Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2014, 09:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 192
Stupid Question - is 30amp always offered on a 50amp site?

I know this is probably a stupid question but here goes. I've been researching camping spots for our next trip. I've seen where they list 50 amp sites but do not mention 30 amp which is what our Aframe uses.

When they mention 50 amp does that automatically include 30 amp also?

Thanks
__________________
Tow Vehicle: 2012 Durango 3.6 Pentastar Engine
Total nights camping 2014-(10)
Total Nights Camping 2015-(9)
Total Nights Camping 2016-(5)
Total Nights Camping 2017-(4)
Total Nights Camping 2018-(7)
mlsa3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:06 AM   #2
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 20,684
Almost always. I have never found a campground that didn't have 30amp spots with the 50amp sites, but I read about it. In those cases, the campground offered 50amp to 30amp adapters that they loaned out for folks in 30amp rigs.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:07 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
CSMRetired's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: N. Central Texas
Posts: 1,105
usually, what I understand it to mean is they can cater to anyone up to 50amp
just in case though, in your case it wouldn't hurt to have a 50 amp to 30 amp pigtail (dogbone)

hope that helped
__________________

'Pa Pa's Palace'

2014 Sportscoach Crosscountry 405FK
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
CSMRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSMRetired View Post
usually, what I understand it to mean is they can cater to anyone up to 50amp
just in case though, in your case it wouldn't hurt to have a 50 amp to 30 amp pigtail (dogbone)

hope that helped
Yes.
I would rather spend the money to buy one and not need it.
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
avolnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 630
I agree with both comments above! Typically they SHOULD have the 30amp as well.

I always carry a 50-30amp adapter with me just in case... If you do this I want to suggest you look at your circuit panel in your camper and verify it has a main 30amp breaker! I have run across one or two that for whatever reason didn't have that main breaker! By not having that and if you were to hook up to the 50 amp breaker on the pole with your 30 amp cord that cord is NOT protected by over amp protection correctly and can cause an issue. Typically though like I said you should have that breaker.
__________________

TV- 2015 Ram 2500 CCLB 6.7 Cummins 3.42 gears
Camper - 2015 Saber 322BHTS
avolnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by avolnek View Post
I agree with both comments above! Typically they SHOULD have the 30amp as well.

I always carry a 50-30amp adapter with me just in case... If you do this I want to suggest you look at your circuit panel in your camper and verify it has a main 30amp breaker! I have run across one or two that for whatever reason didn't have that main breaker! By not having that and if you were to hook up to the 50 amp breaker on the pole with your 30 amp cord that cord is NOT protected by over amp protection correctly and can cause an issue. Typically though like I said you should have that breaker.
HMMM... Something ELSE to worry about..
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:22 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
avolnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 630
not to worry about, to check is all...
__________________

TV- 2015 Ram 2500 CCLB 6.7 Cummins 3.42 gears
Camper - 2015 Saber 322BHTS
avolnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:24 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it understood that EVERY campground has 30 AMP? Now not every campground will have 50 AMP and that is why they advertise it. So yes, if you pick a site that is 50 AMP, you might want to have the dog bone but I generally assume every other site would have 30 AMP unless specifically stated otherwise.
__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:29 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
And then get out your meter and make sure its the correct voltage before plugging in.....
Unless you have a progressive industries ems surge guard .....

TURBS

Goshen is my playground.
The last man standing also has a sharpie
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:33 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by avolnek View Post
not to worry about, to check is all...
I remember a post about how they arrive at the 50 amp service...or at least residential 50 amp. They use one side as L1 120v 20-30 amps then L2 as 120v 20-30 amps to get the total of 45-55 amps 120v split from a 220v service... I was like what ?? I can do basic electric and am fairly confident about all home psrojects, but I wasn't clear on this deal. I know that you have 2-120v legs, 1 neutral and one earth gound. They were splitting a 50 amp RV site to (2) 30 amps with a cord and running two connectors inside the RV. I am good on most of that until they mentioned the actual pole being 220v and "the RV" connector split the service. I was like "what". I decided i would have to research... classified as "something else to worry about"
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:43 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlsa3 View Post
I know this is probably a stupid question but here goes. I've been researching camping spots for our next trip. I've seen where they list 50 amp sites but do not mention 30 amp which is what our Aframe uses.

When they mention 50 amp does that automatically include 30 amp also?

