Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2015, 05:51 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,069
plugging 50 amp to house

I have a 50 amp trailer. My house has normal house outlets outside. Read not wired for the trailer and not a dryer outlet either. Can I plug into a 50/30 amp adapter and then to a 30/15 amp adapter and plug directly into a regular house outlet to run fridge and charge the battery? If yes can I run one of my air conditioners ( I have a 15 btu and a 13 btu a.c.)? If no,how can I plug into house? I have a battery charger but wanted to look at other ideas. Thanks
__________________
<a href=https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 05:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 157
You can do that to charge, but the ac is going to be a problem. It will do it for a bit, but the cord is going to become very hot. I recommend not using the ad and just run the fridge and charger
clutchd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 05:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
markb5900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 684
x2, don't try to use your AC, but everything else should be fine.
If you really want to use your AC, run a new line and plug. You can do 30 amp as long as you don't try to use both ac's.
You really only need the 50 amp when you want to run both your AC units.
__________________
Mark B
2015 32 Foot Rockwood 8289WS 5th Wheel
2017 GMC 3/4 Ton TV
markb5900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 06:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
abjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 548
How close are you to your house breaker panel?
Lots of info on the forum about installing a 50a RV outlet.
__________________
2012 Georgetown 360
SHE wanted "a new motorhome"
abjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 08:23 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by abjb View Post
How close are you to your house breaker panel?
Lots of info on the forum about installing a 50a RV outlet.
We eventually want to put one in but haven't yet.
__________________
<a href=https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 08:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 519
We have our 30 amp to a 20 amp adapter and it'll run our 15k AC fine. I put a Watt-a-meter on it and it pulls every bit of 15 amps. So a minimum 20 amp would be needed for sure.
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 08:51 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,069
Should I use my surge protector for this?
__________________
<a href=https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 09:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 4,585
asquared:
I wired a short piece (8 feet) of 10 gage wire (can handle 20 amps) directly to a 20 amp circuit breaker placed in an unused port on my breaker panel, then to a plug near my garage door where the RV cable comes under. I plug in my 30 amp RV plug into a 15 amp adapter plug then into this newly wired plug and I can run my 13.5K BTU AC all day long without overheating anything. The TT electric plug is 25 feet long. If you can get close enough to your breaker box, this is the least expensive way to get your AC to work without using a potentially dangerous extension cable. If you do need a little longer cord, then get one of those heavy duty extension cords they use to extend room AC unit plugs, available at any hardware store. This should be enough to power one AC and fridge (if not a home-style unit), your charger and some lights. It works that way for me.

You should not need to use a surge protector while at home... this is really to protect you from used and misused power pedestals at campgrounds mainly. You could use it, but really not very necessary.

Get the wiring done by someone knowledgeable to be safe and not sorry. I ordered all my parts (wire, breaker, box and plug from homedepot.com to be sure I had everything before I started. Sometimes I cannot find the breaker I need in stock of the type my breaker box requires.
__________________
"nothing can now be believed which is seen in a newspaper. Truth itself becomes suspicious by being put into that polluted vehicle."
Thomas Jefferson to John Norvell pg. 2, June 11, 1807

2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4 TST TPMS
rsdata is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 10:25 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,069
Ok thanks guys.
__________________
<a href=https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 02:15 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Posts: 471
you could also get a 50 to 20 dogbone so you don't have to go 50 to 30 and 30 to 20.
__________________
2015 Georgetown 351DS
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara
Chris, Garren (humans)
Edgar & Carlos (felines)
RIP Sophie, the sweetest cat ever.
ChrisAndGarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 02:34 PM   #11
Georgia Rally Coordinator
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 18,949
If your going to do it do it right. I had my electrician install 20 amp breaker than he ran a wire to a junction box to side of house and wired in the 30amp connector so now I just take my 50amp/30amp and plug in. You only need to run one air any way. Later RJD
__________________
2020 Shasta Phoenix SPF 27RKSS
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing. Traded 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-14
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 02:41 PM   #12
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
Should I use my surge protector for this?
We can have a long talk about this at the rally.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 02:57 PM   #13
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 20,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
I have a 50 amp trailer. My house has normal house outlets outside. Read not wired for the trailer and not a dryer outlet either. Can I plug into a 50/30 amp adapter and then to a 30/15 amp adapter and plug directly into a regular house outlet to run fridge and charge the battery? If yes can I run one of my air conditioners ( I have a 15 btu and a 13 btu a.c.)? If no,how can I plug into house? I have a battery charger but wanted to look at other ideas. Thanks
As mentioned, yes you can.

As for A/C, I used a heavy duty extension cord. It's 50' and costed something like $50-75 from Home Depot. I run my A/C as long as it is the only thing running. Even with my surge protector, it didn't give me low voltage or any warnings doing it.

I personally would ALWAYS use a surge protector if I had one. In fact, that's why I put a hard-wired one in.
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 03:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 504
You can run your charger and fridge on a 15amp circuit. you have to be sure your hot water heater doesn't come on or you might trip the GFI if you have one.


But at home depot:


50 amp outlet $28.00
50 amp breaker $10.00
#6 Wire $0.90 per foot
Piece of mind...Pricele$$


and you can run both AC's the Fridge, the charger, and will not need any adaptors
__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-2019 Days Camped-502
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 03:37 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 312
I just use direct 50 amp to 110 adapter. Works fine no 50 to 30 to 110
But like others say for fridge and charging
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 05:00 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 774
We had an electrician come and do several things to the house for us and one of those was to put a 50AMP plug out by the trailer and we love it.

We on occasion have house guests who stay in the trailer and it sure makes it simple.
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.