RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2013, 09:55 AM   #21
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
This happened to us - minus the actual plugging in of the RV. We had a licensed electrician doing the work. Look at my profile for a link to the question - we posted pictures
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:56 AM   #22
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
here it is

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ion-33805.html
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:09 AM   #23
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by corgan View Post
When checking 110 receptacle with a volt meter what should it read. I know the 220 read 110 from hot to ground and 110 from negative(white) to ground
Corgan, click the link below and then click on the outlet testing tab on the lefhand side.

Now, near the top of the page they have diagrams of a 220 volt 50 amp outlet and a 120 volt 30 amp outlet. Beside each diagram, it explains what voltage you should have across which terminals.

Having voltage from White to Ground in your 220 doesn't sound right if you had a four prong welding outlet. Was yours a three prong 220volt welding outlet? If so, I think I know what went wrong as there is no neutral in that setup.

A three prong welding outlet has two hots (each 120 volt) and a ground, with no neutral. If you tried to hook these same three wires to a 120 volt travel trailer outlet, then you kept it 220 volts. You'll have to have a neutral before you can properly wire up a 120 volt TT-30R.

Click the welder service tab at the same link below, which will help explain this. It also tells you how to rewire everything at the breaker box to use your welder circuit for the travel trailer. You have to change one of the hot wires to a neutral.

Converting the Welder (6-30R or 6-50R) service over to a 30-amp 120-volt RV service Remove the Double pole breaker and replace it with a Single pole 30-amp breaker. This service requires 3 wires 1 Black (Hot lead) 1 White (Neutral) and 1 Ground. One of the hot wires will have to be made into Neutral wire. Use white tape to identify it for future reference. Install a TT-30R receptacle and its ready to go.

RV Electric
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:32 AM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Yes that is exactly what it was a three prong welder receptical that I took off and put a rv receptical in.
corgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:53 AM   #25
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by corgan View Post
Yes that is exactly what it was a three prong welder receptical that I took off and put a rv receptical in.
Ok great, we should you have you fixed up in the post above.....at least as far as that part goes. I edited the post to tell you what to do in the breaker box, in case you missed it. Please DO NOT touch anything in the breaker box unless your are familiar with working inside one and will shut off the electricity at your outside meter. It's just not worth the risk.

The trailer is another matter, and hopefully the damage is minimal
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 11:38 AM   #26
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,585
Look up NEMA connectors on Wikipedia and it shows the difference. It also states that the TT30 is commonly mistaken for the 10-30.
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183 (SOLD due to 2 years off work)
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 11:59 AM   #27
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
awwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Biloxi, Ms
Posts: 705
Depending on how new your TT is your converter may have over voltage protection. I know mine does. Before installing an EMS a voltage spike took out 2 TV's and the microwave. It did not get the converter, the converter shut itself down. If you are using a 30amp system, I would highly suggest you get a 30 amp EMS made by Progressive Industries. Had you had one here, it would have protected you.
__________________
Wayne & Susan Biloxi,Ms
2012 GeorgeTown 351DS...2015 Ford Focus/Brake Buddy
FROG Member
awwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:43 PM   #28
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
To the op,
Have you got anything figured out yet?
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 12:01 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Thurman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 1,282
I've been there and done this also. I plugged my TT into my generator using a 50 foot cord that came with the generator clearly marked "120 volt only". This cord plugged into the 220 volt female on the generator and was supposed to be wired for 120 volt using only one of the 220 volt hot leads, a neutral, and a ground. BUT--the cord was wired wrong from the factory, I found out to late. Fried my convertor, and my micro-wave. Thankfully that was all. You can only imagine how good I felt when the refrigerator worked after plugging the TT back to shore power and jumping the convertor to power the fridge. I also checked the A/C this way and it worked fine. A new convertor, probably better than the one I fried, and a new Wally-World $55 micro-wave and all is well. Yes I did correct the cord wiring, have tested it and it works properly now. What good is 50 foot cord? It gets the gen 50 foot away from the TT the only two times I have used the gen with the TT. Silent (quieter) nights.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:14 AM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Appears converter is toast no power at all
corgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:16 AM   #31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Thurman where did you get new converter
corgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:30 AM   #32
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by corgan View Post
Appears converter is toast no power at all
If you have a wfco converter I'd strongly suggest replacing it with a progressive dynamics brand. .... strongly.
Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.