Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2019, 02:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
No AC Power

Newbies here. Love camping. This year got everything ready to go. Air conditioner and outlets have no power. Lights, radio and anything on DC power working. Thought at first it was just they Air conditioner. Replaced capacitor. No AC power at all. Help.
__________________

toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 02:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,804
are you plugged into shore power?
__________________

Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:05 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
It was plugged in to my house.
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:07 PM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,821
Did you check all the breakers in the house and the RV?
How are you plugged into the house? What adapter are you using?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,804
welcome to the forum. this thread is going to go 100 different ways quick. depending on how you are plugged in at home I would not be trying to run the a/c or there may not be enough juice to get it going.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:15 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
I am using the power cord and adapter that ca me with the camper
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:17 PM   #7
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 22,038
Did you plug the cord into a GFI outlet? If so, it may have tripped.
It would also help if you put your RV information in your profile.
We have no idea what type of RV that you have, nor brand or model.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DieselDrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddperry491 View Post
I am using the power cord and adapter that ca me with the camper


You still haven’t answered how it’s plugged into the house. Are you using a 30A -> 15A adapter to plug into a standard household outlet? If so and you ran the A/C you either tripped the breaker in the house breaker panel or you tripped a GFCI outlet that’s on the same circuit.

First step is to test/check the outlet on the house. Getting power there or not? If not then it’s a problem on the house side. If you have power there then the issue is on the RV side, could be a bad adapter or something upstream. You have to follow the path the power flows and figure out where it’s stopping to know where the issue is.
__________________
2017 GMC Canyon - CCLB, 4x4, 2.8L Duramax, ARE Z-series shell
2013 Shamrock 21SS
DieselDrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddperry491 View Post
Newbies here. Love camping. This year got everything ready to go. Air conditioner and outlets have no power. Lights, radio and anything on DC power working. Thought at first it was just they Air conditioner. Replaced capacitor. No AC power at all. Help.
Just as above you need to check:
Outlet you are plugging into is it GIF or switched
House breaker
RV breaker
The cord
the Adapter
the Converter on the RV
__________________
2007 Cady SRX
2014 Rockwood A122 A-frame
Black-ripley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 03:54 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
The house breaker is ok the gfci in the camper doesn't work and when I check power out of any of the breakers I get nothing
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 158
Correct me if I’m wrong, but I was under the impression that if you adapt a 30 amp “shore power” outlet down to 115 volts, the only things in the RV that work is anything OTHER than the AC... the AC draws too much amperage.
pkmkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:02 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
It was working a couple weeks ago when I was checking everything
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:05 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkmkaz View Post
Correct me if I’m wrong, but I was under the impression that if you adapt a 30 amp “shore power” outlet down to 115 volts, the only things in the RV that work is anything OTHER than the AC... the AC draws too much amperage.

That is correct and wrong all at the same time. when you are running off your home necked down you only have 15 amp or 20 amps depending on the circuit you are plugged in to. everything should work but not all at the same time. allot of folks will run on a 20 amp circuit. I prefer not to.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:07 PM   #14
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddperry491 View Post
The house breaker is ok the gfci in the camper doesn't work and when I check power out of any of the breakers I get nothing
Plug something else into your house outlet that the RV is currently plugged into(after removing the RV cord), and make sure that outlet has power. Just grab a hair dryer if nothing else handy.

If you have power at the house outlet, then we can move forward towards the RV.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:08 PM   #15
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,352
You have to start with the basics...

Do you own a multimeter and know how to use it?
If so...

Do you have power in the house outlet you are plugged in to?

Do you have power at your adapter? (before plugging your shore power cord into it)

Do you have power at the end of the cord that plugs into the side of your R/V?

Do you have power at your breaker/power distribution box in the R/V?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=88
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:08 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
Ok so maybe I damaged the camper cord?
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:09 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
DieselDrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddperry491 View Post
The house breaker is ok the gfci in the camper doesn't work and when I check power out of any of the breakers I get nothing

Not talking about GFCI in the trailer. You need to check for a GFCI outlet on the house side that’s on the same circuit that you’re plugged into. Just because the house breaker is OK doesn’t mean you didn’t trip a GFCI outlet on the same house circuit. You need to verify if the house outlet you’re plugging into has power or not, as I mentioned above. If you don’t hav power at the outlet then you won’t have power in the RV. Check methodically from the house breaker to the house outlet the RV is plugging into if you have no power at the outlet. No use checking random points in various systems, follow the path.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkmkaz View Post
Correct me if I’m wrong, but I was under the impression that if you adapt a 30 amp “shore power” outlet down to 115 volts, the only things in the RV that work is anything OTHER than the AC... the AC draws too much amperage.

Regardless of the amperage the voltage is still 120v. The RV has no idea what amperage it has available, so trying to run the A/C on a 15A outlet will typically trip the breaker or GFCI outlet on the house side due overload. The A/C uses 120v. Amperage doesn’t tell you what the voltage is so the comment about adapting 30A to 115v makes no sense. The 30A RV outlets are all 120v.
__________________
2017 GMC Canyon - CCLB, 4x4, 2.8L Duramax, ARE Z-series shell
2013 Shamrock 21SS
DieselDrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:09 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
Yes I have 120v on the outlet
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:12 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
All have power except the power dis yt? Ibution box in the camper
toddperry491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:12 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
DieselDrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddperry491 View Post
Yes I have 120v on the outlet


And do you have 120v coming out of the adapter that the RV plugs into? Are you using one of those black hockey puck looking adapters or a dogbone adapter? Regardless, check for voltage coming out of the adapter.
__________________

__________________
2017 GMC Canyon - CCLB, 4x4, 2.8L Duramax, ARE Z-series shell
2013 Shamrock 21SS
DieselDrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


×