Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2013, 06:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
plugging into house electric

just got home from camping and tried plugging the camper into 110volt but it trips the GFI receptacle in my garage. I have went to a receptacle that is on a 20 amp breaker by itself. I have also turned all the breakers off in the camper and turned them on one by one and as soon as i turn on the GFI/converter breaker it trips the breaker in the garage. If I turn the main breaker and the air conditioner breaker its ok until i try to turn the fan on, then it trips. Its a 2012 Rockwood Signature Ultralite Model 8317RKSS. any suggestions
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Broadway Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 660
You can not have two GFI items in a single circuit, they fight each other. If you have a GFI protected circuit in the garage, the one installed in the bath or galley area in your camper will cause this problem.
Broadway Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,895
Also the 20 AMP breaker can't take much more than the AC starting an other appliance before tripping that's the reason the camper is 30 Amp or 50 Amp
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:26 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
I have had camper plugged into garage receptacles n past and able to run everything. I was only trying to run fan on the ac unit and not the ac itself. The fan only draws minimal amps. With all the breakers off except the main and the ac. As soon as I turn the fan switch on, it trips
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:00 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Actually the camper was plugged n all winter no problems
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:52 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by outdoor cooker View Post
I have had camper plugged into garage receptacles n past and able to run everything. I was only trying to run fan on the ac unit and not the ac itself. The fan only draws minimal amps. With all the breakers off except the main and the ac. As soon as I turn the fan switch on, it trips
The GFI trips if there is anything wrong in the circuit. It could be things like an appliance getting wet and sending small amounts power to the ground.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:38 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,015
If you are running the RV's Air Conditioner, you are very close to the maximum current that can be provided; especially if you are using an extension cord of any kind to get to the camper.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:48 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,966
You state that the garage breaker is the one tripping. What all else do you have running on the circuit in the garage that supplies power to the outlet?

Have you bought a freezer or anything else that is now using that circuit...... especially a window unit air-conditioner in the garage.

You could be close to overloading that circuit BEFORE you ever plug the trailer into an outlet there.....and thus the trailer is enough to trip the breaker.

Also, as Lou correctly pointed out, are you using any kind of extension cord from the trailer to the outlet? Your problem could easily lie there in the extension cord.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:55 AM   #9
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 20,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
If you are running the RV's Air Conditioner, you are very close to the maximum current that can be provided; especially if you are using an extension cord of any kind to get to the camper.
The OP said it was fan only on the AC, not the actual condenser...
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:04 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
If applicable. ....
How long is the ext. Cord?
What size is the ext. Cord?
Does it have the ground post missing?


Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:06 AM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
The OP said it was fan only on the AC, not the actual condenser...
I read that again and I can see how I misinterpreted his post.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:20 AM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,733
The outlet is called a ground-fault circuit interrupter (GFCI). It's there to protect people from electrical shock, so it is completely different from a fuse.
A GFCI is much more subtle. When you look at a normal 120-volt outlet in the United States, there are two vertical slots and then a round hole centered below them. The left slot is slightly larger than the right. The left slot is called "neutral," the right slot is called "hot" and the hole below them is called "ground." If an appliance is working properly, all electricity that the appliance uses will flow from hot to neutral. A GFCI monitors the amount of current flowing from hot to neutral. If there is any imbalance, it trips the circuit. It is able to sense a mismatch as small as 4 or 5 milliamps, and it can react as quickly as one-thirtieth of a second.
So let's say you are outside with your power drill and it is raining. You are standing on the ground, and since the drill is wet there is a path from the hot wire inside the drill through you to ground. If electricity flows from hot to ground through you, it could be fatal. The GFCI can sense the current flowing through you because not all of the current is flowing from hot to neutral as it expects -- some of it is flowing through you to ground. As soon as the GFCI senses that, it trips the circuit and cuts off the electricity.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:25 AM   #13
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,966
If I am reading the OP's first post correct, they stated that they started out by plugging into a GFCI outlet that tripped....then plugged into a non GFCI protected outlet that now trips the breaker to it.

I am almost willing to bet they are using an extension cord, as Lou pointed out, and they are having a problem there.....but we will know more when the OP responds.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:52 AM   #14
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 20,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
If I am reading the OP's first post correct, they stated that they started out by plugging into a GFCI outlet that tripped....then plugged into a non GFCI protected outlet that now trips the breaker to it.

I am almost willing to bet they are using an extension cord, as Lou pointed out, and they are having a problem there.....but we will know more when the OP responds.
My only issue is - they also indicated that it used to work (I even got the impression it is same house, outlet and camper) and this is a recent development. So, what would have changed or could cause this to start acting up.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:57 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post

My only issue is - they also indicated that it used to work (I even got the impression it is same house, outlet and camper) and this is a recent development. So, what would have changed or could cause this to start acting up.
Heat load could be a factor.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:01 AM   #16
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
So, what would have changed or could cause this to start acting up.
Possibly a different or now damaged extension cord.

Could even have something broke in their trailers cord now.

Of course this is all guessing and speculation.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:04 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
I am using a GFCI receptacle that is by itself on a breaker (20amp). Trying only to turn on the circulating fan. Not the entire air conditioner. In the camper I have ALL the breakers off EXCEPT the main and the AC breakers on. And when i turn the fan to ON it trips the gfi in the garage. Or I only turn on the main and the GFCI/converter breaker, which trips the gfi n the garage. I'm using the power cord supplied with the camper with a three prong adapter ( which I have tried three different adapters). While camping the week before I was plugged n to campsite service with no problems. I have tried three different circuits n my garage and still same problem. Think something wrong with camper. Not sure what.
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,895
Is your garage on 3 circuits or 3 outlets my garage is on one circuit with several outlets.......... Have you tried another outlet somewhere that is not GFCI protected????? GFCI are sensitive.
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:54 PM   #19
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by outdoor cooker View Post
I am using a GFCI receptacle that is by itself on a breaker (20amp). Trying only to turn on the circulating fan. Not the entire air conditioner. In the camper I have ALL the breakers off EXCEPT the main and the AC breakers on. And when i turn the fan to ON it trips the gfi in the garage. Or I only turn on the main and the GFCI/converter breaker, which trips the gfi n the garage. I'm using the power cord supplied with the camper with a three prong adapter ( which I have tried three different adapters). While camping the week before I was plugged n to campsite service with no problems. I have tried three different circuits n my garage and still same problem. Think something wrong with camper. Not sure what.
Maybe not. Plugging a GFCI into another GFCI can cause unreliable tripping. Try a circuit not GFCI protected. If the GFCI in the camper trips you have a fault condition in the camper. If not, you could just be having "dueling GFCIs."
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 04:00 PM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post

Maybe not. Plugging a GFCI into another GFCI can cause unreliable tripping. Try a circuit not GFCI protected. If the GFCI in the camper trips you have a fault condition in the camper. If not, you could just be having "dueling GFCIs."

X2
I think its the gfci as well.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.