Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2014, 06:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
KDHfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 976
Using a 30A Extension Cord

Would using a 25' extension cord reduce the amount of amps available to me? The cost difference between a 25' extension cord and a 50' direct cord is well over $100. I was wondering how many here use an extension cord and if you notice any drop in available power?
I am prepping for an 11-day camping trip at an electric only campground. It's our family favorite... huge sites, clean and no-alcohol allowed (but more like no alcohol visible)... so very family friendly. With the sites so big and staying so long, i want to be able to set up exactly where i want, rather than where my power cord will allow. Opinions?
Thanks!
__________________
2015 Coachmen Apex 288BHS
2014 Toyota Tundra CrewMax 5.7L
KDHfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 06:35 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,244
No noticeable drop if its a (Good 30A Cord)! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 06:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,966
Using a 25' extension cord will not reduce your amperage. The longer cord you use the more voltage loss will occur but this should not be a concern here. That is what I use and no issues.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped:2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019(28)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 07:00 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
No noticeable drop if its a (Good 30A Cord)! Youroo!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
Using a 25' extension cord will not reduce your amperage. The longer cord you use the more voltage loss will occur but this should not be a concern here. That is what I use and no issues.
Ditto, and as fonzie stated, the longer cord, the more voltage loss you may incur (not amps)
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I'm trying to keep up with the Joneses, but every time I catch up, they refinance.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 07:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
KDHfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 976
Thanks all.

FR Forums... better than google!
__________________
2015 Coachmen Apex 288BHS
2014 Toyota Tundra CrewMax 5.7L
KDHfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 07:41 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
This should help.

Voltage drop calculator.

http://www.southwire.com/support/vol...calculator.htm



TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
Attached Images
 
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 08:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
This should help.

Voltage drop calculator.

Voltage Drop Calculator



TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
I'd imagine, by the time you got to 10awg, the loss wouldn't be worth talking about, with a 50 foot run.
katkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.