Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2020, 01:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Using 50A Outlet for 30A RV

Any issues with getting an adapter and plugging my 30A trailer into a 50A outlet? Sometimes parks fill up and this is the only thing available.
Nodaksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 89
Nope, not at all.
We run our 50A trailer most of the time on the 30A side. We don't need the 50 Amp in our trailer, but it's pre-wired that way for dual A/C units. You should be good to go, unless you're running 2 or 3 A/C units at the same time. Then you might have issues.
__________________
Greg, Janelle, Tenley, & Ellis
2019 Palomino Puma QBSS
TV: 2015 Silverado Z71
Other toys: 2007 Rinker Captiva w/Monster tower & rack
GXPWeasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,274
It shoul;d be fine just have the correct dog bone adapter.
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
IchLiebeBier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 303
I do it anytime the 50amp is available at my site. I figure if something trips, it'll be in the camper before the pedestal. That way I don't have to walk outside to reset it.

Why does it trip? Usually the wife running the hairdryer without turning off the AC (the HW Heater element is on, too). Happens at least once every trip.

I usually run a piece of duct tape over the connection between the camper cord and the dog bone to keep water out if it rains.
__________________
2019 Heritage Glen LTZ 272RL
2018 Ram 2500 CTD
IchLiebeBier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 102
Order a RENOGY 50 TO 30 amp adapter at Home depot. You have to type in RENOGY to find it . Under 15.00 dollars ,and free pick up . arrives fast. Remember to check prongs frequently for scorching. No adapter lasts forever.
Thomas ho is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:43 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Thanks to all. I'll pickup and adapter and carry it in the rig.
Nodaksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 12:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 113
I always carry one with me. On our last outing, everything was working great until I turned on the AC. Ac tripped the 30 pedestal breaker, never had this happen before, so I figured a weak breaker in the ped. so I used my adapter on the 50 amp side, and problem solved.
Wolf26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 12:59 PM   #8
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,346
Not a problem. But understand, you will still have only 30 amps to work with.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodaksilver View Post
Any issues with getting an adapter and plugging my 30A trailer into a 50A outlet? Sometimes parks fill up and this is the only thing available.
__________________
2018 Forester 3011 DS

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:30 PM   #9
PhD, Common Sense
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcheatwood View Post
Not a problem. But understand, you will still have only 30 amps to work with.
Actually, assuming that the 50-amp receptacle has a properly working 50-amp breaker, there will be 50 amps available throughout the length of the 30-amp cable, all the way until the first working 30-amp breaker, likely your RVís main breaker.

After that working 30-amp breaker, there will only be 30 amps available.
eye95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:58 PM   #10
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wilderness CG, WI
Posts: 4,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas ho View Post
Order a RENOGY 50 TO 30 amp adapter at Home depot. You have to type in RENOGY to find it . Under 15.00 dollars ,and free pick up . arrives fast. Remember to check prongs frequently for scorching. No adapter lasts forever.
You need to turn off the pedestal breaker when plugging / unplugging. If you do not then every time you plug in or unplug there is arcing while the breaker is live.
__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS Classic Super Lite
2018 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Z71 4WD All Star Edition
Camping since 1989, seasonal since 2000
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
The Faster I Go, The Behinder I Get.
Scrapper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 03:55 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northen IL
Posts: 4,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by eye95 View Post
Actually, assuming that the 50-amp receptacle has a properly working 50-amp breaker, there will be 50 amps available throughout the length of the 30-amp cable, all the way until the first working 30-amp breaker, likely your RVís main breaker.

After that working 30-amp breaker, there will only be 30 amps available.
That's a lot of words to simply say that you agree.
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 04:13 PM   #12
PhD, Common Sense
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwritecode View Post
That's a lot of words to simply say that you agree.
I didnít agree. I didnít want anyone left with the impression that there was no way that 50 amps would come roaring down that cable from that 50-amp receptacle. The post I was replying to left that possible misimpression.

The only thing that stops the 50 amps is the trailerís 30-amp breakeróif it is functioning. And then only from the breaker forward. Nothing before the breaker is protected.

It is important that folks know that a 50-amp receptacle to a 30-amp receptacle adapter merely adapts the plug and does not reduce the possible current passing through and out of the adapter.
eye95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 04:34 PM   #13
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by eye95 View Post
Actually, assuming that the 50-amp receptacle has a properly working 50-amp breaker, there will be 50 amps available throughout the length of the 30-amp cable, all the way until the first working 30-amp breaker, likely your RVís main breaker.

After that working 30-amp breaker, there will only be 30 amps available.
It may be present inside the cord but it's hardly available.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 64; booked = 30
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 04:41 PM   #14
PhD, Common Sense
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
It may be present inside the cord but it's hardly available.
It is available in the sense that any combination of devices drawing up to 50 amps would cause up to 50 amps to flow down the cable unless and until it was stopped by a functional breaker with a lower amperage.

That is my sole point.

I have made it. I won’t bother to continue. Moving on.
eye95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:03 PM   #15
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,871
Wow, talk about insisting on the last word.....
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-35
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:13 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
I run with the 50 amp plug converter all the time. TIP: you can push the 30A to 50A plug connector back up and under the lid of most junction boxes so the rain wont get to the plug. Happy RV'ing
r1666a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 06:00 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: California
Posts: 7,057
I have 100,000A available at my house until it hits my 200A main breaker!
__________________
2017 Coachmen 233RBS
2018 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5 Eco
"Common sense is not very common"
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 07:00 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
JWood422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: At home
Posts: 416
While weíre arguing, someone please settle my own personal dilemma. I have 2-2000 watt Champion inverter generators that I plug together for my trailer. The plugger-inner thing has a 30 amp socket that has to have an RV plug adapter which I donít have. But it also has a 50 amp outlet and I DO have a 50 amp to 30 amp dogbone. I use what I have so as not to have to buy an adapter. It seems to work fine. Am I creating a potential problem for myself?
JWood422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 07:01 PM   #19
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,437
The perception that there is 50a of current in your shore power cord the moment you use a dogbone adapter is a common misnomer.

Current can't flow unless there is a load of some sort so just because you are connected to a 50a service, if nothing is drawing current, the electric supply isn't sitting there 'pumping' 50a into your cord, waiting for something to use it.

Since your 30a R/V can only draw 30a before the R/Vs breaker will trip, there isn't an extra 20a of current sitting in your cord. The amount of current (amps) in your cord will only ever be the amount you are drawing through it.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=88
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 07:02 PM   #20
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWood422 View Post
While weíre arguing, someone please settle my own personal dilemma. I have 2-2000 watt Champion inverter generators that I plug together for my trailer. The plugger-inner thing has a 30 amp socket that has to have an RV plug adapter which I donít have. But it also has a 50 amp outlet and I DO have a 50 amp to 30 amp dogbone. I use what I have so as not to have to buy an adapter. It seems to work fine. Am I creating a potential problem for myself?
No.
What you are doing is perfectly fine.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=88
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.