Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2021, 11:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
Need help! (miswired outlet)

So I brought my camper home to open it up for our first trip of the season next weekend, I just had an electrician add a 30 amp plug to my service at home to make it easier to get the camper ready for our trip rather than plugging into a 110 outlet but as I plugged my camper in I heard a pop at the camper and now I have no power! The main breaker in the camper was not tripped nor was the breaker in the panel for the house. Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions on where to start?
Martman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 11:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6,292
You better check the voltage at your new outlet. Chances are, it is wired for 220. Hopefully not, though.

Bruce
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 195
My guess is that it was wired wrong. It was probably wired up as a 30a appliance instead of for 30a RV power. I don't remember where I got this from but it may help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210515_115840.jpg
Views:	340
Size:	330.2 KB
ID:	254597  
__________________
2021 Wildwood FSX 190RT Toyhauler
2016 Chevrolet Silverado LT 1500 Crew Cab 5.3l 6L80 3.42 4x4
mikeyk101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:22 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
I plugger it into 110 and put my tester on it and have power all the way to my main panel in the camper. All the outlets are working, microwave is on powered theater seats on but thatís it. I did disconnect the battery so I didnít get the illusion that something was hot but just running off the battery.
Martman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:27 PM   #5
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 3,447
If your power cord fit into the receptacle that the electrician installed then it's assumed that he installed the correct NEMA 30TT receptacle. I'd be willing to bet that the electrician didn't follow the correct installation instructions and miss-wired it as a 220V. The NEMA 30TT receptacle is clearly marked "125 VAC - 30A MAX". If you post a picture of the breaker that the receptacle is wired to, we can tell for sure.
__________________
'07 K3500 Silverado LT Crew Duramax (LBZ)
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:30 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,073
That outlet was most likely wired incorrectly and you have 220 there and not 110.

Putting 220 across your panel will kill anything that was turned on when you applied power. That means your converter for sure and maybe your TV and/or air conditioner.

Your converter will almost always be killed unless you were very lucky.

Hope your electrician is insured.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20-30_Amp_120V_metered.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	254604   Click image for larger version

Name:	user18093_pic2669_1317263350.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	254605   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130915_222112.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	254606   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130915_222135.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	254607   Click image for larger version

Name:	user18093_pic2670_1317263350.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	254608  

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:30 PM   #7
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,233
Your electrician may have incorrectly wired your new 30 amp outlet for 240 volts. This happens a lot (we have many many threads on this) and when it does, that pop you heard was your converter.



Do not reconnect to that 30 amp outlet until some things are confirmed.


Please read this thread below, and how to check to see if it is wired incorrectly for 240 volts....as per post #3 in that thread


https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...let-27223.html


EDIT: It appears Herk and I were posting at the same time. LOL
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

The best thing about the internet is that you can claim credit for things you had no part in. Itís one of the reasons I invented it
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:33 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
Click image for larger version

Name:	1A3AE2A8-EA2A-443A-A67D-6C6051AB163C.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	229.6 KB
ID:	254609
Click image for larger version

Name:	781BAA27-6803-445B-8B79-4EED4695DB48.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	319.7 KB
ID:	254610
Martman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:34 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,233
Yep, it's wired for 240 volts. That's a double pole breaker. Get your electrician back out, as he's done damage now. Tell him to read the face of the NEMA TT-30 Receptacle he put in. It's in print that it's 125 volts only. Bad stuff


You will need a new converter. The microwave, televisions, electric fireplaces, fridge control boards could need replacing, but they are hit and miss. They may or may not be damaged.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

The best thing about the internet is that you can claim credit for things you had no part in. Itís one of the reasons I invented it
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:36 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,073
The correct way of stating house voltages are 240 and 120.

220 and 110 are also in common use among folks who are NOT electricians (like me).

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:37 PM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martman View Post
My deepest condolences.
We see that far too often here.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:39 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
So do I need a new converter? I’m at a loss of what to do or where to begin with repairing the camper.
Martman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:48 PM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martman View Post
So do I need a new converter? I’m at a loss of what to do or where to begin with repairing the camper.
Well the first step is contacting the electrician and have him come over and repair the wiring. He also needs to take responsibility for the damage to your camper. Get it in writing that he will take responsibility.

Then take it to a dealer and get a quote for the camper repair. Make sure they check out ALL 120 volt items (converter, TV(s), air conditioner, and microwave).

Once you know the estimated repair costs, then file with your electrician's insurance.

Once you get the check, then come back here to see if a DIY repair is possible with your skill level; if not, let the dealer fix it.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 12:49 PM   #14
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martman View Post
So do I need a new converter? I’m at a loss of what to do or where to begin with repairing the camper.

I've been involved forum wise, with many members who have had this happen. The converter always gave up the ghost when this happened, so you will definitely need a new one there. That was the pop you heard most likely. As I stated earlier, the other 120 volt things may or may not be damaged.


If you paid an electrician to do this, they are liable for this. You do want to contact them and explain what they did, and see what they want to do.


DO NOT reconnect to this outlet until it is correctly wired and connected to a single pole 30 amp circuit breaker. As I also stated previously, the outlet itself has 125 volts stamped on it. A professional should catch this, but sadly, some don't...and do damage. You can also print out that pdf file in the previous link I posted to. It explains how to properly wire a NEMA TT-30R.


