Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2015, 09:48 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 341
Plugging in at home - 30 amp

The Background:
Someday soon I will be running electrical service to my storage building. I plan to install a small breaker panel near the front of the building for incoming 60 amp service. From that I will run a circuit for lights, and will hard-wire in a 10 gauge cord for plugging in the TT. That cord will run along the side of the building to the rear, where it'll be easily accessible for plugging in the TT. Reason I am doing this is so I don't have to get out the power cord that comes with the TT when I plug in at home.


The Situation:
On the other end of this hard-wired 10 gauge cord, I need to install a female plug compatible with my TT. I have the twist to lock connection with a screw-on outer ring.

The Question:
Where do I get the plug, and do I need one with twist lock and/or with the screw-on outer ring? Searched Amazon and didn't see a plug only for what I'm looking for, but maybe I'm searching for the wrong thing. . .

Thanks for your help/guidance!
__________________
Brian, Stacy, and the girls (13 and 10)
2011 F-250 CCSB 6.7L PSD 4WD
2013 Solaire 269BHDSK
ProPride Hitch
purduepete97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:52 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
xman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lancaster NY
Posts: 108
check Homedepot
xman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:55 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
http://www.marinco.com/en/products/c...rs/32-amp-230v

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "11 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 341
Thanks for the quick replies. Dumb f/u question - are these all twick to lock? And, do I have to have the screw-on outer ring since it'll just be used inside my building where it can't get kicked/tugged/accidentally unplugged?
Brian
__________________
Brian, Stacy, and the girls (13 and 10)
2011 F-250 CCSB 6.7L PSD 4WD
2013 Solaire 269BHDSK
ProPride Hitch
purduepete97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:02 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Btw you can use a regular 30 amp twist lock end it just won't have the locking ring.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "11 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:02 AM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,981
I think I understand what/why you are doing. However, is it really that big a pain to not use your OE power cord?

You could install a 30 amp TT female end/box, and then just use the power cord with your RV.

Many of the big box stores have the 30 amp RV outlet boxes and/or plugs/receptacles. I prefer having a dedicated outlet box with breaker, so I can easily turn the power off/on at the box when connecting/disconnecting the power cords. If you don't turn the power off when doing this, you will most likely get arcing, which over time will damage the connectors.

http://www.adventurerv.net/amp-power...source=Froogle

Any which way you decide, and as a reminder, the 30 amp is 120 volt (NOT 240 volt). Also how long a run are you attempting to make with only #10 wire?

Here is a link to a wiring schematic we keep here on the forums:

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...let-27223.html

Good luck
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:09 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 341
Turbs - thanks for clarifying twist lock and locking outer ring.

WMTIRE - the main reason is that I have to run wire of some type from where the service enters the building back to the rear where my TT plug is. I can get a sweet deal on some new 10-3 exterior grade stranded copper (same type as used to make RV cords). So in reality, all I'm doing is making a super long (60') and cheap (less than $50) RV extension cord with one end hard-wired and the other a female plug to connect to the TT.

Also, I will have a breaker at the box in the front of the storage building, so I can switch off there before connecting/disconnecting. Thanks for that tidbit.
__________________
Brian, Stacy, and the girls (13 and 10)
2011 F-250 CCSB 6.7L PSD 4WD
2013 Solaire 269BHDSK
ProPride Hitch
purduepete97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:20 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduepete97 View Post
Turbs - thanks for clarifying twist lock and locking outer ring.

WMTIRE - the main reason is that I have to run wire of some type from where the service enters the building back to the rear where my TT plug is. I can get a sweet deal on some new 10-3 exterior grade stranded copper (same type as used to make RV cords). So in reality, all I'm doing is making a super long (60') and cheap (less than $50) RV extension cord with one end hard-wired and the other a female plug to connect to the TT.

Also, I will have a breaker at the box in the front of the storage building, so I can switch off there before connecting/disconnecting. Thanks for that tidbit.
60 feet may be kinda long for #10 if you are going to use a heavy load on it (like air conditioning).

