Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2020, 07:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Modifying plugging into generator

2016 Coachmen Pursuit 27 kb
I assume Iím plugging into the generator when not on shore power, to power everything not 12V.
I want to add a auto generator start system but I also want it to work when shore power goes down, and Iím not around.
My guess higher end models donít ďplug into themselvesĒ.
Is that true, and whatís the solution?
Thank you for your time.
daetrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 07:50 PM   #2
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,142
I'm not sure i follow your question. What are you questioning that you would be plugging into for the generator? Isn't the onboard generator already wired directly to provide power by simply cranking it?

AutoStart is great. Some of ours have that built in and we rely on it. Do you have a Cummins ONAN generator? They make an AGS autostart controller for it.
__________________

The Turners...
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 compact diesel 100k+miles since '14... US, Alaska, Canada...
AND a '14 Gulfstream Amerlite
AND a '07 ForestRIver Rockwood : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 07:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
SlowrideHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 997
You will need a transfer switch. Most rv's that come pre-wired for a generator, have the transfer switch installed. One input to the transfer switch is shore power, the other input is from a generator or battery bank/inverter. Output of the switch feeds your main bus panel. You probably already know all that.

The other consideration is the auto start for the alternate to shore power. If it is a battery bank/inverter and you don't mind the overhead power drain from an "always on" inverter, that can be your standby power source

If it is a generator, you will have to install an auto start for the generator with a relay that senses shore power loss. I would not want an unattended generator to auto start in my rig, but that's just me.
__________________

2016 F350 CC Dually Powerstroke 4x4
2014 Cedar Creek 34RLSA w/Level Up
2007 HD Ultra Classic 103
SlowrideHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 07:59 PM   #4
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,142
you have a 4kw Onan gas Generator, and it's doubtful that you need to do anything other than simply crank it up to have 120v power - not too many coaches with onboard generators today use the 'old school' method of having to 'plug in' the shore cord to a special outlet just to have generator power - they come with Automatic Transfer Switches built in.
__________________

The Turners...
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 compact diesel 100k+miles since '14... US, Alaska, Canada...
AND a '14 Gulfstream Amerlite
AND a '07 ForestRIver Rockwood : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 08:02 PM   #5
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,142
also, when you crank the generator, it will take 20-30 seconds before you hear a 'bump', when the ATS switches over to it's power output. Generator's take a few seconds to get 'up to speed' for the 120v 60hz output that the ATS expects to see before it will then switch over to it.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 08:56 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Well yes; but doesn’t power anything if it’s not plugged into the 50amp outlet in the power cord storage bay.
daetrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:02 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Cheap as* gasser. It’s a 5500W gen with the 50 amp option.
It needs the auto transfer switch.
Is that a diy thing?
daetrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:04 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks I just want it to do all that by itself when I’m not there.
daetrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SlowrideHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by formerFR View Post
also, when you crank the generator, it will take 20-30 seconds before you hear a 'bump', when the ATS switches over to it's power output. Generator's take a few seconds to get 'up to speed' for the 120v 60hz output that the ATS expects to see before it will then switch over to it.
There is generally a timer board inside the auto transfer switch housing than can be selected for the 20-30 second delay, or bypassed to provide instant transfer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WIN_20190728_22_21_01_Pro (3).jpg
Views:	32
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	223932  
__________________

2016 F350 CC Dually Powerstroke 4x4
2014 Cedar Creek 34RLSA w/Level Up
2007 HD Ultra Classic 103
SlowrideHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
SlowrideHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by daetrip View Post
Cheap as* gasser. Itís a 5500W gen with the 50 amp option.
It needs the auto transfer switch.
Is that a diy thing?
It's like most things, I suppose. It isn't a difficult job but you do have to have an understanding of how it operates and basic electrical knowledge. Here is a picture of my ATS schematic and another showing the wiring. The small cord attached to terminal #4,5 and 6 was just a temporary extension cord that I had hooked up for troubleshooting an issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WIN_20190728_22_21_01_Pro (2).jpg
Views:	35
Size:	275.6 KB
ID:	223933   Click image for larger version

Name:	WIN_20190713_17_21_04_Pro (2).jpg
Views:	28
Size:	290.7 KB
ID:	223934  
__________________

2016 F350 CC Dually Powerstroke 4x4
2014 Cedar Creek 34RLSA w/Level Up
2007 HD Ultra Classic 103
SlowrideHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 12:12 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks where to I find such a thing?
Guess there is good better best out there
PS I’m unlikely to touch it
daetrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 01:23 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 11
Generator terminals

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowrideHD View Post
It's like most things, I suppose. It isn't a difficult job but you do have to have an understanding of how it operates and basic electrical knowledge. Here is a picture of my ATS schematic and another showing the wiring. The small cord attached to terminal #4,5 and 6 was just a temporary extension cord that I had hooked up for troubleshooting an issue.
the# 4,5 and 6 is where generator output hooks up
bobcre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2020, 12:02 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
SlowrideHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobcre View Post
the# 4,5 and 6 is where generator output hooks up
No kidding. I guess that explains why the schematic says "Generator" right under the 6,5,4.
__________________

2016 F350 CC Dually Powerstroke 4x4
2014 Cedar Creek 34RLSA w/Level Up
2007 HD Ultra Classic 103
SlowrideHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2020, 10:49 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 11
was not being a smart alec by pointing it out just letting anyone that did not see that, but you sure are being a smart alec about it and you are a senior member and should know better
bobcre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.