Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2021, 01:37 PM   #1

Brake and Bearing Service Options

I have a 2019 Alpha Wolf and want to repack the wheel bearings and check the brakes before I start heading back out this spring. Camping World seems really expensive for service. Are there better options for service? I was a licensed mechanic back in the 80’s and 90’s. Is repacking or servicing my TT really that different than old Chevy’s? Thanks for your advice.
Okietraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 01:52 PM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

No different than back in the olden days. Make sure you get new seals and the proper grease.

Often times places that sell utility/dump/landscape trailers will do the work way better and much cheaper then places like Camping World. Lots of Truck Repair Centers service bearings/brakes on ALL trailers too.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 01:55 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Okietraveler View Post
I have a 2019 Alpha Wolf and want to repack the wheel bearings and check the brakes before I start heading back out this spring. Camping World seems really expensive for service. Are there better options for service? I was a licensed mechanic back in the 80’s and 90’s. Is repacking or servicing my TT really that different than old Chevy’s? Thanks for your advice.
Do you have a tire dealer you trust? Ditto for a private repair shop.

Even an RV mobile service.

Wheel bearing packing really hasn't changed since tapered roller bearings were introduced. Download the instructions from Dexter's website, read through, and tackle it yourself. If you adjusted wheel bearings on an old Chevy with tapered roller bearings you're good to go on trailer bearings. Double ready if the old chevy had drum brakes.