyabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShermanD View Post
Got a solution for you. Go to your local HD, Lowes, True Value, etc and get yourself a 30 amp 4 wire dryer cord and a female cord cap configured to whatever your RV needs are. If you need 125/250 volts use both hot wires. If you only need 120 volts use only one hot wire and tape the other one off.
Next year find a annual with a newer service
This is a good temp solution, I have the know how and would change the dryer recepticle or just add a 30 amp rv rect. to the box.
__________________
Danny & Darlene
2002 Silverado 1500HD
2014 Rockwood 2703WS 'Emerald Pkg'
Days camped 2015=42 2014=48 2013=41 2012=47 2011=18
dannyabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:03 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
dea49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve29rlx View Post
Has the fuse ever blown? Do you have a spare?
There is probably a penny screwed in behind it.
dea49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:14 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by gectisme View Post
I believe the outlet with the horizontal blade is rated at 20amps, (the one the OP is plugged into). I would do as other said, if you don't have the know how and tools, pay an electrician to change it out to a 30amp outlet, shouldn't cost too much and get peace of mind...
You are right 30A would be two horizontal blades my bad
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:38 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Glasgow ky
Posts: 185
The 110 v plug is a 20 amp receptacle.

The extension cord does matter. The bigger and shorter the better. You loose amps per foot.

As info
Simplewon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:45 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
OntarioFireFighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwritecode View Post
That doesn't sound right to me but I'm like you and know very little when it comes to electricity and how it works. I'm sure others will chime in if that's even possible...
The 30A fuse protecting the 20A outlet, is incorrect; and dangerous.

The "T-slot" outlet is rated for 20A... that's what the fuse should be, at most. The contacts, and most likely the wiring, isn't sized for 30A loads. Running it at 30A is a bad plan...

The whole works should be redone, IMO.
__________________
2014 Grey Wolf 28BH, behind a 2015 F350 Diesel Crew Cab

Nights Camped 2016: 44

Nights Booked 2017: 11
Nights Camped 2017: 6
OntarioFireFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:06 PM   #36
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaBob View Post
Also I forgot to attach the EMS photo - oops here it is.
Bob, that is the exact EMS I have. YAY!

I emailed the owners asking for an updated box that I can directly plug my 30amp plug into, that also has a circuit breaker.

They agreed to replace it. The last renters on this site were there about 15 years, and they told the owners they didn't want it replaced, because they liked having the second out for plugging in lights, etc.

The new box will NOT have an additional plug.....but I'm fine with that. I can use the plug on the outside of my camper for those needs.

Thanks to everyone else for their input. I hope this helped others too.
__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:12 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 183
If you have a 50 amp camper ask for a box with a 50 amp plug.
__________________
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
TakeItEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:41 PM   #38
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeItEasy View Post
If you have a 50 amp camper ask for a box with a 50 amp plug.
Our camper is wired for 50amp in case we later want to add a second A/C.
But the campground does not offer 50amp service to the seasonal sites.
I've not had problems with 30amps except on the holiday weekends.
__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:49 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 7,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
Bob, that is the exact EMS I have. YAY!

I emailed the owners asking for an updated box that I can directly plug my 30amp plug into, that also has a circuit breaker.

They agreed to replace it. The last renters on this site were there about 15 years, and they told the owners they didn't want it replaced, because they liked having the second out for plugging in lights, etc.

The new box will NOT have an additional plug.....but I'm fine with that. I can use the plug on the outside of my camper for those needs.

Thanks to everyone else for their input. I hope this helped others too.
You are now, as we say in Alabama "In High Cotton"

Enjoy your new (and SAFE!) Electric pedestal (At no cost to you! )

Now....
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 242014 - 422015 - 56Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 03:12 PM   #40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dea49 View Post
Post a pic of the wiring. It is usually a simple setup with a positive, GND, and one lead for each tank.

It is fairly easy to pull a wire from the connector and using a flat blad screwdriver, reinsert it in the proper one.

The plug they say is 30A doesn't look as though it would be UL listed for that type of amps and will eventually heat up and fail. What is the blade configuration of your power cord?
Here's a picture of the back of the tank panel numbered #1 (red) to #6 (blue).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4090.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	115646  
__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.