RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 09:34 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Proper electrical hook up a home?

A Newbee here with trailer at the house for the first time. What is the right way to hook up electric to house current? Do I have to install a special outlet, is an adapter available at Camping world? Are there switches that have to be thrown? Thanks to anyone who replies. I have a 2011 Forest River Surveyor SP240.
happycampers2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
Welcome to the forum!

All you would need is a 30A to 15A adapter. They sell them everywhere...probably in the RV section of Walmart.

Some have a dedicated 30A outlet to plug into allowing anything in the camper to be powered up. Ensure that it's a 30A 120V outlet not 220V...that mistake has been reported on here many times including work done by hired electricians.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:48 AM   #3
RV Newbie
 
buzzards27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 292
Do not install anything until you have researched the process. Connecting it wrong will damage your wiring. While the plug look a bit like a dryer plug they're different, ask for a RV plug.

This article should get you started. http://www.marxrv.com/12volt/12volt.htm

Sorry, here is the correct site... http://www.myrv.us/electric/index.htm
__________________
2005 FR Lexington 210 6.0L 8500 miles
2007 2500 Silverado Ext. Cab, 6.5' bed 5.7L
2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
1963 Ford 861 5 speed with loader
1958 Ford 800 Select-O-Speed (parts tractor)
buzzards27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:06 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,949
My replies in blue

Quote:
Originally Posted by happycampers2 View Post
A Newbee here with trailer at the house for the first time. What is the right way to hook up electric to house current? What do you have at your house today? Certainly, you have a 15amp or maybe a 20amp circuit, but probably not a 30amp 120volt service. You will need adapters to go from your 30amp TT to the 15 or 20amp receptacle.


Do I have to install a special outlet Take a read through this thread. This is a forum discussion I had before I installed a 30amp service at my house.

Should I install 50 amp or 30 amp service?



is an adapter available at Camping world? Yes, and its always a good idea to carry it with you so you can adapt your 30amp trailer to work with 15amp at the CG if needed.

Are there switches that have to be thrown? No

Thanks to anyone who replies. I have a 2011 Forest River Surveyor SP240.
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
If your rig is 30amp and you do not have a 30 amp RV outlet at home, you can use one of these. You can buy them at Walmart for $10. It will allow you to run some but not all your electrical in your TT. The best way is to have a dedicated 30 amp 120 v RV outlet installed-not 220v. Make sure to hire an electrician who knows RV electrical to avoid frying your converter and appliances- or worse.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:06 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Here is an excellent article on how to do it. If you do hire an electrician make sure he is given a copy before work starts.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 30-amp Service.pdf (64.7 KB, 241 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
LaydBack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 322
I'm an electrician, and I'd encourage you to install the 30A RV outlet. They make one that comes in a weatherproof box. They also make other ones that also have other receptacles in them, depending on what might suit your needs. The reason I suggest the 30A is that people that have them at home tend to hang out in them, and need AC or whatever, so may as well have the proper setup. If you can give me more specifics, I can probably walk/talk you thru it.
__________________
LINK TO MY MODS

2012 F350 King Ranch DRW 6.7L
2013 Sabre 36QBOK-7 Platinum Package
LaydBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:58 PM   #8
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaydBack View Post
I'm an electrician, and I'd encourage you to install the 30A RV outlet. They make one that comes in a weatherproof box. They also make other ones that also have other receptacles in them, depending on what might suit your needs. The reason I suggest the 30A is that people that have them at home tend to hang out in them, and need AC or whatever, so may as well have the proper setup. If you can give me more specifics, I can probably walk/talk you thru it.
X2.-but I would do the 50 amp so you can upgrade your trailer without having to do the electric again.
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:31 AM   #9
Steve Jackson
 
sideout1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Holyoke, Ma
Posts: 382
Is regular household power 110 or120? I get confused when I see these discussions. When I plug my 30amp at home with the adapter am I plugging into 110 or 120?
__________________
2011 Dodge Ram 5.7 HEMI
2011 Flagstaff Classic 29bhss
sideout1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:01 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideout1961 View Post
Is regular household power 110 or120? I get confused when I see these discussions. When I plug my 30amp at home with the adapter am I plugging into 110 or 120?
This should answer your question.

110 Volt Vs. 120 Volt | eHow.com

They are used interchangeably in the US.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideout1961 View Post
Is regular household power 110 or120? I get confused when I see these discussions. When I plug my 30amp at home with the adapter am I plugging into 110 or 120?
110, 115, 120, 125 are used interchangeably they are all refer to the same.
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:22 PM   #12
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh View Post

110, 115, 120, 125 are used interchangeably they are all refer to the same.
X2 kinda like 220 & 240
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,536
i started to add that abt 220 but didn't want it in the same post as 110.

at home, i simply hook up with a 20 power cord. can run most anything just one at a time on the heavy users. will probably run 50 when i finally put a permanent outlet out there.

even if i only required 30 amp, i would be tempted to run the 50 and adapt down. as stated above future use.
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:57 PM   #14
Steve Jackson
 
sideout1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Holyoke, Ma
Posts: 382
Thanks all for the reponses it really helps. What is the need for such a large plug and cable if it is just 110? Is it because of the 30amp power that goes through it or is the service at a campground different than at home. Sorry if the questions seem dumb but electrical service is confusing to me. My only experience is changing outlets and switches at home.
__________________
2011 Dodge Ram 5.7 HEMI
2011 Flagstaff Classic 29bhss
sideout1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:01 PM   #15
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideout1961 View Post
Thanks all for the reponses it really helps. What is the need for such a large plug and cable if it is just 110? Is it because of the 30amp power that goes through it or is the service at a campground different than at home. Sorry if the questions seem dumb but electrical service is confusing to me. My only experience is changing outlets and switches at home.
Yes it is because if the amount of amps that each type of plug can handle or is rated for.
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:09 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
The 30 amp plug with allow you to provide the full 30 amps the rig requires to run most of your electrical devices at the same time. The 15 amp will limit you to half of the juice available with the 30 amp. This will further limit the number of electrical devices you can operate at the same time.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:49 PM   #17
Steve Jackson
 
sideout1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Holyoke, Ma
Posts: 382
Just one more question. I have an unused outlet in my shed next to where the camper is parked. The breaker in the house for this line is 20 amp. Can I switch this out for a single pole 30 amp breaker that is mentioned in the article or is this not the correct thing to do? The camper would be the only thing on this line.
__________________
2011 Dodge Ram 5.7 HEMI
2011 Flagstaff Classic 29bhss
sideout1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:34 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Grizzlygibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 326
Definitely NOT ok. You need to upgrade the wiring as what is in that receptacle is likely 14 gauge romex. Depending on the distance from the box, you should have 10 or 8 gauge to be able to handle the amps!

I am not an electrician but know enough to not get shocked
Grizzlygibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:08 PM   #19
Steve Jackson
 
sideout1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Holyoke, Ma
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizzlygibbs View Post
Definitely NOT ok. You need to upgrade the wiring as what is in that receptacle is likely 14 gauge romex. Depending on the distance from the box, you should have 10 or 8 gauge to be able to handle the amps!

I am not an electrician but know enough to not get shocked
Thanks for the advice. That's why I asked the question don't need any fire hazards!!
__________________
2011 Dodge Ram 5.7 HEMI
2011 Flagstaff Classic 29bhss
sideout1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:19 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Grizzlygibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 326
Indeed!
Grizzlygibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.