RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2020, 01:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 23
Lost Shore AC Power

I lost Shore AC 110 power in my Forester 3011.

Power to the cord seems ok, plugged in surge protector, got a reading 112.


House works on generator.

Iíve searched for the simple solution, but now luck.

Iím hoping itís not the Automatic Transfer Switch.

Is there another breaker to check?

Thanks
deanjp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 02:43 PM   #2
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,074
Did you check the cord for power at the RV? any burned or melted connections or plastic on either end of the cord?

With it unplugged and the generator off I would check the connections for tightness / burning / melting at the power port and the transfer switch.
__________________
TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite
TV 2017 F150 6.5' bed 3.5 Eco-boost
prior TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 02:45 PM   #3
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 23,290
Are you plugged into a GFI outlet? If so, plug into a non-GFI outlet. Some RVs don't play well with GFI outlets.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 04:21 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 23
All plug connections, unconnected and reconnected.
Nothing Melted.

I peeked under the bed, everything looked good, nothing seemed loose.

I did not open the ATS, as that seems tight.


It is a non-GFI, 50amp at home to 30 dogbone.
deanjp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 12:42 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
I recently had a similar issue - lost all my outlets, but the microwave and electric fireplace heater worked OK, so I naturally assumed my GCI had opened. I checked it and there was no light on it. I assumed it was bad and replaced it, still nothing. Next I put a circuit analyzer on the outside box, everything looked fine from the pedestal. Then I took the cover off of my circuit breaker panel and with a meter checked the connection coming into the box. One read 115, the other nothing. So this led me to believe my cord had failed somewhere. I replaced my 50 amp cord with a 30 amp cord, and everything worked fine. Didn't see anything fried or otherwise bent, etc. I decided to replace the connection going to the trailer instead of buying a new 50 amp cord. Not sure why the connector failed, but all is well now.
John Hendrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 01:53 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 23
So, I opened the ATS, everything looked good.
I tested it with a meter when Gen was running, got 115 on the Labeled Gen Side, Shut the Gen off, tested the Labeled Shore Power, Nothing.

So had to be the wire to the male plug.

Opened the draw, and removed across the walkway.

Looked good.

Had to loosen the wire ďholderĒ


Went outside to loosen the housing screws, and the housing seems glued to the wall.

Unscrewed the inner set of the 3 prongs.

That looked good, put it back together and it worked.

HOWEVER, there are 2 very thin red and black wires which I did break, what are they to?
deanjp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 03:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanjp1 View Post
HOWEVER, there are 2 very thin red and black wires which I did break, what are they to?
I believe they are the led on cover to show power is connected.
__________________
2020 Chevy Silverado Crew Cab RST 4wd
2020 Grand Design Transcend 30RBS
Stolen and Totaled-2020 Coachmen Catalina Legacy 263RLS
WD4LTO
Bookumdanno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 04:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 47
I had loose wires in my connection on the outside wall , unplug ele. From pedestal, unscrew four screw , un seal from side wall and take it apart check tightness of the hot , white, and ground . Mine were loose . Now I check every year .
fred+sherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.