Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-14-2019, 09:01 PM   #1

Bearing failure... no grease?

Hello all. I am new to RV'ing, and bought a new 2019 FR Wolf Pup BHS in February. I put about 2300 miles on it in a few trips this summer, finally landing here at my Dad's in Florida. This past Friday night, just as the trailer shops were closing (of course), I had a wheel bearing failure.

Smoke billowed out from one wheel after I just happened to pull off the road to buy a soda. I sat with fire extinguisher in hand, in case a fire started up due to the friction. No fire ensued, and I stayed put until daytime to assess the damage and make a repair.

Upon removing the wheel, it was evident the bearing dust cap had fallen off, and the outer bearing was disintegrated. The inner bearing was mostly intact, but damaged enough to need replacing as well. There was absolutely NO sign of the grease having flown out when the cap fell off. Is this a failure of the manufacturer to service the bearings, or does that responsibility fall to the dealer?

I was able to replace it roadside with a good used hub, new bearings and grease from a local trailer shop. Needless to say, I'm disappointed such a thing could happen to so new a trailer. I also received no paperwork explaining any sort of bearing/axle maintenance I should be prepared to perform, so I will add that to my list of things I think these dealers should be doing better.

During this process, it has also occurred to me that selling a trailer that's weight is about 3200 lbs yet rides on an axle rated for 3500 lbs is a bit risky, if not downright shady. I'll be upgrading the axle, wheel to wheel, before taking it out again.

Thank you for shedding any light you have,
Tara
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	72563575_10157765645468104_904494922554408960_o.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	257.9 KB