Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2020, 09:36 AM   #1

New Aframe electric brake setup issues....

First, I am new to the both the world of campers and the world of towing. Second, apologies for the long post, but trying to provide what I know to date.

I have a 2020 Rockwood A213HW camper and have installed a Tekonsha Prodigy P3 brake controller in my tow vehicle. Since I have a factory tow package the brake controller install was simple as I used a Tekonsha wiring harness and connected to the factory installed wiring harness under the dash.

I believe my camper has the Dexter Never Adjust electric trailer brakes installed. The P3 controller setup indicates to set the output level to 6, drive at 25 mph on a flat level surface and manually apply the trailer brakes. If the brakes lockup the tires then adjust the maximum controller output down and retest until the brakes no longer lock up. If the brakes do not lock up then increase the output until the brakes lock up and adjust down until the brakes no longer lock.

Now to the issue. I reached the maximum output level (14) and the trailer brakes do not lock. I contacted my dealer and the technician indicated that I needed to set the self adjusting brakes by reversing the trailer and applying the brakes causing them to "self-adjust" and then I should be OK to set my brake controller. He also indicated that I could add additional boost with the controller system by increasing to B1. Given my camper weight (~2700 lbs) and the tow vehicle perhaps a B1 boost setting makes sense.