Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2015, 09:35 AM   #1

Shore power problem in 2011 Sunseeker 3170

Looks like I may have taken a surge while plugged into shore power. There have been thunderstorms in the area, so a surge from that is a definite possibility. Male 30 Amp plug was melted a bit at the base of one contact and much corrosion on contacts. Replaced male plug, and all A/C systems in rig work.

But.... batteries under the steps don't charge when plugged into shore power and lights are dim. I'm new to this rig, and don't know exactly how it is wired. Batteries charged when I drove it, so batteries aren't bad. All systems work well on the generator and lights are brighter.

Based on all this, I'm assuming the power converter that runs the 12 V systems and charges the batteries from shore power has been fried. I'm assuming the 55Amp power converter that is next to shore power line in the undercarriage is what I should be looking at. It feels warm to touch when plugged in. Both 35A fuses are still good.

I'd welcome any input on my diagnoses. Is the power converter easy to swap out?

Many thanks in advance - heading out with the kids on a three week trip next Friday and hoping to resolve this quickly.
Andersunseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 09:44 AM   #2

Your converter is still in the system when you are switched over to generator. A warm converter is normal.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 10:30 AM   #3

I read a bunch of related threads regarding the converter. From those threads I gleaned that my WFCO converter is not very reliable (putting it kindly based on other's posts), and it has a fan that is supposed to run. Never heard the fan run - I've only had the rig for 5 months, but sure haven't heard it when I've been trying to figure out what's wrong over the past few days.