Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2014, 07:44 PM   #1

ZAMP solar power plug

I just recently bought a 2014 Coachman Clipper 17BH and it has a little plug thing for a Zamp Solar plug. Does this mean all I would need to do is buy a panel and plug it in? If that's the case, what size panel do you need to get?
Also, just exactly what can be powered with the solar? The whole camper? I am new to all this solar stuff.
Thanks.

& a grandson who loves to camp!
2020 Silver Lake 27 KNS
2014 Ram 1500 SLT
benatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 03:07 PM   #2

I wish there were a few answers on this because I've been wondering the same thing!! I've looked online at the zamp solar panels and they look like they would just plug in, but I can't seem to get an answer on what it would actually charge or power in the 2014 Coachman Clipper 17BH. Have you looked into any further since you posted this?
CampyCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 03:24 PM   #3

ZAMP solar power plug

I looked at the sites and looked around at a few other things, but it really didn't explain anything. I do know that they just plug in, but that's it.
Now from looking at some videos on YouTube for little houses (tiny homes, etc) it looks like they will power everything if you have enough panels, but how many is enough and how many you can plug in is a mystery. Also, I don't know what the camper is set up for as far as the converter (or whatever it's called for solar). That's another problem.
It would be nice if the people who made these campers would actually put a manual in them explaining everything in the camper, instead of all the separate manuals for the refrigerator, etc.
Also, you notice that no one else has bothered with a reply, so I guess we are the only two having this problem.

2020 Silver Lake 27 KNS
2014 Ram 1500 SLT
Old 11-10-2014, 03:30 PM   #4