Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
dnaboston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Mower ate my power cord!

I have a 2010 coachmen freedom express 291qbs and my mower ate the power cord. Is this something the everyday guy can replace or do I need 'more than basic' skills to replace this? Also, I would like to put a longer cord in, could I use a 50' cord as a replacement?

Thanks! Dave
dnaboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:01 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnaboston View Post
I have a 2010 coachmen freedom express 291qbs and my mower ate the power cord. Is this something the everyday guy can replace or do I need 'more than basic' skills to replace this? Also, I would like to put a longer cord in, could I use a 50' cord as a replacement?

Thanks! Dave
Not being familiar with your particular RV, is the cord the detachable type? Is it also a 30 amp or 50 amp.

If you are just going to replace the cord, it is pretty straightforward, especially if the detachable type. Something like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Conntek-14354-.../dp/B00269815E

If you do decide to get a longer cord, you just want to make the sure the wire gauge is of the proper size for the length and amps you will pull.

Was you going to replace or try to repair the cord?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,164
Don't know what unit you have but most are pretty easy to replace. May have to slide out converter to get to wire connections. I'm not an electrician, but I think I would stay with the shorter cord and use an extension when necessary. Power is terrible at a lot of CG and having extra length will decrease your available power at the end of the run. Only add length when you have to, plus it will be hard to shove that much cord in the hole.
bob213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 313
"more than basic skills" is a relative term one persons basic to another could be a mile apart. They really are not difficult, just follow the cord into the power center inside and pull the cover off and note what color wire goes where before unhooking everything.
You can find replacement cords all over the place on the net or from your local rv dealer. I would not waste the money on a 50 amp cord when your camper is 30 amp. Sure it could be done but there would be NO benefit from it. In fact there would be draw backs. More expensive cord, have to buy a 50->30 amp adapter to use the cord and probably have to make larger holes in the power center box to fit the new cord, all to gain zip.

To get a longer cord you would probably have to get the next bigger gauge wire.
Acableguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:28 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
dnaboston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Its a 30A and I am looking to replace. I don't believe it is a quick disconnect. It is of the type that you pull out of the side of the trailer and feed back in. I assumed that it was hard wired, 3 wires but wanted to make sure there wasn't any 'hidden' issues that I needed to be aware of. My over plan was to disconnect, tie a rope to the end, pull it out, tie the rope to the new cord and pull it back in and hook it up.

Also, all the replacement power cords I have found have the quick connect end on it. Is there a special cord to use when it is hardwired or do I just cut the end off?
dnaboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:36 PM   #6
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 9,549
Walmart has this--
Road Power 30 Amp Extension Cord - Walmart.com

It's a 30 foot 30Amp RV extension cord.
Buy 2. Cut the end off one and install it in your trailer.
Use the 2nd if you need more reach.

You'll have your 50' and it's $20 cheaper than the 50 footer from Amazon.
And you don't have to fool with so much cord unless you need it.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41, 2021-42
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acableguy06 View Post
I would not waste the money on a 50 amp cord when your camper is 30 amp. wire.
I misread your post, I for some reason read it as you asking about using a 50 amp cord. My apologies.

KYDAN has a very good solution posted for replacement cords, that is what I would do.
Acableguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Splendora, Texas
Posts: 1,314
Bob213 correctly points out about useing only the length that is required. It is much better to have two that plug in to each other for more length ONLY when you need it. Good Luck
whj77372 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:41 AM   #9
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,166
My rig has a generator, so the shore power cord is hard-wired inside the transfer relay box. Since I'm such a twit, I had to replace the power cord twice and the transfer relay box once in the first month we had the RV.

The first time, I lowered the jacks and the left rear jack foot chopped through the cord. A week or two later, I started to back off the driveway with shore power still hooked up. The left side rear wheels ripped the power cord out of the transfer relay box, bringing part of the relay's innards with it and burning up part of the box.

I now have a big placard on a Velcro dot on the instrument panel with "WARNING - Shore Power Cord Connected" on it. It's part of my post-docking checklist to stick it on there once I've hooked up.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:52 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
dnaboston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
One down, one to go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Walmart has this--
Road Power 30 Amp Extension Cord - Walmart.com

It's a 30 foot 30Amp RV extension cord.
Buy 2. Cut the end off one and install it in your trailer.
Use the 2nd if you need more reach.

You'll have your 50' and it's $20 cheaper than the 50 footer from Amazon.
And you don't have to fool with so much cord unless you need it.
Cord replaced. Easy peasy!!!

Ordered a replacement jack for the electric POS that came on it. It will be here tomorrow. I ordered the husky 5000lb with remote. I am hoping it will be as easy as hooking the trailer to the truck, removing the wire, 3 bolts and put the new one on and hook it up!
dnaboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnaboston View Post
Cord replaced. Easy peasy!!!

Ordered a replacement jack for the electric POS that came on it. It will be here tomorrow. I ordered the husky 5000lb with remote. I am hoping it will be as easy as hooking the trailer to the truck, removing the wire, 3 bolts and put the new one on and hook it up!
What length of cord did you put back on? It should have been close to the length that the unit had before. If you need more 'length' because you could not get closer to the 'post', buy a 25 foot, 30 amp male and female cord, made for that purpose. Be aware, that if you added the full 50 foot to the unit that you will have a power drop because of the length. The cord may 'heat up' and your AC may not even come on and fuses and breaker could pop or the cord could 'melt down' because of the requested use that it can not provide. Use the 25 foot 'extension cord' as the exception and not as 'the rule' . Safety first and always.
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:54 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
dnaboston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
30' which might be 5 foot longer. I think the OEM is 25'.

Appreciate everyone's comments!!
__________________
----
Dave
2010 Freedom Express 29QBS with Outside Kitchen
2007 Chevy 2500 HD Ext Cab 8' Box
Wife, 4 Kids, 6 dogs
dnaboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.