Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2020, 11:06 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Mediumsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2
plugin install

Hello: I just got a new 2020 riverstone 39fkth. I remover one of the couch hide a beds to make a small office in the slide out. There is a plug cover in the back of the slide out but no plug. I would like to put a plugin there. When I removed the blank cover I see a black and whit wire and then some wires that are in some protective wire covering. Does anybody know what wires I need to put a plugin into the wall on the slide.
Thanks for you help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200213_220422.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	358.5 KB
ID:	223354  
Mediumsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
nvs4602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 110
Ac wire finder

I would use this tool to find the AC wire.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SL4NSS1..._hhIrEbY3978SR
Someone may have a better idea. If there is more than 1 set of ac wire running through there shut off breakers to isolate on set. Black and white wires are DC if I remember right.
nvs4602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,824
Wires in a plastic split tube will be 12 volts. Wires with a white plastic jacket if Black, White and bare ground are Romex and 120 volts.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvs4602 View Post
I would use this tool to find the AC wire.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SL4NSS1..._hhIrEbY3978SR
Someone may have a better idea. If there is more than 1 set of ac wire running through there shut off breakers to isolate on set. Black and white wires are DC if I remember right.
Black and white and bare ground in a white plastic jacket is A/C romex.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 09:17 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Wires in a plastic split tube will be 12 volts. Wires with a white plastic jacket if Black, White and bare ground are Romex and 120 volts.
Don't bet on that. I've seen them run 120 volt AC wiring in the split loom with the 12 volt wires to the slide. They also usually use SO cord for the 120 volt wires too, and it's usually black. They tend to stretch the rules when running wires to the slide.

It's best to actually test the wiring with a volt meter to determine if it's 12 VDC or 120 VAC.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 09:23 AM   #6
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
Don't bet on that. I've seen them run 120 volt AC wiring in the split loom with the 12 volt wires to the slide. They also usually use SO cord for the 120 volt wires too, and it's usually black. They tend to stretch the rules when running wires to the slide.



It's best to actually test the wiring with a volt meter to determine if it's 12 VDC or 120 VAC.
Agreed.
Every unit but one that I have owned had SO cord running to the slide for 120v via the scissors hanger. My current Flagstaff is that way and it is in split loom!

To the OP... you are going to have to test them or have someone with knowledge test them for you.
Without actually being there, we are only guessing what may be in your wiring box and that's not a good thing when working with electricity.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=88
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 09:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,824
Yes, flexible cord is required from a j-box mounted to the RV frame to the first outlet in the slide to provide flexible movement. Once inside the slide the flexible 120 volt cord goes to a j-box and becomes attached to Romex or just stops if only one outlet. No rules being stretched here. Following code.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.