RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 01:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 14
Shore hookup to 20 amp possible?

We have a TT (30 amp), and found a campground we'd love to visit, but which only offers 20 amp hookups (?). OK.....here's the stupid question(s)

Is it possible to hook up, maybe using an adapter, if there's such a thing for 20-to-30 amps? If so, what major limitations would I have running on 20 vs. 30 amps??

TIA
__________________

Bill, Ann, & Tanner, our canine sidekick
2007 Toyota Tundra
2011 Coachmen Catalina 22FB
Numerous dirt bikes
-and- NO room left in garage!
aberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,280
You can hook up to the 20 amp with an adapter with no problem, except you will have to be very power conscience. You will probably not be able to run the AC, or it might run the AC without any other power draw. You can probably use your microwave with limited draws of electricity elsewhere. Keep the water heater and fridge on propane. Electric lights, a TV and other low wattage appliances should be fine....again without the AC or microwave operating.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:09 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 14
Thank you so much, especially the tip re: fridge and water heater!! We're still new to this and have only been to places with no-brain full hookups. Our next big challenge: NO hookups at all!
__________________

Bill, Ann, & Tanner, our canine sidekick
2007 Toyota Tundra
2011 Coachmen Catalina 22FB
Numerous dirt bikes
-and- NO room left in garage!
aberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:13 PM   #4
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 463
This is the kind of adapter you will need (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...v-20/ref=nosim), follow mtnguy's recommendations and you will be ok.

__________________
Frank & Rita M
2016 Ford F-150 XLT Ecoboost
2017 Rockwood 2703WS
frankm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 03:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Hoo Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 298
also check your local wal mart RV section. They may carry the adaptor you're looking for. I keep my camper hooked to a 20 amp breaker while parked in my driveway. You can experiment some to see if you can run the fridge on electric and see what else will operate if you want to save propane. I will also occasionally run my A/C but little else.
__________________


2011 Rockwood 8285 WS
2011 GMC 3500 HD 4X4, 6.0, 4.10, SRW
Hoo Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 03:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 855
You will find it a challenge but also a fun challenge to see how little outside power you actually need and still live quite comfortably. Before you try boon docking look into two batteries for your trailer. If you camp in the cold a single battery will be dead before the nights out if you attempt to run the furnace. For 20 amp service, keep everything manually switched to propane and you will be fine.
donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
trudinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoo Dad View Post
also check your local wal mart RV section. They may carry the adaptor you're looking for. I keep my camper hooked to a 20 amp breaker while parked in my driveway. You can experiment some to see if you can run the fridge on electric and see what else will operate if you want to save propane. I will also occasionally run my A/C but little else.
We also hook up to a 20-amp breaker in our driveway. We slept in it this summer when our home air-conditioning broke. We had no problem using the air at night, along with the refrigerator and a couple of night lights. So I'm sure you'll be fine with 20-amp service. You'll know if you use too much power.
__________________
2012 Rockwood 8293RKSS
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins Turbodiesel 4x4; 2012 Ford Escape 4x4. 3 very pampered cats.
Days camped: 2011: 61; 2012: 66 Days; 2013: 69;2014: 68 2015: 90 Days camped 2016: 34
trudinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 08:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Malco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Nova Scotia
Posts: 519
We sometimes camp at a campground that only has 20 amp service and find that if we get a site that is close to the main power service we don't have any trouble running things,including the AC,but if we get a site farther down the line from the main it is a challenge to run any large amperage drawing appliance.
__________________
2011 Salem 30kqbss
2013 Ram 2500
2005 Ram 2500
1968 Pontiac Le Mans
Malco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 04:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Namchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
Wow my Xlr toyhauler came with the 30 amp to 20-15amp converter plug. I have run everything except have not tried the AC
Namchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:00 AM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
My 15K AC runs just fine on 20 amps. I also use the radio at the same time and never had a problem.

Just watch what you use when the compressor is running.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:33 AM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,280
Come to think of it, I did run my AC occasionally off of a 15 amp GFI before I put in my 30 amp receptacle. The outdoor extension cord got warm, but not hot.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 10:21 AM   #12
Member
 
alageezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 74
We've been plugging into a 20 amp plug at my sisters house for a couple years now when we visit. Had trouble this year until it dawned on me I had the water heater electric element turned on.
__________________
2012 Signature 8285WS
2010 Ram 2500 w/Cummins
alageezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 09:00 PM   #13
Member
 
chucker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 55
Hi everyone. We haven't taken delivery yet of our Rockwood A-Frame however I am wondering if anyone else out there with the A-Frames has had experience using them on a 15-amp service. I can't find any specs on the 'cool-cat' heat pump online so I have no idea what to expect. Reason for the 15amp site is it is the only site we can get close to a music festival we are going to attend early in the summer. (no more expensive cottages yeah!).

Thanks
chucker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.