Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2016, 09:52 PM   #1
Global Nomad
 
Scheinin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: In my 36CKTS 5th Wheel
Posts: 794
What to expect running 30 amps rather than 50

I have a 5th wheel running 50 amps. I have a residential refrigerator and 1000 watt inverter for it. Tomorrow I will be staying in a National Park that only has 30 amps. I have a dog-bone conversion plug and a progressive portable surge protector. Do I still use the surge protector? Would I expect my refrigerator to run off the 30 amps? What else should I watch out for or expect in this situation? Thanks in advance.
__________________
Steven J. Scheinin
2015 RAM 3500 4X4
6.7L CTD Dually pulling a
2016 Cedar Creek 36CKTS (Center Kitchen Three Slides)


Scheinin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 10:29 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
From what I've learned on here, manufacturers are aware that people sometimes need to use 30A on 50A rigs so they tend to wire the 'primary' systems to the one leg that will get juice with a dogbone, and the auxiliary systems, like a second AC or an electric fireplace on the other leg. That and some dogbones will split the 30A to both legs so really, you should expect for everything to work. Just not all at the same time.

Before, you had 50A on two legs, so 100A total for the trailer. Now you just have 30 total. So if you're trying to run the bedroom ac, the fireplace, the water heater and the microwave all at the same time you can expect to trip a breaker. But if you're conservative there's no reason you shouldn't be able to get by.

Note: I'd recommend still using your EMS. That way, if you do trip the breaker the EMS should treat it like a power outage and still provide the same protections.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 10:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Berlin
Posts: 732
X2 what Kaadk said. Your fridge will work just like it would on 50 amp shore power. Yes you can use your progressive with the adapter.

Everybody has tripped a breaker at some point going from 50 amp to a 30 amp park. Just need to keep in mind what your using especially at the same time.
Rich5117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 01:09 AM   #4
Global Nomad
 
Scheinin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: In my 36CKTS 5th Wheel
Posts: 794
Thank you for your quick response.
__________________
Steven J. Scheinin
2015 RAM 3500 4X4
6.7L CTD Dually pulling a
2016 Cedar Creek 36CKTS (Center Kitchen Three Slides)


Scheinin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 11:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 312
Refer will work just fine, it is not a big 120v draw. You will not be able to simultaneously heat water on 120v, run a hair dryer, make toast, and run a coffee pot. You have to pick and choose what you want to run at the same time. Be aware of the power needs of appliances. Maybe keep a list, and choose what totals less than 3000 watts.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 12:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
Run your hot water heater on propane, that will save amps


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 04:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,645
Good info here on RV electrical systems:

https://youtu.be/FboDyLjn5sg

30 AMP use is at 5 min. mark.
__________________
2019 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside

Disclaimer: The actual value of my "Two Cents" of advice varies just like a bitcoin.
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 04:11 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...aws-17300.html


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 07:01 PM   #9
Blog: RVroadtripper.com
 
hbillsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Near Dallas Texas
Posts: 994
Go to Walmart and get an old style percolating coffee pot that you can use on stove top or campfire. That saves the amp draw of an electric one. Same for the toaster, hot rolls in the oven instead. If the girls must have a hair dryer or curling iron, run an orange 50ft extension out to the 120 socket on the pole. Last as said before, gas hot water turn elec switch off. Gas heater not the elec fireplace.
__________________
2016 Wildcat 295RSX - 2015 GMC 2500HD DblCab Duramax/Allison 4x4 Z71 6.6' Bed
Maxxis 235/80/16E; AirBags w/AirLift1; mor/Ryde Rubber Pinbox; Andersen UltimateII Alum. 5erhitch on Reese Flipball w/Curt 4" offset; LCI Ground Control3; King Dishtailgater; Traveling with 10' Portabote;
hbillsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 07:40 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
Sure, you can do all that. Or you can just camp like you normally do, sans a second AC and electric fireplace.

We only have a 30A trailer, and I routinely run the Hot Water on electric, the fridge on electric, the TV, DVD player, a toaster, keurig and microwave up some instant oatmeal for the kids. All on 30A.

Just have to not do it all at once. Currently running the microwave? Wait on starting the coffee. Coffee's past the heating cycle? Then it's ok to start the toaster.

And if you do accidentally draw too much, it's just going to pop the circuit breaker. Reset it, wait it for the EMS delay and then go about your business again.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 05:24 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
I was at a campground recently that didn't have a breaker box, it was a not fun to get the power turned back on, I have a 50amp camper and I was hooked up to a 30amp site. I forgot about the things I could run but not for long


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 05:43 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock123 View Post
I was at a campground recently that didn't have a breaker box, it was a not fun to get the power turned back on, I have a 50amp camper and I was hooked up to a 30amp site. I forgot about the things I could run but not for long


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
We were in Upper Maine on the coast and stopped at a Little C/G for the night! It was a Beautiful View,but Only 15A Box screwed to a Tree! We were fine,we just had to Camp for 1 night! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 08:39 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
From what I've learned on here, manufacturers are aware that people sometimes need to use 30A on 50A rigs so they tend to wire the 'primary' systems to the one leg that will get juice with a dogbone, and the auxiliary systems, like a second AC or an electric fireplace on the other leg. That and some dogbones will split the 30A to both legs so really, you should expect for everything to work. Just not all at the same time.
They actually make dogbones that do NOT split the 30A to both 50A legs? I guess I just got lucky in the one I bought that DOES split...
jgriffin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 12:59 PM   #14
Global Nomad
 
Scheinin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: In my 36CKTS 5th Wheel
Posts: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbillsmith View Post
Last as said before, gas hot water turn elec switch off. Gas heater not the elec fireplace.
The 2016 Cedar Creek 36CKTS comes with instant hot water heater, running on propane. I see no switch to make it run on electric. When I am at a 50 amp site I sure would like to save propane. Is there a switch from propane to electric? Thanks in advance.
__________________
Steven J. Scheinin
2015 RAM 3500 4X4
6.7L CTD Dually pulling a
2016 Cedar Creek 36CKTS (Center Kitchen Three Slides)


Scheinin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 01:34 PM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
I don't believe on demand has electric.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.