RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2020, 05:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Tripped breaker

Hello. Starting today microwave, coffee pot and couple outlets and lights stopped working. I have a sub panel in bedroom labeled microwave and gfi. Both breakers are not tripped and wondering if they can be tied to a gfi somewhere or can it be something else. Thank you in advance
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:02 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 15,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobiyle View Post
Hello. Starting today microwave, coffee pot and couple outlets and lights stopped working. I have a sub panel in bedroom labeled microwave and gfi. Both breakers are not tripped and wondering if they can be tied to a gfi somewhere or can it be something else. Thank you in advance

Give us the year, model of your unit and which division built it.


Your title says "Tripped breaker". Which breaker tripped?
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 108; booked = 32
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:06 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
1997 Covington lx 32 footer. I think there is a hidden gfi somewhere because I reset all the breakers but the sub panel in bedroom only says microwave and gfis. But the coffee pot, 2 outlets and 1 light in kitchen are not working.
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:10 PM   #4
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 23,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobiyle View Post
1997 Covington lx 32 footer. I think there is a hidden gfi somewhere because I reset all the breakers but the sub panel in bedroom only says microwave and gfis. But the coffee pot, 2 outlets and 1 light in kitchen are not working.
Since your RV is not a FR product and a brand I've never heard of, all I can say is that normally the bathroom GFI outlet is the one with the reset button.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:14 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
It could be multiple circuits but can’t find any that are tripped. Strange coincidence if they are and should be on separate circuits and they both went same day along with 2 outlets and light. Could there be something else I am missing ?
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:16 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Also, I checked bathroom and no outlet there or anywhere else is a gfi with a reset. That’s what’s confusing. Sub panel says gfis but can’t find any
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:21 PM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,632
Are you getting power to that sub panel?
I'd suspect that as both GFCI and Microwave aren't getting power.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,628
Running a electric coffee pot and the microwave will probably trip the 15 amp breaker since both draw about 15 amps each...

Just reset it and don't overload the circuits. Turn all breakers Off and then back On.

-- Chuck
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:24 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Didn’t check yet but plan on it in the morning. I also reset main breakers and still nothing. Would the sub panel be on one of the main breakers or could it be one of the circuits on a fuse. All the fuses I believe are 15 amp but there are 2 20 amp
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:26 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Thanks Chuck. I did reset all breakers but not even the clocks come on on either. Could the sub panel be ram off one of the 20 amp fuses instead of a breaker in the main panel
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:27 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Going to check sub panel in morning.
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:30 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Maybe coming out of the sub panel is one circuit for microwave and the other circuit for gfi and coffee pot. Now that I think about it, the sub panel has 2 tandem breakers. If anything like house wiring that would mean 4 separate circuits correct
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:49 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,628
Don't confuse breakers (115vAC) with fuses (12vDC).

How many amps is your main panel, 30a or 50a? Running multiple 15a appliances like coffee pot, microwave, and maybe a space heater will rarely work.

-- Chuck
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2020, 06:51 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
30 amp. So the fuses are 12 volt and the the breakers are 120 for shore power ? I am on shore power when this is happening if that helps
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 09:01 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,628
Correct. Fuses are 12vDC which is not a factor here. Breakers are for 115vAC and the total power available is 30 amps. This isn't like at home where you probably have 150 - 200 amps available. If you have an AC device or socket that's not working it's a breaker. Breakers are rarely bad but often don't look tripped when they are, hence the recommendation to cycle all of them Off and back On. Same with cycling the GFCI outlet in the bathroom.

I think (from this distance) you're overloading the AC power system, perhaps dramatically. But the main 30 amp breaker isn't tripping so it's a mystery.

Microwave: 1100 watts
Coffee pot: 1500 watts
Water heater: 1500 watts
This all adds up to 4100 watts which at 110/1210 volts is over 30 amps and these loads don't include the converter charging the battery, running the lights, and powering the refrigerator and furnace.

-- Chuck
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 09:48 AM   #16
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,077
are you getting any 120 volt ac power to anything? Have you checked to see if the breaker at the pedestal you have your RV plugged into has power or a tripped breaker?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 10:20 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
So here is what I found out today so far.
Ac units are working. 1 outlet at kitchen counter are working. Bathroom light and outlet are working And lighting is working except 1 in kitchen.

This is what is not working
All outlets except the one in kitchen
No microwave or coffee pot
And one light in kitchen
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 03:54 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: South Central Virginia
Posts: 138
If you have an inverter check the breaker/reset on it. If too much was drawn through it, even while off, it may trip as it does a “pass through” when on shore power.
WanderMore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 04:00 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Is the inverter where all the breakers and fuses are
Mobiyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2020, 04:06 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: South Central Virginia
Posts: 138
The item with all the breakers and fuses is the converter. It takes in AC, distributes it and converts AC to DC and distributes that, including charging your batteries.

Manufacturers mount inverters all over the place. If you have one it could be under the bed, in a cargo bay, etc.
WanderMore is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.