Your outlet. Notice the 125 volts molded on it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2021-05-15 1A3AE2A8-EA2A-443A-A67D-6C6051AB163C jpg (JPEG Image, 1200 ◊ 900 pixels).png
Views:	75
Size:	340.2 KB
ID:	254614  
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

The best thing about the internet is that you can claim credit for things you had no part in. Itís one of the reasons I invented it
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:11 PM   #15
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 3,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martman View Post
So do I need a new converter? Iím at a loss of what to do or where to begin with repairing the camper.
Get your electrician back out there and point out what's circled on this pic. Have him wire it correctly and while he's there do a check on the electrical items in you rig. He should have insurance to cover his "malpractice".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nema30TT-R.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	106.5 KB
ID:	254615  
__________________
'07 K3500 Silverado LT Crew Duramax (LBZ)
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:14 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
Here is the problem. The electrician was a friend of a friend that did the work under the table cash job! I’ll have him fix the wiring but not sure about repairs to the camper. Im a very mechanically inclined person so I can handle repairs on my own and I already have the camper panel box and converter out and the converter appears to look good not like the photos above at all. Also when I plugged my battery in everything in the camper worked with the exception of the fireplace. That being said in your opinions should I replace the converter? Not sure how to test it to see if good or not. It does plug into the back of the camper panel do you think I could plug it into an extension cord to see if it functions or not. Just don’t want to do any more damage than what’s already done!
Martman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:15 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
Click image for larger version

Name:	339291EE-BE77-4DA7-B612-2E0889433631.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	496.9 KB
ID:	254616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martman View Post
Here is the problem. The electrician was a friend of a friend that did the work under the table cash job! Iíll have him fix the wiring but not sure about repairs to the camper. Im a very mechanically inclined person so I can handle repairs on my own and I already have the camper panel box and converter out and the converter appears to look good not like the photos above at all. Also when I plugged my battery in everything in the camper worked with the exception of the fireplace. That being said in your opinions should I replace the converter? Not sure how to test it to see if good or not. It does plug into the back of the camper panel do you think I could plug it into an extension cord to see if it functions or not. Just donít want to do any more damage than whatís already done!
Martman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:25 PM   #18
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,073
Can you work with a Volt/Ohm Meter?

With power on the camper (from the 120 outlet not the new one), measure the voltage on the red and white wires that are together. If the output is 13 volts or more you dodged an expensive bullet. If nothing or less than 13 volts it is bad.

Turn off everything that is 120 volts and try your air conditioner; see if the compressor comes on and blows cold air. If it does you are golden; if not you need an air conditioner.

Turn on your TVs and make sure they boot up and play. Check your HDMI inputs for damage my plugging in an HDMI source like a disc player and see if the TV will recognize it and play a disc.

Turn on the microwave and heat up a cup of water. See if it gets hot. If not your magnetron is shot.

Turn on the fireplace and see if it heats up. Try and select different heat settings.

If everything works I will be shocked, but that would be awesome news for you.

At least you will know where you stand.

Good luck.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:27 PM   #19
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martman View Post
Here is the problem. The electrician was a friend of a friend that did the work under the table cash job! Iíll have him fix the wiring but not sure about repairs to the camper. Im a very mechanically inclined person so I can handle repairs on my own and I already have the camper panel box and converter out and the converter appears to look good not like the photos above at all. Also when I plugged my battery in everything in the camper worked with the exception of the fireplace. That being said in your opinions should I replace the converter? Not sure how to test it to see if good or not. It does plug into the back of the camper panel do you think I could plug it into an extension cord to see if it functions or not. Just donít want to do any more damage than whatís already done!

Well, that's a bummer.....so it sounds like it's coming out of your pocket then.


As I stated, I have been involved with many members who have had this happen. I don't recall any of them getting by without replacing the converter.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

The best thing about the internet is that you can claim credit for things you had no part in. Itís one of the reasons I invented it
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:31 PM   #20
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Can you work with a Volt/Ohm Meter?

With power on the camper (from the 120 outlet not the new one), measure the voltage on the red and white wires that are together. If the output is 13 volts or more you dodged an expensive bullet. If nothing or less than 13 volts it is bad.

Turn off everything that is 120 volts and try your air conditioner; see if the compressor comes on and blows cold air. If it does you are golden; if not you need an air conditioner.

Turn on your TVs and make sure they boot up and play. Check your HDMI inputs for damage my plugging in an HDMI source like a disc player and see if the TV will recognize it and play a disc.

Turn on the microwave and heat up a cup of water. See if it gets hot. If not your magnetron is shot.

Turn on the fireplace and see if it heats up. Try and select different heat settings.

If everything works I will be shocked, but that would be awesome news for you.

At least you will know where you stand.

Good luck.

I'm going to add a caveat to Lou's advice above. If you are just now currently plugged into a regular 120 volt outlet at your house, as I am thinking you said you were...then it's most likely only 15 amps. I probably would not try to test the air conditioner on a 15 amp outlet (you will notice that the air conditioner's circuit breaker inside your RV's electrical panel is probably 20 amps in itself)...and only test one thing at a time or you will definitely overload a 15 amp circuit.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

The best thing about the internet is that you can claim credit for things you had no part in. Itís one of the reasons I invented it
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.