Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2015, 08:43 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhduh camping View Post
There is a built in bypass on EMS units via a jumper wire. The hardest part is getting to it when you need it. I did install a switch though.

Bypass more for in case you had to send it for service?


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS

I am nice!
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 08:49 PM   #22
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
My 2 Honda's work just fine with Progressive..
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 09:04 PM   #23
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Hence, the suggestion for plugs
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 09:06 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny kustom View Post
Bypass more for in case you had to send it for service?


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS

I am nice!
Thats why I always carry these.[ATTACH][/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10223-jumper-cables.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	148.2 KB
ID:	96318  
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 09:10 PM   #25
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Needs 1 more wire for a 30 amp...
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 09:19 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,202
50 amp carry two sets, painted clamps blue and green on other set!
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 09:22 PM   #27
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,723
I use a neutral/ground jumper on my two Honda 2000i invertors. Then I use a 15k & microwave with it running thru my TRW Surge Proctor with no issues.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 09:09 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 440
Please consider me a Luddite about this thread...
What is the issue here? I don't have an EMS, and am not sure what you use one for. What is the difference between a MSW and a true sine wave and why should I care?
As far as a generator is concerned, I have a 5er and a standard 4,000 watt generator, and am wondering if I am doing something wrong, or making sure I do not do anything wrong. The author mentioned floating neutrals and floating grounds, What does that mean?
Thanks.
MOODMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 09:55 AM   #29
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
It's about protecting your electronics in your RV.......Surge protection, high and low voltages, pedistals being wired correctly. Pure sine wave is a cleaner electronic signal for todays sensitive tv's, phones, lap-tops. Honda inverter gennys, as well as others, have a floating ground.....if you have a EMS system, the genny will not supply power thru it without the 'special plug' shown in the video. Without EMS, genny will supply power just fine, but at what cost to the newer electronic items ( this is a condensed version of what a EMS does)
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 01:42 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 440
So how would I know that I have an EMS? I know that when I plug in shore power that it recharges the battery and then when unplugged, I can run some circuits that are 12V circuits, such as the lights, the furnace, and of course the water pump and the slides.
MOODMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 01:51 PM   #31
Canadian Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,265
RVs don't typically come from the factory with an EMS. I'm not aware of any 5er, TT or PUP from FR that has one anyway. It's typically an add-on installed by the owner.

There are two types - portable/external and permanently mounted. If you have a permanently-mounted version, it would be installed in the incoming power line somewhere between the shore power cable and the back of your converter.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Signature 8290BS, Reese Revolution pinbox and B&W Patriot 18K hitch
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73, w/ snow plow & camper pkgs.
2011 Rockwood Signature 8293SS (2015 - 2018)
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 01:55 PM   #32
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Have to purchase after market....Think surge protector...Progressive industries is 1(best)
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 02:00 PM   #33
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob caldwell View Post
Have to purchase after market....Think surge protector...Progressive industries is 1(best)
Also,, alot depends on type of camp'n you do. With those of us that travel alot,, we might be stopp'n at a place we've never stayed ( campground) so this is. a saftey measure to protect our electronic gismos.
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 03:05 PM   #34
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 23,093
I still don't see the need for an EMS, when using a generator.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 03:17 PM   #35
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
There isn't, if genny runs ok
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 05:00 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 80
Anxious to hear your opinion on the parallel generac iq2000 operation as I am also in the market for some boondocking power.
__________________
Darrell & Kathy
2018 Oliver Legacy Elite II
2013 Ford F250 6.7 Diesel
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS 5er (Sold)
B&W Companion Slider (Sold)
wdw0528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 05:03 PM   #37
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Have Honda's here....Will run A/C with no problem, but not micro-wave at same time...
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 05:16 PM   #38
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
See no problems with Generac's
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 04:59 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: PA
Posts: 35
I received my Generac IQ2000's
They were packaged very well. double boxed.
Filled them up with oil. Added a cup of gas. 1st generator started on 2nd pull of rope. 2nd generator did not. Would not start. It does have a nice little rubber tube with a valve to drain carburetor bowl. Opened valve and no gas. Maybe because I only added a cup of gas, it may have eventually filled if I would have waited a while. I left valve open, put a rag around gas tank opening and pressurized tank by blowing air into it. In several second I had gas flowing out carburetor valve. Closed valve Pulled rope and started on 1st pull of rope.
I have not yet received the Parallel kit to hook to my RV. But did hook up several lights and a hand drill. So far I love these things. Very quit, great looking, and the led gauges seem to work very well and easy to see. Generac is also making a external low profile gas tank for these that will set on ground and generator will set right on top of it and using a pricing value will start drawing gas with no other gas lines needed. This would be super nice. Not yet available, but they said they are coming. can be seen at link below:
Generac Auxiliary Tank (6867) - - Ace Hardware

I will give more details on Generators when I receive parallel kit.
rjssuzq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 05:08 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 440
You may want to consider a retrofit kit to make the genny run on propane. A good easy to install kit is the "snorkel" propane conversion kit. Find it at Propane and Natural Gas Generator Conversion Kits - Motor Snorkel
MOODMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.