Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2015, 08:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
New rv tripping breaker at poles

Recently purchased a 2016 Cherokee and just love it. However on each camping trip we have taken we have tripped the breaker at the pole. It has happened at different campgrounds, different areas. Typically we would arrive mid afternoon, and by evening while having only a/c on and sometimes a tv the power would trip. We reset breaker at the pole and the rest of the trip is just fine, doing nothing different! We have a surge protector that shows power being used and with everything off but 15btu a/c used 15 amps. Hubby is considering purchasing a 30 to 50 adaptor (rv is 30 amp) but I really would like to know if something is wrong. Had it at dealer for a part replacement, nothing to do with this, but asked them to check. We were told they plugged in and it didn't trip. If they turn in a work order and look further they will charge us if they don't find anything wrong. Thing is, we could tell our cord was quite obviously not used and the guy told us he used our cord to check it. Not sure what to do at this point. Want to be safe!
Kmmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 08:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,212
You have other things running such as your converter maybe water heater operating on electric. Having a 15K A\C unit its takes extra amps. It may trip breaker from time to time. It is about managing your power usage. Purchasing an adapter will not help you will still have only 30 amps but it could be handy if post has a bad 30 amp receptical.
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 08:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Where the stars at night are big and bright
Posts: 839
That sounds like old breakers at the campgrounds you frequent. Those things are out in the weather all year-round and dust, etc, builds up until the breaker won't hold anymore. They need to clean them out or replace them. It isn't your unit, but going to the 50-amp plug through a 30-50 adapter might help.
elchilero53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 08:47 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
The campgrounds vary from NW Florida to east Georgia. What stumps us is that once we reset that first time we are good for the rest of the trip, not tripping again! Only once did we trip multiple times and the campground mgr replaced the breaker and we were fine after that. With our smaller 2006 rv (outback) we didn't run into these problems. Was also wondering if it could be our cord? Everything is so new though. We definitely will watch our power usage but this last time we only had a/c, TV and refrigerator going. Water heater was on gas.
Kmmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 08:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 4,601
nothing in the cord should trip the breaker, short of it NOT working at all... I would not worry about the cord at all.

I use a product called Deoxit D5 5% sold on Amazon to clean the outlets at the campgrounds. Cost about $15, but works real well on keeping the current flowing with fewer problems with those outdoor power poles. Just a short squirt into the outlet(s) make them like new as far as getting the best and cleanest connection you can get. A can should last a number of years.

I also use it on my TT connections to the TV... cleans and protects them, so it is useful for a couple of travel items.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"nothing can now be believed which is seen in a newspaper. Truth itself becomes suspicious by being put into that polluted vehicle."
Thomas Jefferson to John Norvell pg. 2, June 11, 1807

2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4 TST TPMS
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
doodler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 202
I had a similar situation happen at two different campgrounds, then I found my problem when breaking down camp, where my cord plugs into side of camper had a bad connection, it melted together and I liked to never got it unplugged. Not saying that's your problem, but something to check. This was all within first couple of times out with a new unit.
doodler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 10:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by elchilero53 View Post
That sounds like old breakers at the campgrounds you frequent. Those things are out in the weather all year-round and dust, etc, builds up until the breaker won't hold anymore. They need to clean them out or replace them. It isn't your unit, but going to the 50-amp plug through a 30-50 adapter might help.
You wouldn't believe what the breakers and panels look like on farms here in SD. If this was true we wouldn't be able to keep up with the service calls for bin fans and unload augers. The pedestals in the campgrounds around here look fantastic compared to the junk I see on farms that still works fine.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 10:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 440
IF you have a chance and are inclined, use a clamp meter to check your amp draw while doing routine things. Generally, the most common reason for a breaker to trip is because of an overload. Go figure.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:31 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
We do have that surge protector which show amps used. Pretty handy. So far everything looks good. I did wonder if the bigger a/c would make a difference. Cord checks out fine. Will get some of that Deoxit, that's sounds like a great idea either way. Will spend time this weekend checking things out. Thanks for the advice!
Kmmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:39 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhduh camping View Post
You have other things running such as your converter maybe water heater operating on electric. Having a 15K A\C unit its takes extra amps. It may trip breaker from time to time. It is about managing your power usage. Purchasing an adapter will not help you will still have only 30 amps but it could be handy if post has a bad 30 amp receptical.
You'll still only have 30 amps but you may have more volts!



