Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2015, 08:09 AM   #1
Member
 
bwcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
Main Breaker Switch On or Off during plug in?

Just wondering thoughts on the Main breaker position,On or Off during plug in to the electrical box? On my motorhome it was easy to get to and use to have it in the off position. Now I have a WindJammer 3025 and with the slides in you can't easily get to the Panel. Hate to leave it on during hook up.
bwcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:13 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,939
Most campground pedestals have a breaker that you can turn off/on in the pedestal itself...which you do want off when connecting up. If it's turned off at the pedestal, then it doesn't matter about your RV, as no power is going to it until the pedestal breaker is turned back on. I turn all pedestals breakers off before connecting or disconnecting to prevent electrical arcing.



However, if you are a place that doesn't have the circuit breakers in the pedestal, it presents a different dilemma.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,410
I turn the breaker in the campgrounds electrical box off before plugging into it. After plugging in I turn that breaker back on. I think thatís the way most folks do it.
__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:20 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
After (Checking) the Hookup Box for Proper Voltage we turn it OFF before plugging in! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:31 AM   #5
Member
 
bwcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
I have always checked the voltage at the pedestal before plugging in and with both mains off. Then turn them on checking the voltage flipping them on in order. I just know these all in one converters are prone to spikes.
bwcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:33 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
I just plug in and let the ems do its thing!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
I just plug in and let the ems do its thing!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
Come on Turbs,Thats like saying (I Never look Both ways before I walk across the Street,I let the Blinking Hand Tell Me)! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:50 AM   #8
DDC
Senior Member
 
DDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Komoka Ontario
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
I just plug in and let the ems do its thing!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
X2
__________________
"Well that didn't go as expected"
2015 Chev 2500HD Highcountry Duramax
Cedar Creek Silverback 33IK
Donald&Casey cairn terrier
Rest in Peace Mary my darling wife.
Scottish by birth Canadian by time.
DDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:51 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
That's the beauty of a progressive industries ems surge guard !
Plug in the camper, ems delays to check voltage and correct wiring then either turns on "voltage good" or it doesnt.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 09:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
mjones12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 2,601
X3, Turbs
__________________
2018 Coachmen Apex 249 RBS
2010 Silverado LT 5.3 V8


The world is a great book, of which those who never stir from home
read only a page. - St. Augustine
mjones12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 09:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
OK,I just talked to PI. If Power Ped is NOT wired properly the PI unit will NOT power up your unit but will Supply a E Code! You can then Contact the C/G for Help! No Harm to the PI unit! Before I Pull/Back into a C/G site I walk over and (Check the Elect.with my Meter) if it is Wrong I call the C/G for Help! I do this without Pulling out a (Heavy 30 or 50 Amp Cord) also! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 09:33 AM   #12
Average Joe
 
MrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mechanicsville, MD
Posts: 689
Pretty much the same as Youroo, I check the power quality before hook-up. I turn the breaker at the pole off after testing, plug in and turn on the breaker. Simple
__________________
Joe and Karen
2014 Sunseeker 2450sf

Southern Maryland and Beyond!

MrJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 09:40 AM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
OK,I just talked to PI. If Power Ped is NOT wired properly the PI unit will NOT power up your unit but will Supply a E Code! You can then Contact the C/G for Help! No Harm to the PI unit! Before I Pull/Back into a C/G site I walk over and (Check the Elect.with my Meter) if it is Wrong I call the C/G for Help! I do this without Pulling out a (Heavy 30 or 50 Amp Cord) also! Youroo!!
Refer to post 9 , no need to call progressive!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 09:48 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Everything Posted isn't always (Correct)! Second Opinion from the MFG. is a Smart way to Go! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 11:40 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Ecopco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 221
x4 TURBS


2015 Solera 24R
__________________

The Peterson Family
Southeast Louisiana
2015 Solera 24R

Living our dreams one day at a time!
Ecopco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 11:46 AM   #16
Paradise has arrived!
 
Paradise115's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 154
Ems is worth the price for the piece of mind not to mention the technology. Mine will sometimes take up to 6 minutes to run through the safety checks but it's well worth it.
__________________
Southwestern Pennsylvania
Paradise115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 11:47 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
jaxfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jacksonville fl
Posts: 319
Use a surge protection device that once it checks for failures then it turns itself on. I use it at home and away. If there is something wrong it will not allow the connection to happen. SO after like about 5 minutes if I don't have power, I go back to the connections and find out why.
__________________
jaxfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 11:53 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,353
x5 Turbs.

But, in one COE campground we camp in a lot, and I have had power issues there, I do check before setup. But if there is a power problem we have to wait for repair man to come because there are never any other open sites to go to anyway so it's not that helpful to check first before letting my EMS tell me there is a problem. (yes that is a run-on sentence but I just don't want to fix it. )
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 11:55 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradise115 View Post
Ems is worth the price for the piece of mind not to mention the technology. Mine will sometimes take up to 6 minutes to run through the safety checks but it's well worth it.
Ooo, that sounds excessively long. What kind do you have. Just curious.
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:15 PM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Regardless of whether you check voltage or not; the reason you should turn the main breaker off before connecting or disconnecting is to avoid burning the blades and socket of your cords and plugs.

EVERY time you "hot connect or disconnect" a small arc happens and it causes a burned spot at the arc. The more this happens the higher the resistance at the connection and the more heat at that blade. Soon enough it will be hot enough to ruin your cord.

Once everything is hooked up turn the pedestal breaker back on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7-1-12008.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	74401   Click image for larger version

Name:	airplug.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	74402   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF5741.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	74403  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.