Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-09-2012, 05:13 PM   #21
Site Team - Lou

Quote:
Originally Posted by States02 View Post
Hi all, I'm new to the forum and just getting ready to set up solar in our new Winnie 2013. We previously had a Class C with 415 watts of panels on the roof running to a TriStar 45 MPPT controller and feeding three 12 volt AGM batteries. We lived full time on the solar for the last two years (except a few months in the winters) with no problems, of course we didn't use the microwave except for an extra cupboard. We also got a mellita drip coffee pot where you heat water on the stove and then pour through the filter. I'm no expert on this and very challenged with the math, but I'm a little handy and willing to give it a try. We were amazed at how freeing the solar panels were. We bought most of our stuff from Northern Arizona Wind and Sun and bought these panels from Solar Panels, PV Systems and Inverters Distributor we're going with more power on the roof this time, but could probably get by with less. Anyway, I guess I'm just encouraging you and offering to answer any specific questions you may have.
If you ever decide to spend some time in PA or NJ, I would love to sit down with you and pick your brain to put together an "off the grid" system.
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:16 PM   #22

Location: Fulltimers mostly Colorado, New York State, and winter in Texas.
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
If you ever decide to spend some time in PA or NJ, I would love to sit down with you and pick your brain to put together an "off the grid" system.

We actually go to Pittsburgh and then usually on up to Northern New York. Don't usually get to the east of PA though. Happy to email or gab on the phone. PM me if you want.
States02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:14 PM   #23
Drinkin beer on the beach