Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-25-2016, 03:50 PM   #1

Upgrade Battery and Charger and add Inverter Advice Needed

Greeting fellow Forest River RV owners. I am a relative newbie to the RVing world and this is my first post, so be patient with me.

I want to upgrade the 90AH Centennial battery and the battery charger that is built into the WFCO 8955 electric panel that came factory installed in my 2016 Rockwood 8265WS FW. I also want to add a DC to AC inverter.

When I am without shore power, I would like to be able to watch TV in the evenings, make coffee in the AM and run the Microwave for 1-3 minutes at a time as much as two times per day. I would also want to run a couple of laptops for a couple hours a day and charge cell phones. I have done some rough estimates, and believe I would not typically use more that 100AH on any given day.

I am currently thinking about doing the following:

1) add 2 new Lifeline GPL-6CT 6V 300AH batteries connected in series
2) add a stand alone Iota DLS 55 charger to be plugged into my generator or shore power (would switch off breaker to built-in WFCO converter when Iota charger is plugged in)
3) Add a Xantrex PROWatt 2000 - 2000 amp inverter.

I would use 2/0 GA wire for the battery interconnection and from the batteries to the inverter (with a 300amp fuse in line to the inverter). I would then use 4GA wire from the charger to the batteries. I would leave the cabling from the batteries to the WFCO panel the same. Both the charger and inverter would be installed in the pass through compartment just behind the front storage compartment where my batteries will be.

I have a Champion 2000W portable generator that I would run during daylight hours as needed to recharge the battery bank.

My WFCO panel has six breakers in addition to the main breaker.
1) 15Amp breaker providing AC power to the Refrigerator and rear AC