Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-10-2022, 09:48 AM   #1

Gloom, despair and valve stems

My valve stems are driving me nuts. Let me try to present a sane presentation of this insanity.

It's a 2018 Leprechaun FSS-31 built on Ford E450 chassis with Hankook Dynapro tires. The rig is new to me as of January. I'm new to RV's. This rig has dual rear wheels.

The dealer, at our request, installed a TSTTruck tire pressure monitor that uses sensors screwed onto the valve stems such that you can add air through the sensor. Each of the six valve stems have one of the sensors screwed on.

On the front tires, the hubcaps cover the sensors & valve stems so that I can't get the connector from my compressor to screw on. Trying to maneuver the stem to get access causes air to come hissing out. I think it's coming from the connection between the sensor and the stem--too much strain on that joint. It would work if it weren't for the sensors but I can't get the sensors off because the hubcaps are in the way and won't let the sensors turn.

On the back tires, I can get at the outer stems but not the inner ones. The inner stems are visible through the holes in the hubcaps but I can't get at them. I might be able to do some good if I could get at whatever hardware is between the inner and outer wheel but I can't reach around in between the tires because I can't get my hand through the gap between them.

I stupidly let the batteries on the monitor system go dead over the winter. It seems to have completely lost the installation setup. Restoring the setup requires touching each sensor to the CPU. That seems to require removing the sensors. As described above, in four of the six cases I can't get the sensors out.

So, at present, I can't measure tire pressures and I can't add air. That's neither good nor sustainable.