The wiring pdf I linked to has some recommended wire gauges for length of run.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:26 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
8 ga would probably be better.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "11 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:32 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 341
Hmm - something to think about. As far as load, the biggest load I could imagine would be the 13.5 AC unit starting up, but that would be rare. Usually just lights, frig, charging battery. Think I'd be OK? Also, finished length is probably going to be closer to 50' than 60' (60' is the length of cord I am getting).
__________________
Brian, Stacy, and the girls (13 and 10)
2011 F-250 CCSB 6.7L PSD 4WD
2013 Solaire 269BHDSK
ProPride Hitch
purduepete97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:35 AM   #11
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,476
Have you ever thought what if? Like maybe install a 50amp receptacle and use a adapter? (inexpensive) Just saying......
Attached Images
 
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:37 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
jonrjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 812
I think a little differently. I would run enough power to do a 50amp outlet and then use a 50amp to 30amp adapter for plugging in the RV. Because while 30amp service may fit your current needs, what if the next RV comes with 50amp service.
__________________
2018 Berkshire XL 40B

Past RVs: National Pacifica 40', Kenworth T300 Toterhome, Jayco Class C 32'. American Eagle 40',
American Eagle 40', Bounder 38' tag axle
jonrjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:38 AM   #13
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
8 ga would probably be better.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "11 nights"
His deal is for 10-3. But 6ga would be even better.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 01:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
waiter21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 627
I made a 50ft "extension cord" for my 30 amp service. Now that I keep it in the MH, I bet I will never need it. ( We spent a few nights at an RV park where the utility poles were on the wrong side and we had to pull in straight to reach the pole)

I purchased the male and female 30 amp connectors at "Menards". This is similar to Home Depot or Lowes.
__________________
2001 Coachmen Mirada (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue
It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 01:08 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 341
OK - I think I'm gonna go for it. In reviewing inside my head, four factors stick out:
1. the run I'm making is no worse than when I use my regular cord + extension cord at those campground where the pedestal is in the wrong spot.
2. The wire I can get is identical to what is used in RV cords.
3. I can fairly easily control what will be in use at the same time while plugged in at home, so can avoid AC + micro + water heater scenarios.
4. If I ever upgrade to a 50 amp unit, I can either do a 50 to 30 pigtail or upgrade the wiring at that time.

This kind of goes against the always popular "do it right the first time" principle, but then again that principle assumes that you have the necessary funds to "do it right" today when in fact you may only have enough to "do it."

Thanks again for the input and for making me think this through carefully.

And, most importantly, this thread has boosted me over the 100 post mark on FRF. Only 19,389 to go to catch OC.
__________________
Brian, Stacy, and the girls (13 and 10)
2011 F-250 CCSB 6.7L PSD 4WD
2013 Solaire 269BHDSK
ProPride Hitch
purduepete97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 03:06 PM   #16
Dazed & Confused
 
M&K Hoffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NW PA
Posts: 368
If you run 10/3 cable 60 feet and are drawing 25 amps, (the allowed 80% continuous load) your voltage drop will be right around 3 volts. It is not very often you would be drawing that much current, I say go with the 10/3.
BTW Here is a good plug: 30 Amp Retro Fit Kit
__________________
~Mike & Kim~
2014 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W Diamond Package
2012 Toyota Tundra Doublecab 5.7 4WD
M&K Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 03:23 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
benagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 642
We have a Minnie Winnie 25 ft that we have plugged in to a regular 110 receptacle with an adapter on the RV plug. We do this a day before leaving for a trip. It runs the A/C fridg, etc when loading our unit. We have since purchased a Forester 3171DS. Will we be able to still use the same 110 receptacle in the garage with a standard 110 adapter on the RV plug, or will we have to add a 30amp receptacle in the garage. I think the 110 wall plug in the garage right now is only a 20 amp. Need to check and make sure when I get home today. Thx, Ben
__________________
1968 tent trailer
1985 Jamboree 23 ft
1997 Minnie Winnie 25 Ft
2016 Forester 3171DS (ordered March & arrived June 2015)
benagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 03:23 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Ham Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: KY and FL
Posts: 170
I would also say that 60 feet would be a lot safer if #8 wire was used instead of #10. Heavier is always better and safer
__________________


Larry W8PO & Lori N8IHJ and Louie the wonder dog
2014 Surveyor Cadet 265RLDS
2015 GMC Denali HD
Ham Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 03:25 PM   #19
Member
 
Captn.Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oriental, NC
Posts: 56
I just looked on eBay and they have a couple for as low as $7. Be careful about voltage on plug. I messed up and got a 30 amp but it was for 250 volts and wouldn't fit. Need 30 amp for 125 volt to fit TT inlet.
Captn.Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 03:49 PM   #20
SaubleGuy
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 14
Go to any electrical supplier to buy twist lock female without ring. 30A3wire
2x on the #8 wire.
Saubleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.