Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2022, 08:51 PM   #1

Sabre 37FBT Batteries not charging

I’m new to this so I’m not sure if there is something that I am overlooking.

The battery switch is turned to the on position. The wave inverter is on to the preinstalled solar panels. When we plug the 7point into the truck, everything works perfectly. After disconnecting from the truck, the batteries last only 5-10 minutes.

I know it would help to plug in the 50amp, but we don’t have access to this at this time. We’re trying to learn how to use the batteries for just the basics so that we can boondock, but can’t get the batteries to run for more than 5-10 minutes.

Anything helps! THank you!
Kvickers96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 01:26 AM   #2

First, stop trying to use the batteries to run the rig. The more you run down the batteries, the less chance you have of saving them.
Charging from your truck isn't going to work. It puts out a trickle charge that isn't going to bring that battery back. How much sun are you getting and how long are you charging the batteries?
The chances are that the batteries may be dead or unable to hold a charge. Have you done any maintenance on those batteries? That's not a judgement, many people don't know how to maintain batteries on an rv.
Unless you have an upgraded solar panel and batteries, you're probably not going to be able to boondock with that rig. A generator would allow you to boondock and keep the appliances, furnace, ac and lights running (although not at the same time)
Old 01-20-2022, 12:57 PM   #3