Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2022, 07:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
No power to outlets

I have a Clipper 17bhs. Everything works fine, but my outlets. Inside and out. All fuses seem to be good and no breakers tripped. Any ideas?
BayouMetoNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 07:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouMetoNate View Post
I have a Clipper 17bhs. Everything works fine, but my outlets. Inside and out. All fuses seem to be good and no breakers tripped. Any ideas?
Check your GFCI in your bathroom or kitchen
MR.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 07:24 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
It’s the same deal. Took the cover/faceplate off and didn’t see anything odd. Its reset and all. Makes me think it’s something simple I’m overlooking
BayouMetoNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 07:26 PM   #4
Retired Army MSG!
 
lazyjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sharon, SC
Posts: 421
Is your AC running? Other 120V appliances going?
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 07:34 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
A/c is not running either.
BayouMetoNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 07:35 PM   #6
Retired Army MSG!
 
lazyjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sharon, SC
Posts: 421
If at a campground, check your power pedestal where your shore power cord is plugged in. The breaker may be off at the pedestal. If plugged in at home, check breaker on the circuit that your unit is plugged into.
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 08:25 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
What do you mean by pedestal?
BayouMetoNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 08:28 PM   #8
Retired Army MSG!
 
lazyjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sharon, SC
Posts: 421
Is your trailer plugged into a power outlet? Campgrounds have a power pedestal that you plug your electrical shore cord from your trailer into.
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 08:33 PM   #9
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 28,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouMetoNate View Post
What do you mean by pedestal?
First question: is the trailer plugged into shore power? If not, the outlets nor the a/c won't work.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 09:29 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Plugged into the house.
BayouMetoNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 09:46 PM   #11
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 28,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouMetoNate View Post
Plugged into the house.
What kind of outlet is it plugged into? If a 120v outlet, are you using a dogbone adapter or a puck adapter?

Sent from my SM-G781U using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 10:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 5,759
Please tell us you haven't plugged into a regular 30 amp household outlet. If so, disconnect immediately and come back for advice.
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 01:25 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3,116
Check that the outlet that you are plugged into actually has power. If you are plugged into a GFCI circuit, the GFCI for the circuit the trailer is plugged into may have tripped.
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 06:58 AM   #14
Georgia Rally Coordinator
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 21,021
If your plugged in check your panel in the camper and press the battery level button. It should show all red indicating fully charged if not then you may have a converter that went belly up. Later RJD
__________________
2020 Shasta Phoenix SPF 27RKSS
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing. Traded 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-74 2022-18 days
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 12:18 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 171
If you have good shore power (my microwave display lets me know I have power), then I would lean to GFCI issue. Will the TEST and RESET buttons work on the outlet. If the buttons don't work, its probably missing AC and will be a break between the outlet and circuit breaker panel (assuming the breaker is not tripped. I'm thinking that all of the outlets are controlled by the GFCI.
__________________
2019 Palomino Solaire 147X
2013 Ford F150
TacomaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 12:45 PM   #16
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 18,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by TacomaJoe View Post
If you have good shore power (my microwave display lets me know I have power), then I would lean to GFCI issue. Will the TEST and RESET buttons work on the outlet. If the buttons don't work, its probably missing AC and will be a break between the outlet and circuit breaker panel (assuming the breaker is not tripped. I'm thinking that all of the outlets are controlled by the GFCI.
So you think the OP’s air conditioner is on a GFCI circuit and all outlets are on a GCFI circuit. I doubt it. I hope not. We don’t know if the microwave works. We were told everything works except the outlets but, oh yeah, the air conditioner also doesn’t work. Microwave? No definitive word yet.
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115/'22 = 68; Booked for 2022 = 41
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 02:09 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
So you think the OP’s air conditioner is on a GFCI circuit and all outlets are on a GCFI circuit. I doubt it. I hope not. We don’t know if the microwave works. We were told everything works except the outlets but, oh yeah, the air conditioner also doesn’t work. Microwave? No definitive word yet.
I don't think the air conditioner is on a GFCI circuit. My AC comment, referred to 120VAC no the air conditioner. I use "AC" for power, and "A/C" for air conditioner. In OP's case, I think everything is good except for the outlet circuit.
__________________
2019 Palomino Solaire 147X
2013 Ford F150
TacomaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 02:17 PM   #18
Georgia Rally Coordinator
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 21,021
Need an up date from OP. Later RJD
__________________
2020 Shasta Phoenix SPF 27RKSS
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing. Traded 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-74 2022-18 days
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 02:34 PM   #19
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 18,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by TacomaJoe View Post
I don't think the air conditioner is on a GFCI circuit. My AC comment, referred to 120VAC no the air conditioner. I use "AC" for power, and "A/C" for air conditioner. In OP's case, I think everything is good except for the outlet circuit.
So when the OP says in post #5 "A/c is not running either", do you think the OP means his air conditioner is not running (all is not good except for the outlet circuit) or his entire 120vAC system is not running (all is not good except for the outlet circuit)?
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115/'22 = 68; Booked for 2022 = 41
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 02:51 PM   #20
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 6,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouMetoNate View Post
Plugged into the house.
What type of outlet from the house are you using?
Is it brand new?
Does anything work in that outlet before you connect your Clipper?
Do you have a digital meter to confirm the power reading?

Agreed. We need an update from the original poster (OP).
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD carried by a 2017 Ford E450
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
no power, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.