RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 12:26 PM   #41
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
yes you still buy a 50 amp EMS
cost varies by where you buy it. "amazon" Ebay etc etc or through actual manufacture.
very happy with purchase
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 10:12 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 60
Frank Autotransformer

Franks Autotranformer

I have used it in a lot of places and had to move because the power was wrong at the post. If you dont use franks please use something.

RONN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 06:07 PM   #43
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
4 wires easy, color coded . Hardest part is wrestling w the 6 gauge wire.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:35 PM   #44
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Here's pics of the PI 50 install in my camper. It is very cool. I didn't make it unpluggable, bu probably should of.

By the way what does the little switch do on the side of the remote. It says off in one position and reads normal in the other.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:40 PM   #45
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Grrr. Here is pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	29202  
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:45 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
By the way what does the little switch do on the side of the remote. It says off in one position and reads normal in the other.
That's the "bypass". It tells the unit to turn on the power even when it's got an error code telling you that it doesn't think it should. "Off" means that the protection is off (eg, bypassed). Use that setting only if you've verified that there really is something wrong with the PI unit and nothing wrong with the power connections.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:07 PM   #47
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
That's the "bypass". It tells the unit to turn on the power even when it's got an error code telling you that it doesn't think it should. "Off" means that the protection is off (eg, bypassed). Use that setting only if you've verified that there really is something wrong with the PI unit and nothing wrong with the power connections.
Barry correct me iph I'm wrong but that switch just bypasses low and high voltage.
Surge suppression still works with switch to off.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:14 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Barry correct me iph I'm wrong but that switch just bypasses low and high voltage.
Surge suppression still works with switch to off.

Turbs
I think it's more correct to say that it bypasses anything that is an error code (which is more than just high/low voltage). And you're absolutely right that it does not turn off "Spike" suppression. Note that an E10 code means that you have no Spike suppression, bypassed or not.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:43 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,882
I have this 50 amp Progressive Industries EMS-LCHW50
EMS-LCHW50C

It also has build-in bypass in case you blow your surge protection and still needs power. You then send in the surge circuit board that is replaced easily by plugging it into the main circuit board.
All other you have to replace or send the whole thing in for repair.
This has really protected my motrohome when I wa soutside the USA and the power was as high as 131 volts per leg. This shuts down until the power gets back in a normal range.
I installed it myself by cutting my main cable and installing inbetween.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new 004.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	29207  
__________________
By All
No longer a member here.
Dec 12, 2020
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:57 PM   #50
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Ahhh thanks. Will that prevent the need for a way to unplug it?
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:59 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
...
It also has build-in bypass in case you blow your surge protection and still needs power. You then send in the surge circuit board that is replaced easily by plugging it into the main circuit board.
When the "surge protection" (MOVs) blow, this turns on the E10 code but does NOT turn off power to your RV, so "Bypass" is unneeded in that case. The "bypass" is to bypass other error codes (and should only be done if you really know what you're doing or have been told to do it by PI tech support).
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:08 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Ahhh thanks. Will that prevent the need for a way to unplug it?
I think only PI could tell you if it will *always* be possible to make repairs to components rather than having to send in the whole box.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:19 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Ahhh thanks. Will that prevent the need for a way to unplug it?
Yes it is hard wired in and no one can steal it unless they breakin and rip it out. No one knows its there from the outside. That was another reson I bought it. It has a short delay when hooking up shore power and checks all the parameters before closing the contactor inside. Also the small led screen shows the voltage, amps, freq., and any past faults.

It was a great choice for me.
$289 on ebay with free shipping is a great price for the 50 amp version.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Progressive-...505#vi-content
__________________
By All
No longer a member here.
Dec 12, 2020
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:41 PM   #54
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
I did the hardware version, but turb's also put in disconnect and I'm wondering why if the switch turns it off.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:18 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
I did the hardware version, but turb's also put in disconnect and I'm wondering why if the switch turns it off.
The disconnect connectors that Turbs has are great for the event that either a) Something were to happen where PI would need the entire unit sent in and you still want power or b) let's say you sell your rig and want to pull it out to move to your new one (or sell if you change and require a different EMS unit like moving from a 30 to a 50) just disconnect the PI and plug the wires together.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:48 PM   #56
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
The disconnect connectors that Turbs has are great for the event that either a) Something were to happen where PI would need the entire unit sent in and you still want power or b) let's say you sell your rig and want to pull it out to move to your new one (or sell if you change and require a different EMS unit like moving from a 30 to a 50) just disconnect the PI and plug the wires together.
Ahhhh. I see said der blind man.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:56 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post

Ahhhh. I see said der blind man.
Works like a champ too! I speak from experience (went from 30 amp to 50 amp) and I was able to remove and sell the PI pretty easily!
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:19 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
When the "surge protection" (MOVs) blow, this turns on the E10 code but does NOT turn off power to your RV, so "Bypass" is unneeded in that case. The "bypass" is to bypass other error codes (and should only be done if you really know what you're doing or have been told to do it by PI tech support).
Thanks for the correction about if the MOV board blows.
I used the bypass wire one time when I needed power and the campground power was above the max limit of the device.
Either way it is worth the few $$'s
Thanks
__________________
By All
No longer a member here.
Dec 12, 2020
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 06:00 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Is this possible??? We purchased a Progressive Industries 50 Amp Hardwired Integrated Display EMS-LCHW50C, we asked Camping World to install..... the following is from Camping World...."Since the surge protector has a display, it has to be mounted in a place where you can see it. If we mount it by the transfer switch, it will be hidden behind a wall and you will have zero access. So the tech needs to run wire from the transfer switch, to a place where it would be accessible to the human eye and not hidden away. The cost to install it is $423.00. We did not want to proceed unless we had authorization from you. Is this possible?????
That's a lot of $$$$ for an install?????
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 06:05 PM   #60
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogey3025 View Post
Is this possible??? We purchased a Progressive Industries 50 Amp Hardwired Integrated Display EMS-LCHW50C, we asked Camping World to install..... the following is from Camping World...."Since the surge protector has a display, it has to be mounted in a place where you can see it. If we mount it by the transfer switch, it will be hidden behind a wall and you will have zero access. So the tech needs to run wire from the transfer switch, to a place where it would be accessible to the human eye and not hidden away. The cost to install it is $423.00. We did not want to proceed unless we had authorization from you. Is this possible?????
That's a lot of $$$$ for an install?????
Lol !
Mine took 30 minutes to install.
And my moniter panel is near the floor.
When I open my camper door and look in its at eye level.

Cw scam.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.