Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-01-2021, 07:22 PM   #1

ISO input on solar generators

I'm new to camping, just got a 2021 Geo Pro 19BH. Me and my family like dispersed and dry camping the most for peace and quiet, so I got a 200W solar suitcase. This weekend I was pleasantly surprised that the combo of the on roof solar panel and the suitcase kept our batteries charged up.

But the plugs and USB outlets don't work without 110 power so I'm looking into solar generators. (My wife doesn't really want a gas or diesel generator bc of the noise, plus she would really like working plugs at night and generators can't be run at night in most dry campsites where we live.)

Has anyone here used a solar generator? They're pricey af but I'm curious what I'd be able to run on a big one, and if I could plug it into the shoreline plug, etc. I'm not sure what the power draw is on plugs, USB's or A/C, I'm so new I don't even know where to look for that. We have a 3-night dry camping trip coming up for the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and it would be nice to run the A/C during the day and have some working plugs at night. Thanks, everybody I appreciate any help.
FamilyMan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2021, 08:39 PM   #2
Open Space Wanted

Quote:
Originally Posted by FamilyMan4 View Post
I'm new to camping, just got a 2021 Geo Pro 19BH. Me and my family like dispersed and dry camping the most for peace and quiet, so I got a 200W solar suitcase. This weekend I was pleasantly surprised that the combo of the on roof solar panel and the suitcase kept our batteries charged up.

But the plugs and USB outlets don't work without 110 power so I'm looking into solar generators. (My wife doesn't really want a gas or diesel generator bc of the noise, plus she would really like working plugs at night and generators can't be run at night in most dry campsites where we live.)