Thanks
Not always! Youroo!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_1023.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	46249   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_1024.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	46250  
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:43 AM   #12
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by travyp View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it understood that EVERY campground has 30 AMP? Now not every campground will have 50 AMP and that is why they advertise it. So yes, if you pick a site that is 50 AMP, you might want to have the dog bone but I generally assume every other site would have 30 AMP unless specifically stated otherwise.
There are a few campgrounds (and camping spots) that only have 50 amp service. As others pointed out, these places usually have an adapter they loan out to the 30 amp RV'ers when needed.................but it doesn't hurt to have your own anyway. I have encountered several spots at my local campgrounds that had bad/loose 30 amp outlets, and thus needed my adapter to plug into their 50 amp outlet. The adapter is 50 amp male, 30 amp female.

You can usually find these dogbone adapters at your local Wal-mart in their RV section. We have discussed before how Wal-mart has the description wrong but the picture correct for this product.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Road-Power...nches/16817357

or if you are an Amazon shopper:

http://www.amazon.com/Voltec-16-0050...amp+rv+adapter

or a Camping World customer:

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...-handles/69614
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:10 AM   #13
AKA: 'tiredTeacher
 
awellis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by travyp View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it understood that EVERY campground has 30 AMP?
OK - you are corrected. I just learned this 2 weeks ago on a long trip to Florida. Many RV parks who cater to long-term campers (as in Florida) don't go through the added expense of running multiple services.
Quote:
I generally assume every other site would have 30 AMP unless specifically stated otherwise.
Now you are correct. The 50A-only campgrounds tell you on their websites and reservation forms to bring your adptors. Not all have "loaners."

Teach
__________________
Wright and Penny
(with Fitz and Lizzie, the camping kitties)
Richmond, Va.
2010 Tundra 4X4 5.7L V8
2014 Rockwood 2604WS
Life is a cruel teacher. She gives the test first; the lesson then follows.
awellis3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:30 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by awellis3 View Post
OK - you are corrected. I just learned this 2 weeks ago on a long trip to Florida. Many RV parks who cater to long-term campers (as in Florida) don't go through the added expense of running multiple services.

Now you are correct. The 50A-only campgrounds tell you on their websites and reservation forms to bring your adptors. Not all have "loaners."

Teach
I read too much into the original post.

How I saw the question is this. The OP sees sites that specifically state 50 AMP. No where do they see anything mentioning anything about 30 AMP on any of the sites. What I was stating is that the OP doesn't necessarily have to worry about picking a special site that states 30 AMP because it is understood that they "all" (being anything not stated at 50 AMP) to be 30 AMP. Guess I should have just answered the only real question in the post.
__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 11:08 AM   #15
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
To add another scenario to the need for a 50 to 30 adapter. I once arrived at a campground where the shared a pole for every two sites. The pole had a 30A and a 50A. When I pulled in the other site was already occupied and that guy was plugged into the 30A. If I didn't have an adapter with me, I would have been S.O.L. on having power.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 12:50 PM   #16
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
To add another scenario to the need for a 50 to 30 adapter. I once arrived at a campground where the shared a pole for every two sites. The pole had a 30A and a 50A. When I pulled in the other site was already occupied and that guy was plugged into the 30A. If I didn't have an adapter with me, I would have been S.O.L. on having power.
This happens a lot.

Additionally, I have been in spots where the 30 amp socket was so corroded or loose that it was unusable/dangerous. Plugging into the 50 amp socket with an adapter has saved moving several times.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 01:09 PM   #17
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
Almost always. I have never found a campground that didn't have 30amp spots with the 50amp sites, but I read about it. In those cases, the campground offered 50amp to 30amp adapters that they loaned out for folks in 30amp rigs.
My experience also. And 20 amp outlets are usually there too.
__________________
2018 Forester 3011 DS

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 01:12 PM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
not always are they 20 amp outlets either but rather 15.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 01:22 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 2,647
In the last two years I had to use my 30 to 50 (my trailer is 30) twice as that is all they had.

One time I had to use my 30 to 15 adapter, as the last guy in that spot had pulled out and had forgot to unplug his power cord. Shattered the plug. The former camper 'forgot' to tell the campground host and as it was a Friday night and was told it could not be 'fixed' until Monday morning.
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:01 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Chuckinca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Summerfield, FL
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
This happens a lot.

Additionally, I have been in spots where the 30 amp socket was so corroded or loose that it was unusable/dangerous. Plugging into the 50 amp socket with an adapter has saved moving several times.

DITTO.

Also have been in parks where all the working 30 amp sites were taken and only 50 amp was available. Sometimes they will lend you a 50 to 30 adapter and sometimes not - bought one just in case.

.
__________________
2018 Flagstaff 29KSWS
2008 Ram Laramie 3500 Megacab 4x4 Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
Chuckinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.