Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2014, 06:40 PM   #1

Axle Bearing Service Interval?

How often to the axle bearings need to be greased? Mine were done last year at a shop, but I've put some distance on them since. Just wondering if I need to jack the trailer up and repack them before moving on.

I might as well ask what the torque spec is on the bearing adjustment nut. I assume they are packed in the same manner as an automotive bearing.

It's a 2001 All American Sport.
wantahertzdonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 12:19 PM   #2

I go every other year, my dealer's recommendation. Typical mileage is 1000-1400 miles per year on the trailer.

Moisture is the bearing enemy. If I racked up 10K+ a year, then I would have them serviced every spring.

Some like to have them re-packed every year regardless. I've been doing it this way for the past seven years, no problems. Everytime my dealer re-packs, everything checks out fine (I admit I have a good dealer, both trailers, of different makes, have been trouble free. Same for their service.)
John4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 05:58 PM   #3
Explorer

I like to check my bearings yearly but I put miles on my TT and my boat sees salt water(w/bearing buddies). I have not found many problems with bearings but I do find issues with brakes and grease seals. As well, I like to grease the suspension and do an overall look under the trailer(welds, tanks, wires, pipes ,insulation, strapping, spare tire,……just anything I can see down there). Looking under my trailer just gives me that warm and cozy feeling knowing what’s going on.