Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2015, 03:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 11
Where Is The GFCI

I have an 8329SS. Last week on a trip, we lost 110 VAC power in the bedroom and bath (12 volt lights still work) but I am unable to locate the GFCI. Anyone know the GFCI location?
MentallyRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 03:32 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Isn't there a gfci in the bathroom?

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 03:34 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 11
Not that I can find. I am used to GFCI as I am a home inspector and check their function on each home.
MentallyRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 03:38 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,853
On one unit I owned the gfci was outside under the awning. Another one it was in the kitchen area. The current one is in the bathroom.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 03:49 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
On one unit I owned the gfci was outside under the awning. Another one it was in the kitchen area. The current one is in the bathroom.
X2

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 12:06 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Ours is on the side of the vanity in our Hemisphere.
valb76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 01:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Atlanta suburb
Posts: 89
Finally found ours in bathroom---after spilling beer in extension cord---what can I say????
sailtrkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 03:45 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
Bet you're going to find it on the outside circuit.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 03:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 7,085
On our Rig there is one in the Bathroom, one on the Island Sink and one outside on the DS slide.

Any ONE of them tripping hoses the whole 110V system.
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 242014 - 422015 - 56Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:08 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Roanoke, Texas
Posts: 20
Ours is on the built in cabinet between the 2 chairs at the rear of the coach. We have a palomino Thoroughbred F-268rl lightweight fifth wheel.
xracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 09:42 AM   #11
Member
 
OBX Forever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 96
Ours is in the bathroom.

Shouldn't there be two?
__________________
~~Mark & Peggy~~
2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 305RKDS (stolen, found, and traded)
2015 Heritage Glen 302FK (traded)
2018 Heartland Elkridge 5th wheel 39MBHS
all pulled by 2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel
OBX Forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 10:26 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
it all depends on whether there're two circuits protected by the GFI's.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 02:06 PM   #13
Pockets
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 133
Mine's in the bathroom. And if it won't reset, I have a circuit breaker in the distribution box/.
__________________
Bob & Kelley
2015 Flagstaff 26RBSS
2014 FORD F-150 Supercrew XTR 4x4
3.5L Ecoboost, 3:73 axle, Max Tow Pkg 2015(36 nights) 2016(74 nights) 2017(174 nights) 2018(157 nights) 2019(79 nights) 2020(108 nights)
Pockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 02:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
Pockets,,,,,it's defective if you can't reset it and it's not tripping because of a bad circuit short.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 02:26 PM   #15
Pockets
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 133
Grampa Jim. What I meant is I also have a circuit breaker for the GFCI. Once when I was using the toaster and a portable space heater, it tripped the GFCI at the plug. When I reset it, it wouldn't reset until I reset the circuit breaker. Once I did that I was able to reset the GFCI at the plug. Just saying.
__________________
Bob & Kelley
2015 Flagstaff 26RBSS
2014 FORD F-150 Supercrew XTR 4x4
3.5L Ecoboost, 3:73 axle, Max Tow Pkg 2015(36 nights) 2016(74 nights) 2017(174 nights) 2018(157 nights) 2019(79 nights) 2020(108 nights)
Pockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 02:28 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
Oh,,,,,,I was misinterpreting your situation.......yup,,,,your GFI is still good. My bad.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 09:27 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
I am having same problem with no lights in bathroom and bedroom gfci seems to work fine in bathroom as use a nite lite it trips same in kitchen changed every fuse I could find and those were only 2 I found outlet outside is not gfci and don't see one anywhere under awning 2007 30ft cardinal any help greatly appreciated
ehgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 10:03 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
GFI's have a tendency to go bad. That might be the problem too.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 10:13 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Jim View Post
GFI's have a tendency to go bad. That might be the problem too.
Both have electricity to them and will trip/reset ok. Could that still be the problem.
ehgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 10:17 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Where the terminals from the battery go into the wall there are 3 looks like a relay I tried reserving them the little button won't stay set don't know if that could be it but seem weird all 3 would be bad especially when other 12 volt lights are working.
ehgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.