Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2013, 09:56 PM   #1

WFCP 8955 Converter Fan Issue?

Hi, everyone! New trailer owner and first post. I've been reading through the forum and it's been helpful. But I do have one issue. Apologies in advance, I'm a novice around electrical systems . . .

I have a 2010 Wolf Pup I bought last week in like-new condition. The only issue that I've run into is that the WFCO 8955, silent at the previous owners house (as I recall), but he was plugged into 110v all winter up to and including my purchase. I bought it, took it home, and have it parked in my driveway. I didn't plug 110 in for the first few days.

The converter fan must have kicked on during the initial drive home, and has remained on ever since. I've checked every light/switch/appliance and all are off. I've removed and replaced all the fuses, and flipped all the circuit breakers. I've checked the brake disconnect pin, removed and replaced it back into position. I don't know exactly where the ground wire is, but I looked at all wires under the vehicle and none look frayed or disconnected.

I checked the battery with a voltmeter I just bought, and as I just learned I did the test incorrectly as it was still wired into the trailer. The 110v was not connected. The display said 12.26v. The battery is original, and I suspect that I need to disconnect it in the AM and let it sit for a while, then re-test?

In any case, I have a backup appt set for this week with the local RV dealer to look at the issue, as I'm confident the fan shouldn't be running all the time, especially with no observable draw. I'm hoping it's just the battery.