Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2022, 06:05 PM   #1

researching self-heating Li batteries

does anyone have experience with self-heating lithium batteries? obviously they are somewhat more expensive than non-heating versions but saves the trouble of removing them from the trailer and taking them inside to put on a battery tender when the trailer is stored (outside) for the winter.
faithie999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2022, 06:43 PM   #2

maybe so, maybe not.

i'm not an expert on this but my understanding is that the self contained heaters work off the incoming charge current provided by the converter. if the temperature is too low the BMS turns the internal heater on and does not pass current through to the battery until the heater warms up the battery. i do not know if it then turns the heater off once the battery reaches the desired minimum temperature. this keeps the battery from being damaged when charging at low temperatures.

they can be safely discharged to lower temperatures than they can be charged at. i do not know it the BMS will stop the discharge if the temperature gets too low. many lithium batteries appear to do this. i also do not know if the BMS can activate the heater using battery power if the temperature gets too low so as to avoid low temperature shut down. this would require that the battery supply power to the actual load and the heater simultaneously.

but even so it is my understanding that an unused battery can tolerate the cold as long as it is not being charged or discharged. so why take it out and put it on a battery tender? lithium is supposed to have a lower self discharge rate than FLA and there are tons of posts about people leaving FLA batteries out all winter.
Old 10-13-2022, 08:56 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by faithie999 View Post