Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-14-2021, 06:55 AM   #1

Solar & battery upgrade questions

Currently with my 1 x 190 watt Gopower panel and 2 x 100 ah batteries on a cloudy travel day my batteries are sometimes as low 12.2 to 12.4 volts when we stop for the day. The residential fridge sux power. With campground sites sometimes harder to find on short notice I would like to be able to boondock overnight for 1 maybe 2 nights at a time without killing my batteries. I'm a total newbie to this solar power stuff. I am adding 2x 190 watt Gopower panels to my factory 190 watt system for a total of 570 watts and replacing the 2 12 volt x100 ah FLA batteries with either 2 of the 6 volt 224ah AGM or 4 of them if needed. My fridge specs claim 3.3 ah or 379 watts. I was also thinking off getting a separate 500 or 1000 watt inverter that I could just clip onto the batteries if we wanted to watch a couple of hours on the 50 inch led tv and power a 1.1 amp fan. Does that sound doable with my additions or am I going about this wrong? I'm not interested in lithium batteries at this time. Advice appreciated.
2019 Hemisphere GLX 273RL Sold
Teamster4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 07:26 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamster4life View Post