Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2014, 03:23 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Guys, is this adapter all I would need for my setup? My TT is 30amp and my generator also has the 30 amp 120/240 4 prong outlet. Also the gen plug has a 120/240 toggle switch located next to the 4 prong plug in question and I'm guessing choosing 240 v would be a mistake, Or would it matter since the adapter would eliminate one leg of the 240 from entering my TT. My generator is 5550 continuous watt and 8500 watt start up rated, would that power a 15k AC? Sorry to hijack the thread and thanks in advance.
Yes you should be OK with this adapter but you will only have about 23 amps available to power your trailer as it is a 5550 continuous watts generator. It should power your 15K AC but will have to do load management not to overload circuit breaker on generator.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 03:30 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
Yes you should be OK with this adapter but you will only have about 23 amps available to power your trailer as it is a 5550 continuous watts generator. It should power your 15K AC but will have to do load management not to overload circuit breaker on generator.

Fonzie, I'm i wrong to assume my 15k ac will pull about 15 amps? Am I low in my estimate? What's the best way to gauge usage? I have a surge suppressor I could use with a digital display but I wonder if fluctuations in current by the generator might cause the suppressor to cut off electricity to the TT.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 04:20 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Your 15K AC unit will draw app. 15 amps running. On start up it might draw up to 30 amps but for a very short duration which with the rating of your generator should be able to handle it. It all depends on how much extra load is already being used eg: water heater, fridge, converter etc etc....I use a progressive industries EMS management and I can see directly how much is being used at any time. For your surge suppressor only you can test and see how it works with generator and TT load hook up. It's never a clear cut answer with electricity usage as a lot of factors have to be taken into account.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 04:36 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 259
If you don't own a circuit tester.. I would be worth it to pick one up... Been to a few campsites and was able to catch messed up 50amp plugs before any damage... One had a 240 leg... ( camp site maintenance guy said it was wired correctly one of his guys changed it a few days ago..had to take him to another site to show him) that would have been a costly mistake... And more than a few had one of the 120 legs dead....

So now before I level up...I get out and check the outlet...(grounds, neutrals and legs)
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 04:46 PM   #25
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedjester View Post
If you don't own a circuit tester.. I would be worth it to pick one up... Been to a few campsites and was able to catch messed up 50amp plugs before any damage... One had a 240 leg... ( camp site maintenance guy said it was wired correctly one of his guys changed it a few days ago..had to take him to another site to show him) that would have been a costly mistake... And more than a few had one of the 120 legs dead....

So now before I level up...I get out and check the outlet...(grounds, neutrals and legs)
SAY IT LOUD, BROTHER!!!!!!!!

This excellent advice above cannot be repeated enough until we all practice this. If you don't have any kind of electrical management system that will automatically shut down power if something is wrong.....then you must make it part of the camping ritual to test the outlets EVERY time before you connect.

If you don't know how, or may even want to make a plug n play tester....then you can gain that wisdom from this site:

http://www.myrv.us/electric/
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 06:12 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 312
After reading everything here.
So A 50 amp rv needs a generator adapter 50 to 30 amp .But cannot use a dog bone adapter and a 30 amp cord too!!
Just making sure when the time comes I will set if needed
Generac 6500 watt generator.And 8500 start up

Since we on this thread already .
Thanks
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 07:50 AM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
SAY IT LOUD, BROTHER!!!!!!!!

This excellent advice above cannot be repeated enough until we all practice this. If you don't have any kind of electrical management system that will automatically shut down power if something is wrong.....then you must make it part of the camping ritual to test the outlets EVERY time before you connect.

If you don't know how, or may even want to make a plug n play tester....then you can gain that wisdom from this site:

RV Electric

Wmtire..

Thank you for such a helpful and informative Link .. There is so much information to be learned on that website and videos .. I and the wife are fairly new to Rving .. less then a years exp. Nobody .. from both dealers of which we purchased units from included that information during delivery.. And from all the friends and 4 locations we currently camp at this topic of checking the Electrical hook up prior to using has never been brought up nor have I witnessed anyone doing.. A definite new procedure for us prior to setup ... Thanks again
Vonner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:02 AM   #28
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,981
You're very welcome. As speedjester pointed out, you really do not know what has happened at ANY outlet previous to you plugging in. You never know what the previous camper, electrician, or park person may have done before you..........or shorted out.

Also as with anything electrical or mechanical, things just break or wear out.

I would advise even checking your own generator before plugging in, as things can become loose/disconnected from the vibrations when running.

You may be lucky and never encounter a problem...........but it's that one time you do catch a problem that makes you glad you did check first. There are actually many posts in these forums just like speedjesters, so it's more common than one may think.

You can also purchase either hardwired or portable Electrical Management Systems (EMS) that will do a lot of this checking automatically for you.....as well as having a surge protector.

Here is a link to a 50 amp hard wired one.

http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_hw50c.htm

A surge protector is another good item to have...... which you can purchase as a cheaper standalone item, or built into an EMS.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 10:58 AM   #29
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Ok I have to put my 2 cents in this thread.

If any of these generators have the 240/120 30 amp four female outlet you will NOT have 30 amps available!

The 240/120 outlet has a floating neutral and has a max amps of 30 on the "240v" side which you will not be using.
Since you've dog boned it down you'll be using the "120v" portion of this outlet and MAX amps will be cut in half to 15 amps.

Been there done that!

