RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 06:23 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,993
Plus the outlet you are using can not be GFI. The reason being is that the TT has a GFI outlet and two GFI in line will not work.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:30 PM   #22
RV Newbie
 
buzzards27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideout1961 View Post
Just one more question. I have an unused outlet in my shed next to where the camper is parked. The breaker in the house for this line is 20 amp. Can I switch this out for a single pole 30 amp breaker that is mentioned in the article or is this not the correct thing to do? The camper would be the only thing on this line.
Leave the breaker as is unless you resize the line out.

There is a rule of thumb about distance from the box, amperage and the size of the wire. The longer you run the heavier the gage should be. IF that is a 20 amp breaker the wire SHOULD be a 12 gage. But that 12 gage wouldn't be large enuf for a full 30 amp draw.

If you are only using the outlet to "store" the unit, not for AC or multi electric heaters, the existing outlet with a plug adapter would suffice. One 15 amp heater running full out, a few lights and a TV will really warm up a 12 gage wire... been there.

I ran two different 30 amp lines about 40' from the box so I can park in "long term" or " short term" parking, if I recall, 10 gage was enuf for either distance I had.
__________________
2005 FR Lexington 210 6.0L 8500 miles
2007 2500 Silverado Ext. Cab, 6.5' bed 5.7L
2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
1963 Ford 861 5 speed with loader
1958 Ford 800 Select-O-Speed (parts tractor)
buzzards27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:52 PM   #23
Steve Jackson
 
sideout1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Holyoke, Ma
Posts: 382
Yea my distance is a ways. It's about 90 feet. I'll take the advise just plug in with adapter. It's mostly just for storage during winter.
__________________
2011 Dodge Ram 5.7 HEMI
2011 Flagstaff Classic 29bhss
sideout1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:56 PM   #24
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Everyone is right on the money.

Do not change the 20 amp breaker without replacing/upgrading the wires.

However what you can do is get a 30 amp RV socket to put on the end near the camper. The wiring connections on the socket PDF I sent will still work.

Just be aware that you will not have 30 amps available and you will need to monitor your power usage at the camper. Trying to pull more than 20 amps will trip the breaker in the main panel.

The advantage of using the RV outlet means you won't need an adapter for your camper's cable (every connection is a point of failure) and there won't be as much strain on the cable wires when using an adapter.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2023071...368321&cj=true
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:01 PM   #25
Steve Jackson
 
sideout1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Holyoke, Ma
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Everyone is right on the money.

Do not change the 20 amp breaker without replacing/upgrading the wires.

However what you can do is get a 30 amp RV socket to put on the end near the camper. The wiring connections on the socket PDF I sent will still work.

Just be aware that you will not have 30 amps available and you will need to monitor your power usage at the camper. Trying to pull more than 20 amps will trip the breaker in the main panel.

The advantage of using the RV outlet means you won't need an adapter for your camper's cable (every connection is a point of failure) and there won't be as much strain on the cable wires when using an adapter.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2023071...368321&cj=true
Thanks Lou I will look for that outlet at my local HD.
__________________
2011 Dodge Ram 5.7 HEMI
2011 Flagstaff Classic 29bhss
sideout1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:31 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 43
You can use the adapter to plug it in at home, but not if you plan to run the AC. That requires more amp usage and could damage the AC unit. For using it, you should have a 30 amp outlet wired in.
MzZorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:41 AM   #27
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by MzZorro View Post
You can use the adapter to plug it in at home, but not if you plan to run the AC. That requires more amp usage and could damage the AC unit. For using it, you should have a 30 amp outlet wired in.
Obviously, 30 amps to the camper is optimal. However, my garage sub panel did not have enough oomph to supply 30 to the camper at the same time the house AC (wired from there) was running.

Wired the outside camper outlet with number 10 wire with an RV outlet; but fused it at 20 amps to protect the sub panel. I have NEVER tripped the 20 amp breaker even when running the Air Conditioner. I just never run any big draws at the same time. Heater or AC (OK) but no microwave, etc at the same time.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:54 AM   #28
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
As it worked out at our homestead where we park the camper its to far from any one building and I'm fortunate to have a lineman as a friend .
He brought out his bucket truck and dropped three 6awg wires from our power pole next to the camper were we installed two 30 amp fused disconnects with rv plugs.
I'll post up pics of my install in the spring.


Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:02 AM   #29
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
As it worked out at our homestead where we park the camper its to far from any one building and I'm fortunate to have a lineman as a friend .
He brought out his bucket truck and dropped three 6awg wires from our power pole next to the camper were we installed two 30 amp fused disconnects with rv plugs.
I'll post up pics of my install in the spring.


Turbs
So... not metered?
You are "Da Man".

Stay tuned as he may be visiting after this post!
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:12 AM   #30
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post

So... not metered?
You are "Da Man".

Stay tuned as he may be visiting after this post!
Lol BACK UP THE NON-METERED electrical theft!

This pole is after said metering device ....
Atleast near as I can tell it is.....

Lets see.... that big wire coming in goes over there and the 6 tag wires head to that pole after it runs to house and those three buildings then comes over to this
Pole .....
Yeah it runs through the meter. Right?
Yeah almost certain.


Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:59 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Peachtree City
Posts: 236
Hey guys

I have a 5th wheel with 50 amp service on it. I would like to make a light weight power cord that has a 50 amp male on 1 end( to attach to the rv) and a 15 amp male on the other end( to attach to my electric outlet) I only want to run lights when using this hookup. I get tired of pulling out my heavy50amp cord. Does anyone have any ideas or is there one made for sale??
chiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:07 PM   #32
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
You can use a 15-30 adapter and a 30-50 adapter

Here's a pic of the 15-30 these are about $5-10


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130203_130352.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	50.0 KB
ID:	23840

Here is a 50-30 adapter - you just need one that is the flip-flop of ends from this one. These are about $15-20


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130203_130621.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	23841
Add a 12 or 14 gauge extention cord and your good to go!
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:45 PM   #33
RV Newbie
 
buzzards27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiro View Post
Hey guys

I have a 5th wheel with 50 amp service on it. I would like to make a light weight power cord that has a 50 amp male on 1 end( to attach to the rv) and a 15 amp male on the other end( to attach to my electric outlet) I only want to run lights when using this hookup. I get tired of pulling out my heavy50amp cord. Does anyone have any ideas or is there one made for sale??
Just take a 15amp (14 gage) extension cord the length you need and add the appropriate 50amp female plug to the end of it. http://m.campingworld.com/browse/sku...=54492&rewrote
__________________
2005 FR Lexington 210 6.0L 8500 miles
2007 2500 Silverado Ext. Cab, 6.5' bed 5.7L
2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
1963 Ford 861 5 speed with loader
1958 Ford 800 Select-O-Speed (parts tractor)
buzzards27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:58 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,993
You can purchase an adapter for the 50 amp service with a 15 amp male plug on the end. It is a twist on adapter. The part number in the RV part cat. is 14298. It is not available in Canada.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:27 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiro View Post
Hey guys

I have a 5th wheel with 50 amp service on it. I would like to make a light weight power cord that has a 50 amp male on 1 end( to attach to the rv) and a 15 amp male on the other end( to attach to my electric outlet) I only want to run lights when using this hookup. I get tired of pulling out my heavy50amp cord. Does anyone have any ideas or is there one made for sale??
NOTE= DO NOT make up this cord!! Male on each end is a (DEATH TRAP)!! Even if somone says (I know a guy who has one like that)! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:36 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
Yourocat is absolutely correct - YOU WILL DIE. If not right now...
__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:03 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Peachtree City
Posts: 236
Ok guys, I don't think that I explained correctly what I want to do.
I want to use a cord that will hook to my 5er 50 amp on the side if my rv that runs to my house 15 amp outlet. I am tired of lugging my rv 50 amp cord around at home just to run the lights.
Can you please tell me why making this up would be a death trap?
chiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:09 PM   #38
RV Newbie
 
buzzards27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiro View Post
Ok guys, I don't think that I explained correctly what I want to do.
I want to use a cord that will hook to my 5er 50 amp on the side if my rv that runs to my house 15 amp outlet. I am tired of lugging my rv 50 amp cord around at home just to run the lights.
Can you please tell me why making this up would be a death trap?
I'm guessing it is the two male ends. Once plugged into a power source the prongs on the other end are live.
__________________
2005 FR Lexington 210 6.0L 8500 miles
2007 2500 Silverado Ext. Cab, 6.5' bed 5.7L
2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
1963 Ford 861 5 speed with loader
1958 Ford 800 Select-O-Speed (parts tractor)
buzzards27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:12 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,305
I did in Post#35 Male on both ends! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:24 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,993
This is a 50 to 30 amp adapter. They also make a 50 to 15 amp.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.