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:08 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
You'll still only have 30 amps but you may have more volts!



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
Yes Turbs you're right, thought about that after posting. Along with the fact that if you are low on voltage to begin with (busy campgrounds) you will use more amps.
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:09 AM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhduh camping View Post
Yes Turbs you're right, thought about that after posting. Along with the fact that if you are low on voltage to begin with (busy campgrounds) you will use more amps.
Indeed!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 04:50 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 15
Why do you only have 30 amps if you are plugged into a 50 receptacle?
harpplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,632
Still, be sure inverter if any is off. Water heater is on gas only as opposed to gas and electric. Be sure with ac on, you take frig off AUTO and on to gas only.. Then there is always GO LED but suspect if coach is new, it is likely already led. Clean connections and go for it. I am told that there are Two Grades of breakers. Some just breakers while some are designed to double as on/off switches. Parks ought to use the heavier duty cycle breaker/switches, but wind up using the cheaper breakers. I'm sayin---- just what I've been told.
Tom48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:07 PM   #15
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by harpplayer View Post
Why do you only have 30 amps if you are plugged into a 50 receptacle?
You only use 1 leg of the 50 amp when you use a 50-30 adaptor.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:08 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by harpplayer View Post
Why do you only have 30 amps if you are plugged into a 50 receptacle?
You might have 50 but your onboard panel is only breakered and wired for 30. So 30 is your limit. Just might not blow the 50 amp pole breaker. The load will shift to YOUR breaker box.
Tom48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:21 PM   #17
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
You only use 1 leg of the 50 amp when you use a 50-30 adaptor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom48 View Post
You might have 50 but your onboard panel is only breakered and wired for 30. So 30 is your limit. Just might not blow the 50 amp pole breaker. The load will shift to YOUR breaker box.
Using one leg of a 50 amp outlet, still can allow up to 50 amps from the campground outlet, thru your power cord, to your electrical distribution panel inside the RV.

From the distribution panel forward, all of your circuits are "hopefully" protected by the RV's main 30 amp breaker.

As Tom said, if you overload the RV's circuit(s), then you hope the RV main 30 amp will trip.......since from that point back to campground pedestal will be 50 amp capable and will not trip the campground pedestal when you go over 30 amps and under 50 amps.

Your RV cord is going to be the weak link here. It's rated for 30 amps still. Normally it would be protected by the campground pedestal 30 amp breaker, but since you are now plugged into a 50 amp outlet, then it could conceivably burn up if pulling over 30 amps for very long thru it.

However, for that to happen, you would also have to be pulling over 30 amps thru your RV's distribution panel also, and it's main 30 amp breaker should trip. It could go bad or not trip fast enough, but this is doubtful....but could happen.

If you limit yourself to what you usually use in a 30 amp scenario, then you shouldn't really be pulling more than 30 amps thru the cord, even when hooked to a 50 amp capable outlet.

Instead of having two 30 amp circuit breakers (one inside for the RV, and the other outside for the cord and/or RV) to protect it all, you are just going to be relying totally on the one 30 amp main breaker inside your RV's electrical distribution panel. Bad things could happen, but don't know if I have heard of it actually occurring.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:27 PM   #18
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,646
You need to monitor the current draw when the AC starts, especially a compressor restart while running. The restart of the compressor it the most demanding.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 05:53 PM   #19
jammer 16
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Joplin, Mo
Posts: 101
We had a similar problem and it was the electric element in the hot water heater. Fixing it cost 30 finding it. Cost 200
rlschurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:05 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlschurman View Post
We had a similar problem and it was the electric element in the hot water heater. Fixing it cost 30 finding it. Cost 200
Before you pay the dealer, always come to the forum. Half a dozen pointers and three or four of them are going to be correct and try to save you that $200
Tom48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.