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 11:04 AM   #30
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
To slightly edit my above post you'll have 15 amps on each leg available.
For a total of 30 and from my experience 15 amps on each leg will be absolutely marginal.
More like 12-13 amps.



Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 02:46 PM   #31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 16
Ok... now for an update .. Using the 4 prong to 50 .. I had no issue running my AC 15k .. I also turned on all lights one tv ( smaller one in the Bedroom) .. but when I tried to run the microwave .. Boom all shut down.. I checked fuse box ( circuit panel) and nothing popped .. Checked the Generator and the Breaker again popped ..

Now I have another concern .. Upon starting the generator again and walking into the trailer I noticed a Green light blinking on the circuit panel .. I do not recall this green light blinking .. Is this normal.. I checked everything and nothing seems wrong all lights AC, tv etc turns back onl.. I tried to read the microscopic wording around the light.. But these eyes aren't what they used to be.. Checked my manual as well as online.. Cant find anything on what this green light represents ..
Vonner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 04:53 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrlyguy2 View Post
After reading everything here.
So A 50 amp rv needs a generator adapter 50 to 30 amp .But cannot use a dog bone adapter and a 30 amp cord too!!
Just making sure when the time comes I will set if needed
Generac 6500 watt generator.And 8500 start up

Since we on this thread already .
Thanks
It is best to have the proper adapter if you want to have double the current available from your generator if it has 120/240 30 amps receptacle. With your 6500 watt generator(dual voltage), you should be able to have 27 amps per line (total 54 amps) to feed your 50 amp RV plug. If you use a dog bone 30 to 50 RV adapter as shown in this thread, then you will only have 27 amps total available to feed your 50 amp RV plug.

Here is good site that explains RV electrical.

RV Electrical Systems
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 04:58 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
To slightly edit my above post you'll have 15 amps on each leg available.
For a total of 30 and from my experience 15 amps on each leg will be absolutely marginal.
More like 12-13 amps.



Turbs

Turbs what you mention here is correct if the OP had a 3600 watt dual voltage (120/240 volts) generator with a 30 amp receptacle. Since he has a 5550 watt generator, my post #7 is correct in this instance.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 05:06 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonner View Post
Ok... now for an update .. Using the 4 prong to 50 .. I had no issue running my AC 15k .. I also turned on all lights one tv ( smaller one in the Bedroom) .. but when I tried to run the microwave .. Boom all shut down.. I checked fuse box ( circuit panel) and nothing popped .. Checked the Generator and the Breaker again popped ..

Now I have another concern .. Upon starting the generator again and walking into the trailer I noticed a Green light blinking on the circuit panel .. I do not recall this green light blinking .. Is this normal.. I checked everything and nothing seems wrong all lights AC, tv etc turns back onl.. I tried to read the microscopic wording around the light.. But these eyes aren't what they used to be.. Checked my manual as well as online.. Cant find anything on what this green light represents ..
As I mentioned in post #21, you have to manage your load. Depending how your appliances are connected into your ac distribtiton panel, either on L1 or L2, you can overload the circuit on that particular line and trip the main circuit breaker on the generator. Remember you only have 23 amps per line and not 50 as if you were hooked up to a power post at a campground.

For your green light, check this tread.....

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...nel-69152.html
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 07:14 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 312
Asked the company Generac about it.
this is what I recieved.


Thank you for contacting Generac Power Systems. My name is Sara and I will be assisting you*today. At this time we do not manufacture an RV adapter for the generator. Also, to get the full output of the generator, you will have to use all outlets. If you have any other questions please let us know. Again thank you for contacting Generac and have a great day!

*
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 07:44 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrlyguy2 View Post
Asked the company Generac about it.
this is what I recieved.


Thank you for contacting Generac Power Systems. My name is Sara and I will be assisting you*today. At this time we do not manufacture an RV adapter for the generator. Also, to get the full output of the generator, you will have to use all outlets. If you have any other questions please let us know. Again thank you for contacting Generac and have a great day!

*
Not much information here....more like bla bla bla........
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:38 PM   #37
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Is this a gp series generac that we are speaking of?

Because the op clearly states he is using the 4 prong 240/120 plug in.
Which is the dual outlet.


Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 08:24 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Anyone see a problem with me running my 5500/8500 generator in the back of my truck in case of bad weather (rain). I will open the tailgate and all three windows to allow for ventilation/cooling. I also plan to park the truck downwind and at a distance from the TT. This will also prevent me from having to unload the 170 pounder.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1413465870.104814.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	823.5 KB
ID:	64830
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 08:28 AM   #39
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Anyone see a problem with me running my 5500/8500 generator in the back of my truck in case of bad weather (rain). I will open the tailgate and all three windows to allow for ventilation/cooling. I also plan to park the truck downwind and at a distance from the TT. This will also prevent me from having to unload the 170 pounder.
Attachment 64830
I would if I had a topper.

Albeit we have dry camped with gennie running in a full downpour.

They do get hot so ventilation is key especially since there air cooled.
Check on it occasionally when first starting.

Only thing I'd be concerned about is a fuel leak and subsequent explosion!



Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 08:38 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Good point Turbs. I guess I'll only leave in the back of truck if the weather turns to rain, otherwise it will stay on the ground. I'm also hoping for cool weather so there should not be a need to run generator to power the ac. Although there's no way to know whether it will be in the 40's or 90's in November in Texas.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.