Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2014, 08:41 AM   #41
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Good point Turbs. I guess I'll only leave in the back of truck if the weather turns to rain, otherwise it will stay on the ground. I'm also hoping for cool weather so there should not be a need to run generator to power the ac. Although there's no way to know whether it will be in the 40's or 90's in November in Texas.
I have stuck mine under the living room slide. "Fits nicely"
But only while we're up.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 08:47 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Tough question to answer I'm sure, but how long would it take (ballpark estimate) to recharge the house battery via generator and multi phase on board converter? I'm assuming the battery is fairly low from running lights, water pump etc.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 08:56 AM   #43
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Tough question to answer I'm sure, but how long would it take (ballpark estimate) to recharge the house battery via generator and multi phase on board converter? I'm assuming the battery is fairly low from running lights, water pump etc.
I let mine run all night long always as noise isn't an issue.
we don't run it during the day as we're just not in the camper.
Only thing really running is the fridge on propane and 12v .
Occasionally the water pump.
So I can't help there.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 10:32 AM   #44
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
So I hooked up my 5500/8500 generator to my TT and I cranked on the ac. The surge suppressor is showing 14 to 15 amps being used and the voltage is varying from 104 to 107. After about 10 minutes the surge suppressor trips and the trailer goes dead. 104 seems awfully low to me. I'm guessing that's why the suppressor is shutting things down. I was always under the impression that 108 was as low as things should go. What do you guys think? Is the genny not large enough to carry this load? I have the main and the ac breakers on, nClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1413646213.867084.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	764.0 KB
ID:	64919Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1413646303.478602.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	963.5 KB
ID:	64920othing else. Fridge is off as is the water heater. Thoughts?
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 10:45 AM   #45
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
As I stated before since your using the 240/120 dual outlet the 240v side is 30 amp the 120v side is AT BEST 12-13 amps.

I had my generator rewired to 120v 30 amp with an rv plug.

You gennie is big enough you just don't have the amps available within its current configuration.


Any good generator specialist can rewire it.

If you'd like more info I can try and help.



Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:05 AM   #46
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
So I hooked up my 5500/8500 generator to my TT and I cranked on the ac. The surge suppressor is showing 14 to 15 amps being used and the voltage is varying from 104 to 107. After about 10 minutes the surge suppressor trips and the trailer goes dead. 104 seems awfully low to me. I'm guessing that's why the suppressor is shutting things down. I was always under the impression that 108 was as low as things should go. What do you guys think? Is the genny not large enough to carry this load? I have the main and the ac breakers on, nAttachment 64919Attachment 64920othing else. Fridge is off as is the water heater. Thoughts?
I can't reply to your pm your pm box is full.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:09 AM   #47
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
This is what I have.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004U9...&robot_redir=1


I can run.
13.5 but a/c
Outside residential fridge.
Converter.
And microwave.

But only after it was rewired.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:11 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Sorry bud, and I'm not sure I can empty it with the phone app. Anyway the set up has been running fine without tripping the suppressor for about 45 minutes now. Will I be okay running this set up without the modification you mentioned? What about those voltage levels? Should I be concerned for my compressor? The voltage seems to have leveled out around 106 to 107. Thanks
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:14 AM   #49
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Sorry bud, and I'm not sure I can empty it with the phone app. Anyway the set up has been running fine without tripping the suppressor for about 45 minutes now. Will I be okay running this set up without the modification you mentioned? What about those voltage levels? Should I be concerned for my compressor? The voltage seems to have leveled out around 106 to 107. Thanks
You can delete msgs. With phone app.

Your surge / low voltage unit will take care of you as far as shutting down.



Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:17 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
You can delete msgs. With phone app.

Your surge / low voltage unit will take care of you as far as shutting down.



Turbs

Cool, that's what I was hoping you would say! Thanks bud I owe another cold one!
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:33 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
From your set up in post #44, your generator should be able to handle up to 23 amps as per their operating manual stipulates. I would contact their service department and discuss your issue with them.

20141013_104648.jpg Photo by vonner1 | Photobucket
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:47 AM   #52
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Portable Generator Breaker switch..

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
From your set up in post #44, your generator should be able to handle up to 23 amps as per their operating manual stipulates. I would contact their service department and discuss your issue with them.

20141013_104648.jpg Photo by vonner1 | Photobucket

I read that as well fonzie. I just realized that when the suppressor shut things down earlier I had the GFI and converter breaker on. That may have been too much for it and why it shut things down. Currently running well after 90 minutes and the AC is cooling well. I guess if I need to recharge my house battery I can just shut down the AC.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:22 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Portable Generator Breaker switch..

I have a second generator that I'm wanting to give a try on my 30amp
TT. Which of these 30 amp outlets should I attempt to run off of?[by the way I hooked my surge suppressor only to the right side 120/240 outlet and the suppressor is five an E2 error (open ground) and will not allow electricity to flow to the TT. Anyone know what that "open ground" error means?
ATTACH]64944[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1413660164.111869.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	844.7 KB
ID:	64944  
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 03:51 PM   #54
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
I have a second generator that I'm wanting to give a try on my 30amp
TT. Which of these 30 amp outlets should I attempt to run off of?[by the way I hooked my surge suppressor only to the right side 120/240 outlet and the suppressor is five an E2 error (open ground) and will not allow electricity to flow to the TT. Anyone know what that "open ground" error means?
ATTACH]64944[/ATTACH]
You need to make and install a neutral bonded plug.
Run a wire from ground to neutral.
Then plug it into a 110 outlet.

That will fix your error.

Turbs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1413665451670.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	170.4 KB
ID:	64947  
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:06 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Turbs that's way over my head and I will probably burn down my house. Tell me this, can I just bypass the surge protector and plug directly to the generator? The generator is new with only 15 hours son I don't believe it has any issues.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:09 PM   #56
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Turbs that's way over my head and I will probably burn down my house. Tell me this, can I just bypass the surge protector and plug directly to the generator? The generator is new with only 15 hours son I don't believe it has any issues.
Yes just shut it off .
The black switch on your ems read out.

http://ricksdiy.com/generators/porta...-honda-yamaha/

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:13 PM   #57
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
http://www.noshockzone.org/generator...utral-bonding/

Good article.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:35 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Ok I plugged it directly to my generator and so far it's working like a charm. I have the Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1413668107.830667.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	787.3 KB
ID:	64949 AC running, converter and gfi breakers on. My inside voltage meter is showing 115 to 117 steady. This Honda generator is a beast. Thanks Turbs!
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:29 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Small hiccup, generator shutting off. Looks like a bad low oil alert sensor. We removed it and it's operating well. Found a replacement sensor on Amazon for $16.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.