Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2020, 08:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
stormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 228
Question zone 2 thermostat has "elec" on it?

Hey all,

My thermostat on "zone" 1 only has "off and gas" as options.

I was pushing the 'mode' button on zone 2 and discovered 'elec' as one of the options. I turned it on and let it kick on. The 'ac' in the bedroom kicked on and it basically blew cold air. (no heat) Is there an actual option for electric heat like this? Anyone else use it?

OFF



GAS



ELEC



Thanks!!


James
__________________
James & Aimee
----------------------------
2018 Rockwood 2906WS
2012 Ram 2500HD 6.7L Cummins
Equal-i-zer 4 Point Hitch
stormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 08:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Falconer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 63
Depending on your AC unit, it may well have a heat strip in it. Mine does (2020 2608BS). Zone 2 is a 15K unit in the (rear) bedroom (zone 1 is the front furnace in the kitchen) and when I engage that mode, I get both the front furnace and the rear heat strip kicking in. It takes a few minutes but it does eventually provide warm air.
Falconer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 08:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
stormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falconer View Post
Depending on your AC unit, it may well have a heat strip in it. Mine does (2020 2608BS). Zone 2 is a 15K unit in the (rear) bedroom (zone 1 is the front furnace in the kitchen) and when I engage that mode, I get both the front furnace and the rear heat strip kicking in. It takes a few minutes but it does eventually provide warm air.

This ac in zone 2 was a 15k ac unit we had installed after we got the trailer. No clue what module it is.

So to test it, zone 1 GAS, zone 2 ELEC. Does the thermostat in zone 2 kick it on and off? I *always* have zone 2 heat OFF. Discovered by accident.

Fortunately we are in Texas and it's 69 degrees outside. LOL!! Might have to test it next winter.


Thanks,

James
__________________
James & Aimee
----------------------------
2018 Rockwood 2906WS
2012 Ram 2500HD 6.7L Cummins
Equal-i-zer 4 Point Hitch
stormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 08:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Falconer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 63
My experience is that turning on the heat in zone 2 will also turn on the furnace; seems it wants both going. My experience is also that the thermostat sensor in the rear bedroom does turn the heat on and off in that room.
Falconer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 02:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jtatum65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lewistown, IL
Posts: 272
When you purchased the camper, your dealer should have provide you the build sheet. This will tell you what options were included with that unit from the factory. Most FR brands do not include the heat strips in the A/C units, but are easily installed aftermarket.
__________________
Jim & Evelyn Tatum
2018 Shasta Phoenix 336RL FW
2019 Dodge Ram 2500 Big Horn 6.4L 8spd 4x4
Nights Camped 2020 = 17
Nights Camped 2019 = 36
Nights Camped 2018 = 28
jtatum65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 02:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 121
We have a 2020 Rockwood 2608bs with same thermostat. Zone 1 is for gas heat or AC for the living area. Zone 2 is for AC or heat. There is an electric heat strip in the AC in the bedroom. Turn Zone 2 “off” if you don’t want the heat strip to heat when furnace is on. Make sure Zone 1 is “off” so furnace doesn’t run when using Zone 2. Only time both zones might be on is when using air conditioning. Don’t worry, it has taken me a while to figure out the thermostat. Some of the functions I discovered by accident!
Momma Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 08:42 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 48
Hi!
Yes, I checked my A/C on our new Chaparral and it does not have the optional heat strip. The Manual says if it did it is NOT to be used as a furnace, but as a supplement to the reg. heat. My problem is this: I have exactly the same thermostat and need to find out how to return it to a gas heat setting. Right now it shows "Heat-Gas" in Zone 1, but shuts off the blower after a minute or so, no kick-in from propane, which then heats. Before, I had a flame Icon which was the right setting for the furnace to kick in. Anybody know how to set the Thermostat so the furnace will work? PS: I set the blower to "Auto", not low or high fan, which is solely for the A/c.
ross0547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.