Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-03-2022, 02:14 PM   #1

Non gcfi outlets stopped working

Hello everyone,
New to the forum. I recently bought a 2019 Georgetown gt5.. it's a class A.. Many of my outlets suddenly quit working.. after investigating I realized it was only my NON gcfi outlets that stopped working. To reiterate, all of my gcfi outlets currently work.. There are no tripped breakers and I am at a loss as to where to start looking. I know most outlets in a home are "daisy chained" or "piggy backed" which could mean if one outlet hasa loose connection it could be affecting the others in that chain. I'm an industrial electrician by trade so this type of work is in my wheel house, however I'm not a residential electrician so some residential practices are a bit foreign.. with all of that said, how can I find an electrical drawing of my vehicle? Or has anyone experienced this same issue and could pass along some advice? Any help would be greatly appreciated..
RossNSheena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 03:01 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum.

I don't think electrical diagrams of your rig exist, but you could check with Georgetown. Usually these things are daisy chained and one GFI takes out several outlets. Are your lights that operate on the battery working? I'm assuming you've checked the fuses.
Old 07-03-2022, 03:12 PM   #3
Site Team

Do you remember what items were operating when the problem occurred. Most RV outlets use an insulation piercing connection as opposed to screw terminals used in homes. These are quick and easy to install, however if the downstream load is abnormally high, it is easy to burn a connection and create an open.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	110vac-receptacle.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	275899  

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors