Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2013, 09:15 AM   #1

Solar MPPT Charge controller advice

I'm looking at the controller below.

Morningstar TS-MPPT-60 TriStar 60 Amp

I have already purchased a PWM controller but when I started doing the math for the length of the copper wire run and wattage going to the controller I realized I'd be better coming in at 24v or higher. I already have a 30 amp PWM controller but I'm thinking I'll use that as a backup and maybe charge car batteries with it or something.

Is this a good MPPT controller? Not much interested in Outback. Also can I get by without a battery monitor and just this charge controller with the addon display panel?
apollumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:04 AM   #2

Morningstar is a well know, highly respected company with excellent products. I have no first hand experience with their products though. Pricy but highly rated.
Old 02-20-2013, 09:40 AM   #3

Thanks for the feedback. I had pretty much decided on this charge controller but as with anybody new to something I'm apprehensive about choosing a wrong direction. About like when I built my long range rifle. Didn't read enough and built a rifle on 30-06 and then had to turn around and spend another grand plus on building it on 308.
Old 02-24-2013, 02:12 PM   #4

Thanks for the variety of help with this and mostly the other posts. I went with the Morningstar 60amp MPPT charger and remote display for it. For the inverter I went with a Xantrex 1000watt pure sine wave with remote on/off switch. I'm off here in a little bit to purchase the frame materials for my solar install. I think you guys will be impressed with my unique approach.
Old 02-24-2013, 02:49 PM   #5
Denver, CO

We will need pictures of everything to prove it really is happening. And so we can do it without learning all your lessons.
Old 02-24-2013, 06:34 PM   #6