Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2015, 01:14 PM   #21
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuicideSaints View Post
It could be the Genny is not up to the task or you need a "Ground-Neutral Bond” jumper plug (edison plug).
Falling on def ears...
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 01:16 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Napa Valley, CA
Posts: 504
My Honda 2000 runs with the EMS 30 hardwired just fine. Voltage is always between 116-124 depending on load. If I want to run the 15K A/C, I parallel two Honda 2000s together with good results. As you mentioned, I had to make a ground to neutral connector for the Honda in order for the EMS to play well with the Hondas.

Alternatively, you can switch off the EMS power management and just make it a surge protector via the remote switch (not recommended). This supplies power to your converter without the need for a ground/neutral adapter on the genny.

I suspect that your genny is dropping voltage on load and the EMS is doing its job.
__________________
2015 Rockwood A128S
2010 Rockwood 2604
2014 Ford F-250 CC SB 2WD
2008 Toyota Sequoia 2WD
Big Vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 01:19 PM   #23
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceinspp View Post
Honda does not recommend running an AC with the 2000. Good way to ruin AC. Later RJD
How many amps do you think a 13,500 a/c draws? 12...
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 01:36 PM   #24
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,658
Think it's 12 to 14 on start up and 8 or so just running. I can do it in one honda 2000 with the hard start capacitor and nothing else on. Once I try the thing with the converter or fridge it overloads.

Not sure about the generac but the 2000 on the Honda is a surge wattage.

The ac will trip it if I kept the economy throttle on, maybe try running your stuff with the economy throttle off if you have it and see if it keeps the voltage.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 01:57 PM   #25
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Just plugged one Honda in....not using eco. I have a 3 amp draw before starting gen...refer is on....Running, adding a/c, shows 16 amps....no problem running....when camping, I use both.
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 02:34 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
MrNiceGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 231
I had a similar problem and called Progressive. Their customer service is outstanding! I believe your problem is the need for a neurtral ground bond on the inverter/generator. Without going into great detail it is a plug that allows you to use your inverter/generator with a Progressive EMS. Progressive will give you instructions.
__________________
2015 Crusader 315RST
2011 Silverado 2500HD
MrNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 03:04 PM   #27
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Get a normal 15/20 120 3prong plug...looking at prong end of plug, add a 14or16 gauge wire from ground terminal to prong on left side....of course, do this on inside of plug. plug into gen...done.
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 03:20 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Gregg Willow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 254
This site will explain the N-G Bond plug and how to make it...

Generator Ground-Neutral Bonding | No~Shock~Zone
__________________
2016 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab XLT EcoBoost
2012 Salem Cruise Lite 221RBXL, Andersen No Sway WDH, (2) Honda EU2000i's
Gregg Willow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 04:30 PM   #29
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
What I just posted
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 05:09 PM   #30
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Dometic recommends at least a 3500 watt generator.
It's right in there owners manual

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "27 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 05:14 PM   #31
Member
 
Wire Wrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 30
I have a 3K Yamaha inverter generator, I too bought the 50 amp portable protector..When I read the destructions, it said not to plug the protector into an invertor source.. I told them that I had the Yamaha and they at Progressive said that the current was not reliable enough from the generators, and they would not warrantee them if they were connected to those inverter generators.. So I just plug my unit into the generator with out the PI unit.. I also use the chain and padlock when connected to the park pole.
Wire Wrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 05:15 PM   #32
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Did it simply for a test to see amp draw for less than a minute....I always use both if A/C is hard she'd do
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 07:22 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
Gregg Willow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob caldwell View Post
What I just posted

Not what you just posted. Site gives in depth explanation and photos.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2016 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab XLT EcoBoost
2012 Salem Cruise Lite 221RBXL, Andersen No Sway WDH, (2) Honda EU2000i's
Gregg Willow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 10:10 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by cub22908 View Post
I have a permanent installed progressive surge protector (30 amp) and just bought a Generac 2000 portable generator from Costco. After going online and finding the fix for Error code 2 (No ground) the Progressive now will not let the generator online for code 4 (low voltage). It reads 122v with no load but must be dropping below threshold when trailer powered. I have everything turned off so must be battery charger pulling it down. My question is does anyone have a 2000w portable generator successfully powering their trailer through a Progressive 30amp Surge protector? I'm trying to find out if it's just the Generac having issues. Thanks.
I run a Honda 4000 watt generator with a 30 amp portable progressive surge protector with no problems. My guess is it is the generator. I hate to say it but with generators you get what you pay for. Can you return it? Your only other option is to disconnect the surge protector but I wouldn't recommend doing that. It sounds like it is doing its job.

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 03:49 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 179
I just got back from camping trip with the Generac. I used it to charge battery and got through the trip that way. That's not what I wanted so returned the generator and will try the Honda 3000 Handi next year. So going from $500 to $2300! Oh well, I tried. I think some people were telling me to do the ground neutral plug, I had done that, no help. The Generac just couldn't react quick enough to initial load even with everything off, I even tried with battery disconnect off. Thanks for all the help. Dan
cub22908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.